Find companies:
H&R
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

H&R Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peers are great, educated, Policies could use some work
Senior Technical Support Specialist Tier2 (Current Employee), One HR Block Way Kansas City, MO 64105July 15, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: benefits, seasonal position
Maintained/Resolved Internet security issues
Resolved escalated tickets
Updated tier 1 technicians
People I worked with were the best part of the job.
Difficult at times to appease some callers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
change and correct false info on customers tax returns
Rapid Refund Associate (Former Employee), Block, KSMay 23, 2014
nice part time job to have really around the holidays they give you nice hours around tax peak time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace with excellent coffee
Tax Preparer (Former Employee), Block, KSMay 8, 2014
Pros: great coffee, and flexible breaks
Cons: no opportunity for advancement and no healthcare
During a typical day I would get my computer booted, placing myself in queue to receive chats and phone calls. I learned how to multitask on another level and to provide the highest level customer service under constant pressure and stress. Management sat at the end of our row so it was an overall team atmosphere. My co workers were fun and very technically – more... savvy and always willing to show me shortcuts and more efficient ways to work. The most difficult part of the job was being detail oriented enought to meticulously pick through multiple federal tax returns at a time and find errors after a brief questioning of the clients. The most enjoyable part of the job was that things were always changing so I never got stale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in complete development of the project
NET Developer (Former Employee), Chennai, IndiaFebruary 19, 2014
Have worked in a team of 80 in the design of Tax filing for H & R Block. Have worked in Facade pattern , Writing business logic of the project . Writing Stored procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Digital Tax Consultant (Former Employee), Block, KSFebruary 17, 2014
typical work day included meetings and assisting customers file there taxes via phone or our insta chat help line
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foosball Table
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), MOJanuary 1, 2014
Honestly I can say that this job is no different then any call center job. The different break rooms and by it being in the Power and Light District is some good points
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and relax enviorment
Client Relations Agent (Former Employee), Block, KSDecember 21, 2013
Pros: cafeteria in building, free employee parking, discounts on tickets snd alot of other downtown places
Cons: seasonal
answered inbound calls , provided world class customer service,
weekly one-on-ones with you team lead, that consisted of a overall of weekly review and coaches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
People Center- Employment Assistant (Current Employee), One Block, MODecember 3, 2013
I am in a seasonal position and this is my first year, I really like working for the company. I answer calls all day and help candidate get there hiring process completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Employment Assistant Seasonal (Current Employee), Block, KSNovember 15, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: seasonal
A very diverse group with lots of professionals.nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Tier I, Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Block, KSAugust 20, 2013
Pros: great incentives for doing a great job and room for advancement
Cons: healthcare benefits were a bit expensive
H&R Block was really a fun place to work. Gave us incentives for our ideas. Let us be a part of the constant change that took place. It always felt like a family instead of a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management opprotunities with a fun work environment.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 27, 2013
A tyical day at work was always a learning experience. The many customers you came in contact with was just a nother opprotunity to help some one else have a better day. My managers were fun to be around. They were always very willing to help whenever I needed assistance with anything and was always influential. Even my co-workers made work enjoyable. – more... Within several months I became apart of the Subject Matter Expert team. Every day I came in to work I know I could look forward to a good and productive day. The hardest part of my job was excepting the fact the your not going to be able to help EVERY customer you assist that day. I enjoyed everything about working at H&R Block. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Position
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Block, KSJuly 22, 2013
Pros: plenty of overtime
Cons: ends after tax season
Great place to work for a Seasonal Position. Its a calm atmosphere every one is very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Position nothing more
CCR/Sr. Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Block, KSJuly 9, 2013
Pros: good management, good support
Cons: no benefits, no job security, very little chance for advancement.
I worked at H&R block for 14 months straight starting with a temp. company. I started as a Customer Service Rep on the phone for 11 months then I became a Block employee for 3 months as a Customer Service Rep II. As a Customer Service Rep I was on the phone speaking to customers about various Block roducts and services. I was still learning the Representative – more... II position when I was laid off. As a Representative II I spoke with tax preparers and office managers of the Block offices around the country. I was a trouble shooter for the issues that came p with Block products and services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Receptionist (Former Employee), Ozark, ALJune 28, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: seasonal
On a typical day of work i would go to my desk check the phone for messages and schedule appointments, then i would file all paperwork, and then hand out the refund checks. I learned how to schedule appointments, file paper work, and use point of sales, i also received my bank training as well. The managers were great. The co-workers were like family – more... and hard working. the hardest part of the job was trying to answer questions about taxes. The most enjoyable part was the money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and flexible
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Block, KSJune 7, 2013
Pros: fexible
Cons: way too many people
very structured, and veryful, provided help whn needed, always made sure there was more then enough help available if someone was having trouble on a call.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good salary and hours at h & r block
Customer Service Operator (Former Employee), kansas city, moMay 9, 2013
Pros: good salary, dependable breaks you are responsible for taking on your own
Cons: inflexible hours
good company, not very flexible on hours, was heavily affected during recession. dealt with a lot of difficult clients but helped hone client resolution skills. increased confidence i already had that i am easily adaptable and capable at using computer programs with ease and remaining accurate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, focused on the customer satisfaction, very knowledgeable
Receptionist (Former Employee), Carlinville, ILApril 3, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: part-time seasonal
This was my first experience with working with the public. I maintained phone calls, scheduled appointments, pulled and filed paperwork, ran errands when required, ran nightly report and collected payments. Along with the appointments we incorporated the walk-in clients into the daily schedule.
Management is very professional, knowledgeable, and caring – more... for her employees and customers. My co-workers were kind, caring and professional. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the public when they are unhappy with how long it takes to get their returns after submission. The most enjoyable is seeing the smiles of happy and content clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun environment to work in
Tech Support Tier I (Current Employee), Block, KSMarch 28, 2013
Pros: tickets to sprint center events, free parking for power and light
Cons: long hours during peak
learned how to use Prism to assign printer for certain workstations and office setup using marimba and trouble shooting virtual workstations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Tax Law Research Specialist (Current Employee), Kansas City, MO (downtown building)March 14, 2013
H&R Block is an amazing company to work for. All of my supervisors were/are incredibly friendly and encouraging without losing grip on their ability to control work flow. The atmosphere is comfortable and it has been easy to see that H&R Block truly cares about its employees. I encourage anyone with the opportunity to work with H&R Block.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level
Senior Support Specialist (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOMarch 9, 2013
Pros: entry-level experience
Cons: seasonal job
You will learn some entry level IT work. It's a call center so you will be taking calls constantly.