Find companies:
Gulf Interstate Engineering
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Gulf Interstate Engineering Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Smaller Company
Document Control Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 4, 2014
This is good company to be with. The down side when I was there, was they did not having a great PDMS system and keep switching departments for what the Document Control Staff should have fallen under.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Piping Group advancement
Sr. Piping Designer (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: the 3d cad system is all set up.
Cons: too much politics.
There is no chance for advancement in the piping group.
All slots are filled with young employees.
Management is ok.
Most of the employees in the piping group are battling to be in
the spot light of their leads.
Hardest part of job is dealing with those employees that are
considered the "golden boys" of the group.
Most enjoyable part of job is working – more... with 3D modeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting :
Non Conformance Reporting Coordinator (Former Employee), Москва, CENFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: people, moscow, new experiences
Cons: speaking through an interpreter.
A typical day at work was not the norm, being in Moscow, and being the only American Women on the project was a challenge. communication was the biggest problem. And had to upload all my documents in Russian and English. Had a Russian and English keyboard. I learned that they are hard workers, but don't like to be corrected, so rather than proceed in – more... the manner of correcting them, I learned to offer suggestion as to more explanation in their writing, which the western owner, ie. Exxon, Chevron, required a more explanations in documentation. Most were new in the pipeline arena. My co-workers became many of my best friends and introduced me to the Russian World. A very different culture of course, but just like Americans they work to better themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going work place with no upward movement
Project Controls Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 22, 2013
Pros: easy going environment
Cons: no advancement, all politics
Management doesn't want to grow you as an employee, they are most interested in you being their little worker bee and not voice your opinion on your own success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at Gulf
Sr. Manager, Project Controls (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 5, 2013
Great engineering company. Really respects work/life balance.

xProjectEngr – June 26, 2013

This comment must have been made by mgmt.! GIE had an Eng Mgr that did NOT have any experience in any detail eng & design. This was the running joke within all the eng dpts. Every time a mgr or engr got an offer he/she would either be escorted out the door by HR immediately - I saw this happen many times over the years. GIE has no respect for professionals

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place for a paycheck, but apply @ other places if you have the option
Former Project Engineer/Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TxJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: every other friday off, there were some very professional people i had the pleasure of working with
Cons: company culture & management, don't tell them you've received an offer, or hr will escort you out the door immediately!
It's very ironic that this company is advertising for positions
yet it's laying off employees (as of Jan 2013) - Not just engineers, but all disciplines/positions across the board?!?!?!

All recently noticed employees (they have called me) & ex-employees were told by HR and their bosses NOT to tell their co-workers when they were given their lay-off – more... notices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful but learned a lot
Senior Buyer (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 23, 2012
Pros: salary was excellent, we worked 1/2 a day every friday
Cons: stressful, sometimes hostile work environment.
Working at Gulf Interstate, you were under the "good ole' boy" network. Not many women in upper management. Tough place to work but I learned a heck of a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pipeline Design
Pipeline Designer (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 16, 2012
Excellent work environment with oportuinty for advancement