H&M Employee Reviews

Found 1,382 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H&M was driven by a will to succeed
SALES ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Farmington, UTAugust 16, 2017
I started working at the start of the holiday rush, so I was quickly trained to be able to work as fast as possible, while still using company best practices for efficiency and good customer service. There was a competitive nature between our store and the other locations around us, but that kept us all motivated to do our best.

H&M focuses greatly on being a team and customer service; the company also encourages its employees to find solutions to problems on their own. There is also a great focus on personal growth within the company in any ways one can find.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment where you can be yourself.
Retail Advisor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 16, 2017
You come into work, check the breakdown. See where you're at for your whole shift. Grab a walkie and head to the sales floor. I've learned a lot about retail, from dressing the mannequins to checking the reports to see how we did for the week etc.
Pros
Paid vacation for your birthday.
Cons
Nothing is ever consistent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardest retail you will work but compensates very well
Part-Time Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Naples, FLAugust 16, 2017
pretty good company. hardest retail job out there but compensates extremely well. so many oppurtunities to grow within the company. ridiculously face paced. essentially a world of its own.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 15, 2017
It's a great place to work, a lot of growth opportunity! Very understanding management. Everyone is always there to help and the company goes by amazing values.
Pros
all their benefits
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great way to meet new people
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 14, 2017
-great way to meet new people
-work/life balance
-great place to work if you are into the fashion world and trendsetting
-the most enjoyable part of the job was internal growth and development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heated situations
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2017
a time i had to digest a heated conundrum with two customers and associate. i immediately called manager for assistance and i approached the situation calm, reasoning and compromising until i was given the chance to make a high quality purchase with the two displeased customers and turned it into a experience they came their to have
Pros
benefits and hours
Cons
advancment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Adimin controller , sale advisor ,mentor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 11, 2017
H&M is a fast pace strong costumer service enivorment were we make our customer feel at home, I've learn to listen and care for customer demands. Mangers are well rounded and full of communication. the culture is diverse.The hardest part of the job is waiting on feedback and the most enjoyable part is your co worker become more then just co worker more like family
Pros
discounts and 15 mins breaks
Cons
not too many employee for a big company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of the store
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Erie, PAAugust 11, 2017
H&M is a very relaxed and friendly environment to work in. My manager at the time was very upbeat and pleasant all the time. Some of the employees were not so nice. But for the most part majority of everyone got along there.
Pros
Clothing, discounts
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job for students
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Orland Park, ILAugust 10, 2017
It's a great job for people who are in school currently. Not a long term job. Has many benefits as a part-timer being wellness days & vacation days. Difficult to move up in the company even though they say it's easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 9, 2017
Co workers were fun to work with, Great work environment .. No room for growth, Also no hours for workers, Management was cool at times but when you need them, sometimes they are no where to be found
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
SALES ADVISOR (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDAugust 9, 2017
fun and easy workplace. management doesnt communicate well. sales associates will become your friends. everyone is relatively fun and friendly. good employee discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance but amazing benefits
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXAugust 9, 2017
The culture has changed from fun to very stressful. There's no work life balance and the blackout dates have increased by 75%. The company brings in more external hires rather than promoting within. Those that are with the company get paid significantly less than the externals they bring in. They health benefits are extremely fantastic.
Pros
Health benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistency in district management
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Long Island, NYAugust 8, 2017
I really enjoyed working for this company in the beginning. Ive experienced great store managers and gained a lot of personal friendships from working with this company. As of lately I've haven't felt the same for this company for example every 2 yrs there's a shift in the district team which is bad for store mangement bcz district is the team which promotes within the store mangement team which makes it harder to move up within the company and those that do get promoted its based off of favoritism.
Pros
25% discount and guest designer guest
Cons
No district management organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, the benefit package was above average.
SALES ADVISOR/ DEPARTMENT HEAD (Former Employee) –  Toms River, NJAugust 8, 2017
My position at H&M was great, I was running the mens department and working hard. I felt the period of time it would have taken me to advance was being dragged out because of overhiring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Orland Park, ILAugust 8, 2017
Overall a very diverse friendly environment. You will meet a lot of amazing people. H&M doesn't compare to any other retailer, the business is very fast paced but also enjoyable along the way.
Pros
Employee discounts, multiple breaks
Cons
Sometimes management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great but good
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAAugust 7, 2017
Working here can be fun and hectic. Weekends are sometimes stressful.

Management recently changed and things became sloppy.
Coworkers are amazing.

25% staff discount.
And sometimes employees get special discounts and deals.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Step in to retail
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 7, 2017
The workplace is very high pace. You deal with difficult customers daily. There was limited advancement and favoritism. There are great discounts and perks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Values
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 7, 2017
The companies Core values describe a universal attitude towards employees yet does not live up to them. There are too many Chiefs and not enough Indians!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diffuclt
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Valley Stream, NYAugust 6, 2017
it was a task to come to work everyday when your employees didnt have good social ablities, they would come to work with attitudes and be rude to customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Csc
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2017
The values are amazing and overall it is a giant global force in the world of retail. However in the US there are inconsistencies and frequent policy changes, often abrupt.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,098 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9