Gwinnett County Police Department Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good police department with great employees but no room for financial advancement
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAOctober 21, 2015
A police department with great employees and supervisors. A good place to gain experience in all aspects of law enforcement as well as experience for your career. However, promotions are difficult to attain since most persons promoted have been with department for an average of ten years. Raises do not come regularly or at all at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emancipation! : )
Police Lieutenant (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAFebruary 24, 2016
Emancipation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! : ) Management really takes care of its friends. The worst case of favoritism I have ever heard of.
Pros
I had income for all those years
Cons
low morale, low pay, favoritism, racism.....
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Police Officer
Entry Team Member (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAMay 18, 2016
Need pay raises as well as better benefits in order to continue hiring quality individuals and retain quality individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Training and best police department in the state of Georgia
FIELD TRAINING OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAJanuary 20, 2016
Gwinnte County is located in the state of Georgia, about 45 minutes northeast of the city of Atlanta.
Great schools, department and community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, professional, and gainful experience department
Backgrounds Investigator (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAAugust 2, 2013
• Establish and maintain relationships with hiring managers to stay abreast of current and future hiring and government needs.
• Coordinate monthly preliminary orientations for civilian positions for groups of 200 or more people.
• Review candidate’s files and perform criminal and financial background checks.
• Conduct panel interviews to obtain information on work history, training, education, and job skills.
• Prepare applicant’s background history in a comprehensive report and contact applicants to inform them of employment selection, psychological evaluation, and drug screening appointments.
Pros
a variety of training and seminars.
Cons
no raises in 6 years and the benefit payments are increasing
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GANovember 8, 2015
Worked with officers 27 hours a week for 4 months. Saw everything that the officers saw and participated in most things with the officer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and gain experience
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAFebruary 4, 2014
GCPD is a great place to work. I left a major Police Dept. to come to GCPD for a better environment and benefits. Overall, I'm very happy that I made the switch. Salary has been stagnant for a few years, but that seems to be turning around after this year. I recommend this department for anyone hoping to begin their career in law enforcement.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow
INTERNAL AFFAIRS INVESTIGATOR/INTERIM SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GaSeptember 20, 2014
There is plenty of room for advancement if one so wishes. Training is second to none.
Pros
great command staff
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gwinnett Police Summary
Police Officer Senior (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAMarch 6, 2015
Wonderful job with rewarding goals. Each day was a challenge and adventure. Very fulfilling career. The training and experience received were beyond measure.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt like I was helping people
Call Taker (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAFebruary 6, 2013
A very large 911 center that takes 3,000 calls per day, high stress, incredible amount of knowledge to do the job. My husband died while I was there and the job was just not for me anymore (in that big of a enter).
Pros
a rewarding job.
Cons
high turnover from management down.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Detective (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville GaJune 15, 2014
I enjoy working here. Great company to work for. Lots of room for advancement and advanced training.
Pros
training/working conditions
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
School Crossing Guard Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dacula, GAAugust 4, 2012
Very team player oriented and a great group of superiors who want you to succeed.
Pros
flexible schedule and great compensation
Cons
short-term program
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
INVESTIGATOR (Current Employee) –  Gwinnett County, GAMay 13, 2015
Police work can be exciting but it has its stressful moments. Don't get into police work for the money but the self satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Group of People
Intern (Former Employee) –  Gwinnett County, GeorgiaNovember 1, 2012
I loved every minute of my time with GCPD. Everyone was so great with me and was very nice to me. I would do it again in a heartbeat
Pros
riding around with the police, seeing a different side of the world
Cons
3 months wasnt long enough
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gwinnett Police
Communication Officer III (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAAugust 24, 2012
I worked at this location for 10 + years. I was promoted to a training officer after 5 yrs.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Police Officer Senior (Current Employee) –  Gwinnett County, GAAugust 9, 2013
A typical day as a police officer. Everyone's experience will differ in this profession.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7

Gwinnett County Police Department Reviews by Location