Find companies:
Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with travel
Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 1, 2014
This job allows you to travel all over the Houston Metropolitan area and get paid for your travel time. They also train you, although you do have to have phlebotomy experience.
I helped load and unload donor vans, screened donors, drew blood, computer data entry, maintained equipment, and customer service.
The hours varied from day to day depending – more... on where you were going but you always got your time for lunch and breaks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Apheresis Tech II (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 20, 2014
Its a great company to work for. Easy going staff, and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If You Don't Have A Family Or You Think Money Is More Important Then Time With Family This Job Is For YOU!
Phlebotomist/ Apheresis Tech. II (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 18, 2014
Pros: lot's of overtime & great pay if your willing to put up with the bs
Cons: everything else
I worked for this company for almost 7 years. At first it was okay working a float schedule, 6 days a week at 120+ hours every two weeks, opportunity to grow was okay, but there are way to many chiefs and not enough Indians. This company and what it stands for, saving lives and committing for life to saving lives by donating is a great thing to do for – more... the people who need blood, but being and employee you have to literally commit your entire life to this job. In the past year and a half the new director of donor collections wanted to enforce the whole "Quality of Life" but that turned into only under their needs. We went from working lots of over time to nothing more then 40 a week, without notice. Which was okay cause we were getting that time with family that we did not always get and we were grateful for that, but after the turnaround rate went up to almost 50% we lost that time with our family cause, now they didn't have enough people to cover shifts and again without notice. You went from no overtime to 55+ hours a week. And to be honest its not the company and all that the company stands for it's the employees and the one's who are running the show. Half of them don't deserve to be in the positions they are holding. They would chose a friend to run under them before the chose person who is more then qualified for the position. I loved working for the blood center, but it was the people who pretended to care about your life and really didn't that ruined the whole time spent there. People are so two faced and its like working at one big high school. Everyone is in everyone business and don't let someone see you following to close to someone, you are then considered in the crowed and yes it all depends on the crowed of people you follow weather you succeed or not. And beware, they all seem to act like they care about your life, but don't trust information with anyone. It will soon to be heard from someone else's mouth but with a little more added. They don't care about there employees. Example: Your in a crowed hot room, lets say 80 degrees, and you call back to let them know, the temperature is out of range. They then tell you put the BLOOD in a place in range.... OK WHAT ABOUT THE STAFF THAT'S ABOUT TO PASS OUT FROM THE HEAT??? And on top of that, is pregnant... They don't even care to find a better solution, in efforts to make the staff comfortable... they only care about the product you are collecting. And yes while that is the most important thing to gain revenue... What about the people that go out every day, hot or cold, rain or shine? Without your staff, to go out everyday, there would be NO BLOOD. But Donor Collections is at the lowest part of the pyramid... when we are the most important part, but we were always treated like the last.... And for those who still work for the company will never say what I'm telling you now for the fear of losing their job. They don't care cause this company doesn't have to have a reason to fire you... Oh and miss work and don't provide and excuse, of provide one cause it doesn't matter to them... It still will always count against you... Oh and don't get injured on the job either, if your put on light duty for anything even if you are pregnant, please note... you are only allowed to be placed on light duty for 30 days, any more then that you are forced to take leave. If you have PTO you can use that but if not you will be on leave without pay. This is a hostel work environment, you have to deal with the staff and everyone around you wanting things their way not accommodating to the donors, when they are in fact, the only reason the company is still running. Without the donors, no one there would have a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover rate
Mobile Phlebotomist I (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: ot, pto, holiday pay, the meals and gifts provided by companies
Cons: sometimes no breaks, no set hours, poor management(they make the rules as they go), they screw you out of your taxes
Very stressful job. They make the rules as they go. The equipment is extremely heavy. You will have no room for a social life. Mostly everyone there dates each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
absolutly enjoyed mobile phlebotomy, working at different locations was enjoyable
Mobile Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: learned a lot from my fellow coworkers
Cons: actual loading van in houston summer was tough
enjoyed working with my crw at blood drives, especially going to high schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Work Place
Executive Assistant to Medical Director (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: safe work place
Cons: poor benifits
Provide high-level administrative support to the Medical Director by conducting research, preparing audit reports for transfusion safety manger, responding to information requests, and performing clerical functions such as standard operations procedures, receiving visitors/patients, arranging conference calls, filing correspondence, scheduling meetings, – more... accurately recording meeting minutes of staff meetings. Duties also included administrative assistant provided to the Chief Medical Office, Medical Service Manger, Director of Quality Assurance and Transfusion Safety Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for overall.
