Guy Carpenter Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people
Associate Broker - Reinsurance (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 30, 2017
The people at the firm are, for the most part, very nice and easy to get along with. For those that don't know about reinsurance, I suggest spending several hours (or days) doing research about the different areas of the business before pursuing opportunities. And for those that do know about reinsurance, you know this firm is one of the best.
Pros
Good people, great office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Business Analyst / Product Owner (Current Employee) –  Hoboken, NJOctober 26, 2017
Good Place to work for.
Nice Projects. Learning new things.
Gives you opportunity to learn new exciting projects.
Managers are good mentors. commute to hoboken would be an issue if ones want to drive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Excess of Loss Claims Technician (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJAugust 2, 2017
I enjoyed my time at Guy Carpenter though it was not for long. THis was not the career path I wanted to take with my life so I changed early on. The people were all very kind.
Pros
Hoboken
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for autonomy, Great people and Great casual/relaxed environment
Information Technology Intern (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJAugust 1, 2017
Enjoyed the perks of working here. Fully stocked cafe area, great location to eat for lunch! Enjoyed going outside to eat near the Hudson River.

As an intern I was not very involved with any department outside the IT area, but loved and disliked the quiet environment here.
Pros
Location
Cons
Lack of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
IT Administrator / Application support (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJApril 4, 2017
Great company to work for, good people . Technology was OK but very departmentalized. Good benefits and a good balance of home and work life. Best part of the job was the people within the department I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Risk Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 29, 2016
Guy Carpenter can be a great place to work if you know how to manage office politics.

There is a lack of opportunity for growth due to a failure in management to successfully develop junior talent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent salary, volatile management structure
AVP (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 19, 2015
Many smart people work here, yet few advance. There is a constant revolving door of upper management, and morale seems to be sinking rapidly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Executive Secretary (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CaliforniaDecember 27, 2014
Excellent company to work for, and ample opportunity for growth.
Pros
The staff was friendly and helpful
Cons
Worked long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers make all the difference
Catastrophe Modeling Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNAugust 18, 2014
Consolidation in the industry meant lots of change, but the people made all the difference!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Excellent benefits, good management, dynamic environment, challenging...
Pros
benefits
Cons
open layout, noise level
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about Guy Carpenter?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting people
Cash Applicator (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJDecember 30, 2013
This company was great company to work for.
They believed in helping their employees advance
Pros
meet people from different cultures and countries
Cons
no down falls
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company with excellent benefits
HR Specialist - Contractor (Current Employee) –  Hoboken, NJDecember 30, 2013
Excellellent company with excellent benefits and work life balance. My current manager is very flexible and does not micro manage as long as your work gets done.
Pros
As a temporary employee I was able to join the 401K plan
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guy Carpenter is a great company
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hoboken, NJSeptember 22, 2013
Guy Carpenter is a good company with room for it's employees to grow.
Pros
I was not micro managed as my boss spent time in our NY location as well. I was in NJ.
Cons
No one really went out of their way to make the office an enjoyable environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn new skills!
Mail Clerk/Inventory/Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 23, 2013
I was able to add many new skills to my resume thanks to Guy Carpenter whom had given me the opportunity to learn and grow into various positions that landed me later into some rewarding opportunities.
Pros
excellent hands on training opportunities
Cons
didn't have any cons with this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
AVP (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 8, 2012
A great company to work for if you are on the business side and like politics and having no real powers in the direction of the firm. A complete disaster if you're the creative type.
Pros
job security
Cons
no work/life balance. a complete disrespect for it professionals in the company's culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

See more Guy Carpenter reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Guy Carpenter. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.2