Gulfport Memorial Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and co-workers
Radiology Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSJanuary 27, 2016
Very welcoming staff
Everyone is extremely helpful and willing to assist in any way
Manager of the department is very supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment.
Medical Coding and Billing (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSDecember 22, 2015
Gulfport Memorial is a productive hospital. Everyone works diligently to complete their tasks on time.
Everyone is eager and willing to help one another.
Pros
Long lunch break
Cons
Short breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers
HIM Specialist (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSNovember 11, 2015
Good coworkers, benefits, and environment. People are always willing to help, and it's a good team effort. Would highly reccomend to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy working @ Gulfport Memorial Hospital.
Business Office Representative (Current Employee) –  Gautier, MSOctober 26, 2015
Memorial Hospital Gulfport is a wonderful place to work, the staff is amazing, and the interaction with patients are priceless.
Pros
great hours, amazing staff.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Radiology Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSSeptember 26, 2015
Family atmosphere.

Learned a lot about the medical field--supervisors eager to have employees cross-train.

Working for the company--lots of areas for advancement.
Pros
Family atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Third Party Collector - Cashier Representative (Current Employee) –  gulfport msAugust 25, 2015
Gulfport Memorial is a good company to work for. The only thing is that the compensation is not equivalent to the work that is required.
Pros
good work hours
Cons
not enough pay, not able to move up in the department
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security
Multi Skilled Technician (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSJune 30, 2015
The company was very poor at managing future business. There are always layoffs and gaps in between contracts which caused massive layoffs every few months.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy med tele floor.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  4abMarch 4, 2015
A great place to learn a lot at a fast pace. There is plenty of opportunity to practice nursing skills and critical thinking.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to gain experience.
Multi Skilled Technician (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSDecember 31, 2014
Every day is different, eventhough you might have the same patient for a week or so. You will keep your skills sharpened.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, pro-education.
Data Image Specialist (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSJune 9, 2014
Great on the job training; many opportunities for advancement; encourages employees to higher education.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it!
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMay 7, 2014
Great place to work just wish they paid more sometimes! The usual schedule is three twelve hour shifts a week so you don't get 40hrs a week but the other days off are nice.
Pros
good benefits, mostly fair, decent pay
Cons
you get bad patients sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
absolutely loved this job
trauma center (Former Employee) –  gulfport, msFebruary 25, 2014
This is by far my favorite job ever. Very exciting and rewarding at the end of every shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSJuly 15, 2013
Excellent health benefits and so many opportunities. I worked on 4 different units while employed at Memorial Hospital learning how to deal with all different age groups. Enjoyed the flexibility of working 12 hour shifts and having days off during the week,
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy city/county hospital ER/School clinics in 2 local High Schools
Staff/Charge RN in ER/School Clinic RN (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMay 27, 2013
Worked as staff/Charge RN in City/county hospital ER. Enjoyed helping people with their health/social problems.Most days were under 200 Pts. seen.Liked making sure ER ran smoothly .Transfered to new program running school clinics in local schools,set up and ran clinic in largest 3 grade high school in state,Harrison Central High from1996 -2005. After Katrina,moved to smaller Pass Christian HS.RN there resigned due to tough working conditions after Katrina.My manager asked if I'd be willing to transfer.Enjoyed working with HS aged kids. Much of work was teaching them how to take care of their health needs.
Pros
co-workers, charge rn's
Cons
upper level management short sightedness
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I trained at Gulfport Memorial
student (Former Employee) –  OR, ER, ENDOMarch 19, 2013
I went to Jefferson Davis Jr. College on Pass Road in 1978 to 1980 I'm 62 now but, I'd give anything to work there again. It was a wonderful experence. I enjoyed my career as a CST. I never regretted it for a second.
I even worked in Great Britain and travel tech-ed. It was wonderful.
The training I received at Gulfport Memorial was instrumental in my career.
Pros
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes12No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work environment, job security
Biller (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMay 27, 2012
I went to work and knew what needed to be done and what was expected of me. Co-workers were great and enjoyable to be around. Hardest part of the job was some communication between departments and managers.
Pros
understanding bosses
Cons
low wages and not many benefits, no paid holidays unless you had vacation time.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memorial Hospital
Project Support Manager (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMarch 15, 2012
Nice place to work. Good People. Great place to work. A 440 bed multi-specialty medical complex with over 285 established physicians supporting a comprehensive range of health and wellness services with the most advanced technology and services available on the Mississippi Gulf Coast
Was this review helpful?Yes25No11

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture