Find companies:
Guitar Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
180 reviews

Guitar Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different now.
Accessories Sales (Former Employee), Northridge, CANovember 17, 2014
When I worked at guitar center, it was fun and educational. They had classes you could take on the difference in musical gear etc. They used to give you the opportunity to make deals if customers bought large amounts of product. After they were bought out by best buy they no longer allowed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work, and the commission is awesome
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TxNovember 13, 2014
I worked in sales. The best part about the job is the commission. The 2nd best thing is that you work with other musicians all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work environment
Retail Salesperson (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCNovember 10, 2014
Pros: great work environment, discounts, health care
Cons: hours
Guitar Center is an amazing place to work. I love working around the amazing music gear, with our awesome customers, and my coworkers are some of the coolest people I've ever known. The management team works very hard to insure the store is ran smoothly and properly. We have so much fun making sure that our customers have the best experience they ever – more... have in a music store. I love everything about working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Warehouse (Former Employee), Cerritos, CANovember 1, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: lack of benifits
Guitar Center was a great job. I loved working in the Warehouse. fun, serious, able to be my happy productive self.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Short term, Not the place to build a career.
Operations Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 13, 2014
Pros: benefits, discount, people
Cons: pay
Guitar Center has a lot to offer a worker who needs employment to help bridge them to the next phase of their life. It becomes career purgatory after a couple years in my opinion. The pay never comes close to equalling the expectation, importance, and accountablity put on you from management. I will say that the schedules are very flexible, the discount – more... is amazing and the fact that benefits are offered will very likely edge GC out as a place to seek employment over the its many peers in retail around NYC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed and no more
A/R Account Rep/ Sales (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZOctober 13, 2014
Doesn't exist any more. Biz closed after years of turmoil.
Fun place to work, Great to employees but is no longer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, gave me an urge to do better
Department Manager-Percussion (Former Employee), El Paso, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: working with customers
Cons: .
Go in get everything set up for the daily work, help customers find what they need and as well as tell them a little about the product. I learned how to maintain a department and team. Management was very organized and informative, they never left anybody in the dark, they always made sure everyone was up to date with store goals. I had very mutual – more... co-workers, very outgoing and inspirational. The most enjoyable part of my was getting things done right, and the reward of my paid duty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Sales job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), antioch, tnSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: no career advancement opportunities
This was a good enough job to get me by while i was in school but was not very promising with advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive but overall satisfying and enjoyable.
Guitar Floor Salesman (Former Employee), Rockville, MDSeptember 18, 2014
Great environment for you own skills and knowledge to be improved. Co-workers are unfortunately forced to be competitive due to it being half-commission based. If you are new, you will be determined by your people-interactive skills more so than your work-done per se.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a great crew and great discounts
Operations Associate (Former Employee), Nashua, New HampshireSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: great discounts, great crew, great place to network
Cons: low pay for ops associates, high turnover rate
Typical day at work varied between warehouse work and loss prevention. Warehouse was a 9 am-5 pm job that included unloading trucks, counting the cash deposit/building cash drawers and stocking the sales floor. Loss prevention was a 2:30 pm-10 pm that included watching the floor for suspicious activity from customers and directing traffic. The management – more... cycled around so much with promotions and transfers so the management varied. Some managers were better than others and by better than others I mean a couple of them were really good and the other two were just outright horrible. The co-workers cycled out quite a bit as well with a high turnover rate. There was always a core crew of people who have been there a long time and they did a good job of integrating new hires with potential into the store. The hardest part of the job would be the shipments around the holidays, but that retail. The most enjoyable part of the the job would be going into work to hang with co-workers and making connections with customers that could help with a music career outside the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 13, 2014
If you're a musician and love having fun, this is the place for you.
Hundreds of musical gear to enjoy while demonstrating the products to customers.
Everyone's competitive with sales.
Some customers can be rude and misleading, costing you a potential sale with other customers.
Sometimes other employees may not be as honest when it comes to giving credit – more... to sales people when finalizing sales with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet fun environment to work in
Sales Training Manager (Current Employee), Katy, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Great place of employment if you are a music lover.

I learned leadership skills along with communication and management.

Management staff is willing to do what it takes to make customer happy.

Co workers are easy to get along with and are very knowledgable.

Hardest part of the job is continuing to give great customer service with frustrated customer.

Being – more... around people who love music and can advance your knowledge in a fun environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Operations Assistant-Loss Prevention (Former Employee), Mishawaka, INSeptember 5, 2014
I enjoyed being in the military and was fortunate enough to serve my country
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Counselor (Former Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility environment discounts
Cons: management pay
Environment was good as was the flexible time schedule and the product discounts, but management was really unorganized and they failed to train workers appropriately. They're HR department is clearly looking out for the best interest of the company. Compensation got worse as time went on. I believe they didn't pay accordingly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guitar Center Review Summary
Customer Operation Associate (Current Employee), Marietta, GASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits, fun and productive workplace.
Cons: pay wages aren't up to par.
I've been working at Guitar Center for seven years. I started out as a customer operations associate, but since downsizing began I proceeded to work as an operations associate. A typical day at work is receiving trucks from our distribution center, confirming and shipping online orders, inventory cycle counts, and general merchandising around the store. – more... I've learned about the upkeep of a warehouse, how to receive incoming and outgoing shipping items, and merchandising. The hardest part of being an operations associate is keeping track of all inventory and maintaining a fast and efficient work flow. The most enjoyable part of the job is being surrounded by musicians; the workplace is fun and I also use it as a networking tool for my ventures in the music industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are always "fishing" for problems.
Instructor at Guitar Center Studios (Former Employee), Danbury, CTAugust 24, 2014
Cons: they want you to work for free. fascists. fake.
No advancement opportunities unless you're in your managers "good side".

They want you to do ALL the work, and sale even when you're not even on the clock. SO they want you to work for free, and be happy about it because you'll be making at cost purchases ( if you have the money of course ).

People are fake, selfish, managers don't care for employees – more... health or issues, they'll just hire somebody else, or offer to transfer to a different store, so they ( managers) don't have to deal with you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Recording Department Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 20, 2014
Pros: good atmosphere
Cons: low pay, horrible communication
This is a fun place to work. You get to hang around musicians all day long. However it is VERY low pay. Unless you are a top salesperson, you will not make enough to live on your own. There is a huge lack of communication throughout the chain of command.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to be for a musician
Drum Sales (Current Employee), Cherry Hill NJAugust 19, 2014
Pros: awesome discount
Its an awesome place to work you are around your passion all day. The down side is that you have to fade you pay check not so much fun at all. It a set goal so i under stand but it just way to much stress if you did no have a good pass few months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace where one is always learning
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMAugust 15, 2014
Pros: deep discounts in musical gear, flexible schedule
Cons: commissions can be a bit lean on slow months
My work experience at Guitar Center has been nothing short of rewarding, as a musician I have deepened my knowledge of Music Technology and honed my skills as a salesperson, teacher and mentor.

I have learned new technologies in making and producing music as well as deepened my knowledge in live audio, keyboards, Dj, Drums and guitar. Plus through – more... their mentoring program I discovered that I am a very good teacher in sharing my knowledge in home recording and pro audio.

Management is very proactive in making sure that the customers and employees are well taken care of and I work with some of the most fun and knowledgeable co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I play the drums so this was one of my favorite jobs
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2014
Fun place to work. I have been playing drums for 16 years and answering drum questions every day was a thrill

1 2 3 4 5

About Guitar Center

What AutoZone is to the garage, Guitar Center is to the garage band. The #1 US retailer of guitars, amps, keyboards, percussion, – Read more

Guitar Center Photos