Apheresis Technician III (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 29, 2013
Worked 5 days a week. Learned the importance of giving blood and being part of it. Management was awesome. Fun place to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, crazy hours at times, good pay plus OT
supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 24, 2013
Pros: meet new people, learn your way around houston for sure
Cons: no real breaks or lunches unless there is time
Lots of different personalities, cliquish at times. Intense training to get you ready for the 16 gauge needle. Unclear attendance policy, favorites get preferential treatment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a opprotunity to get eperience in the medical field.
Component Lab Technician (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 17, 2013
Pros: worked well with my school schedule.
Cons: unprofessional
I would go into word for the grave yard shift. I learned a lot about blood and the various components of blood. I worked in a team setting. The hardest part of the job was the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, very fast paced and energetic
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 5, 2013
Pros: luncheons, building relationships with blood drive chairpeople, working with an excellent team of consultants
Cons: company is non-profit, flex schedule not available
Typical day included preparing all blood drive materials (flyers, posters, table cards) for 7 consultants. Answering phone calls to schedule blood drives. Attending chairperson luncheons at various offsite locations. The most enjoyable part of the job was attending the luncheons and meeting the people who help make the blood drive successful. The hardest – more... part of the job is when 911 took place, it was the most stressful time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Inventory Associate II-Business Operations (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 10, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: n/a
I enjoy my job because its simple with its occasional challenges. I have great co workers and management is really understanding of personal circumstances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved going to work with co-workers that turned into friends.
APHERESIS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 27, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours up to 60 a week
Typical day at work started at 6am and ended at 6pm or maybe 5pm. I was trained as a apheresis tech. and learned how to be a great phlebotomist. I got along with most of my co-workers. I say most because I don't like horse playing at work or negative people. The hardest part of my job was being away from my family majority of the time because of the – more... overtime I was having to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for those looking to gain experience right out of school
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Houston TXAugust 18, 2013
I have enjoyed my time with the blood center so far. The benefits are pretty good and it's a great place to work especially straight out of school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management! Dishonest!
Former employee. (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 3, 2013
Pros: donating blood is good!
Cons: poor employee relations! dishonest job description!
Company states for non-profit, that is a lie! Companies like this advertise as non profit in order to avoid paying certain taxes, if you just look at their facilities and the equipment it takes to do what they do, you would see! The management runs this enterprise like dictators with an authoritative rule to where you don't enjoy the job! Really sad! – more... It's true that they are helping people in need of blood, but there is a hidden price! You give your blood and the company profits by selling your donation to hospitals and other facilities that use it for transfusions! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing a great thing in the community
APHERESIS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 29, 2013
I love the fact that it is fast paced. The fact that what GCRBC does make a huge impact on a life sustaining product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Training Supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 23, 2013
Pros: working with a group of people that have a passion for saving lives.
Diverse fun place to work. I enjoy working in the training department, providing technical training for all new hire phlebotomist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Pay
Mobile Tech Phlebotomist/Apheresis Tech I (Former Employee), College Station, TexasJune 13, 2013
This was a very physically demanding job but I learned so much from my coworkers and supervisor. The management team was helpful when needed but there was always room for improvement. I enjoyed my coworkers and meeting new people on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and fun company to work for!
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 5, 2013
Pros: pay rate, room for advancement, benefits, and staff
Cons: sometimes you will have to report to work in the early a.m. but it's worth it.
I loved working for GCRBC! I enjoyed going to the mobile drives because I got to meet new people to network with. Thw work enviroment is professional but relaxed. I would recommend anyone to work for GCRBC for a starter position fresh out of school. The pay is great as well as the benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work
Assistant Shift Coordinator (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 4, 2013
Gulf Coast was an okay place to work for. The biggest issue was every body was in a clique and if you wasn't in the right one, management tried to find a way to get rid of you. They don't care about family or any thing else, just get the work done. Management like to talk to you like you are a child and when you would report something that was suppose – more... to be confidential to HR they would tell management before you could make it downstairs. It is a very messy place to work. The good thing is that they do pay well, that's the only reason I stayed as long as I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The blood center does a lot of company functions.
Accounts Payables Specialist (Former Employee), 1400 La ConchaJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: boss didn"t micro manage, not set time to take a lunch
Come in and go pick up mail,the open and sort mail. Then i would start going threw my ap invoices seperating them from my po invoices.now once i got them seperated i would match my po invoices with po packet so that i can input info into system for payment. Now i can do my regular ap invoices.