Gymboree Corporation Employee Reviews in United States

Found 608 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Terrible
Sales (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCApril 4, 2016
This isnt a bad job but financially, if you have major bills to pay for this isnt the job for you. This company is small and my team is fairly small too but we treat each other as if we're family
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service is a breeze
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAApril 4, 2016
I enjoy working with the customers daily. I learned company procedures for operating the register, and assisting customers. We ring up customers give gymbucks and sensor and put out stock daily. We clean the store put up signs and sign up customers for rewards cards.
Pros
rewards such as candy, food and bonuses for approved credit card applications.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work enviroment and super peers!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Meridian, IDMarch 31, 2016
Having mainly covered the closing shift my story begins with:
- clocking in - greeting customers ( as I exit the backroom)
-Immediate tidying of the store's products (shooting customers compliments as I do) - ringing up sales - reminding customers of
rewards programs and encouraging them to purchase a little more to earn that extra point - closing cleaning duties

My coworkers are the best of the best! I've rarely (never) worked with a grumpy person! My boss is amazing and so understanding ( :

NO negatives about this job! I love every part of it!
Pros
The free cookies/candy and lunches on holidays
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only work driven people need apply
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 22, 2016
Great company needs to place the right District manger and actually listen to store Managers,needs to drive the business,over all great job .Upper managers need to be more on board and honest.
Pros
Great merchandise and Customer
Cons
Not enough help for DMs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great vibes
Cashier (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaMarch 16, 2016
Learning to give great costumer service.
The management was a little unorganized my first 5 months there but now it is great.
Co-workers are great.
Hardest per of the job is keeping my cool while a costumer gets frustrated but I have gotten better at it.
The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing a customer walk out with a smile.
Pros
team work and very flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Children's clothing store
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILMarch 16, 2016
Assisting customers in anyway possible
how to merchandise
co- workers need to learn to be part of a team more
most enjoyable thing when working at gymboree would the satisfaction of helping a customer and them leaving happy
Pros
discount
Cons
no benifits, no vacation or sick time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
STORE ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Central Valley, NYMarch 15, 2016
Lots of room for growth within the company. The company cares for its employees as much as it cares for its customers. Positive work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHMarch 12, 2016
Gymboree is a great company to work for, they value work life balance. The company has a great atmosphere and upper management stands behind managers as much as they can in decision making.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All worked together but seemed to be competitave about hours.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tulalip, WAMarch 7, 2016
they were all nice and did there job mostly but when i started working there, after i got trained they would be in the back room for quite a long time doing what ever they did, and left me out on the floor for most of my shift.
Pros
Sometimes co-workers would bring in something for us all
Cons
there were only girls, when they hired one man didn't give him enough hours and thought he was too slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Hunt Valley, MDMarch 7, 2016
not a great company to me. no room for growth, no career advancement. horrible company. needs improvement in management staff.
Pros
kids
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low paying; upper mgt lack competency
sales lead (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN, Fashion MallMarch 3, 2016
Would never return and never recommend friends or family; area mgr is lacking in ability and confidence to manage; too many floor sets; expect more from a company based in san fran.
Pros
ins, time off, benefits; store mgt
Cons
low paying, needs new mgt structure from above
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace with detail customer service
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 3, 2016
Being available to work peak hours to maximize customer service thru conversion. Work quickly to process shipment, Marketing and markdowns.Use of tools to establish daily business focus. Coach in the moment and lead by example.
Pros
abiltiy to lead my team and business as needed
Cons
Technical support is challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Religious Good Store
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Carmel, INMarch 3, 2016
This position gave me extensive knowledge of customer service. They are wonderful with their customers and go above and beyond to make the customer's experience wonderful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCMarch 1, 2016
Great company to work for has awesome benefits and it is a loyal company. Has awesome clothes for kids and they are at an affordable price.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAFebruary 29, 2016
Fun place to work, helping customers, sample new product
floorsets and changing all new displays working until 4am sometimes when new season or new product came in
Pros
hours
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get with the 21 Century
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 23, 2016
Love the customers!!! Upper Management likes to micromanage you and make expectations they themselves do not hold each other accountable for. The lack of organization from upper managements goals to how they are executed on the store level are so far from each other it is frustrating. The upper management likes to make threats about discipline and when you need their help they are no where to be found. Typical do as I say not as I do attitude.
Pros
Awesome Customers
Cons
Pay, benefits and being treated with no respect from the Corporate Office
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've worked at so far!
Play and Learn Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAFebruary 20, 2016
I enjoyed working at Gymboree very much! Everyday I got to come and work with wonderful children, help them learn through singing and dancing which are some of my favorite things to do! My manager and coworkers were very helpful when I first started and I caught on pretty quickly with their help. Workplace was kept clean at all times so it made my job a lot easier.
Pros
Having fun teaching children
Cons
Misunderstandings with some parents
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap Company
Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsFebruary 15, 2016
Gymboree is the most low paying, high standard company!! No raise after two years minimum hours when store gets hours expect to drop your life for them. Gymboree wants there managers to work alone even at night.
Pros
Friendship you build with co-workers
Cons
Low pay, no hours, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaFebruary 15, 2016
Gymboree has good values, but the stores themselves are struggling. Visually, financially, etc. Gymboree is for a beginning manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Team!
SALES MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDFebruary 15, 2016
A typical day at work is pretty enjoyable I love the customers that come in and their children are always a hoot to watch when they find things that they want. I learned more about myself as a new manager and what I can handle and what opportunities that I can take on to learn even more. My store-manager is pretty awesome she helps make it a more relaxed atmosphere and genuinely cares for her entire team same as the other managers including myself. Our team is pretty cohesive considering we are all female haven't had any cat fights or problems!
Pros
customers, team, discount, cute clothing
Cons
none what-so-ever
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 654 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture