H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 136 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Housekeeping Aide (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 22, 2015
Not appreciative of the work we did, favoritism. Team Leader sneaking up on you.Management was poor. Always expected things to be perfect. it was a bad experience for me.
Pros
No free Lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous Organization
Perioperative Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 18, 2015
The philoshophy is strong

Scholarship Opportunity is minimal

Work/Life Balance is superb

Opportunity for Growth with Education

Research Opportunity Avail
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clinical experience!
Medical Assistant Externship (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 16, 2015
Great clinical experience and overall environment. Staff is very helpful. I was able to sharpen my clinical skills and build new ones!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moffitt greatest asset were the employees strong work ethics
Patient Service Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 15, 2015
I was responsible for making patients comfortable, had an easy schedule to follow, and made sure they were educated about what services we offered.

My experience at Moffitt taught me how life and change quickly and how health care associates become a vital part in maintaining quality of living.

My manager was very well cross-train, organized, and made sure we were accountable for our actions.

I was a privilege to work with some of best medical team. Their level of expertise, compassion, and team work made it easier to get through the day.

Cancer is a dreadful illness that causes a total life change. People fight the disease while also trying to keep employment and marriage together. This is the worst part of working there and knowing that we can only provide resources in a few areas.

I enjoyed being able to be myself and bring happiness to our patients and staff. Sometimes they would get sad when they were released to go home because we became a family.
Pros
Staff also received free acute care.
Cons
30-minute lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Radiology Technologist (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 9, 2015
Great place to work. I worked there for past 15 years. The Co-workers work as team for most part. The physical environment is very well kept.
Pros
The patients are wonderful
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At work
Medical Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 3, 2015
I like my work place. we are all team players, and we all work together to get things done, but I will like something new. Everyday its really busy and I like that it keeps the day moveing faster, but sometime its just nice to have a easy day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glad not to be here anymore!
Electrician for the Facilities Department (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLApril 1, 2015
I worked as an Electrician for the facilities dept. for approx. 3 years, this dept. is ran by a bunch of idiots, 90% of the maintenance techs have no license in any thing but bullsh*t, so glad not to be employed here any more!
Pros
none
Cons
alot
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People work there because they want to its not "just a job"
Sarcoma Program, Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tampa FloridaMarch 9, 2015
Great place to work, helpful ancillary staff, patients become like family. State of the art education, experts in their fields and easy access to facility.
Pros
easy access to other disciplines
Cons
long hours, new systems
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Moffitt Team
Billing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 8, 2015
As a whole, the Moffitt team is committed to serving our patients and serving one another, while navigating daily challenges.
Pros
opportunities for work/life balance, educational assistance, opportunities for advancement
Cons
difficulty in cultivating a cohesive and fluid inter-departmental communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 22, 2015
Loved the patients who came in. Co-workers were always helpful and team oriented.
Pros
great place to work.
Cons
hard when the patients passed away.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of growth
Biostatistician (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 21, 2015
Expanding research areas. Great place to work, especially if you have a PhD. Great diversity of people and tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Companyn to work for.
Continuing Education Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 16, 2015
I enjoyed working at Moffitt Cancer Center. I consider it the best job I ever had. I was allowed the opportunity to be promoted.
I had the pleasure of serving on the Employee Advisory Board. I would return given the opportunity to return to Tampa.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee are great
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee) –  tampa, flJanuary 10, 2015
Training needs improvement. Stressful job but can also be fun
Pros
overtime
Cons
better training better supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience everything all rolled up into one job
Sarcoma Program, Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FloridaJanuary 6, 2015
You obtain excellent, internal medicine skills, infectious disease skills, and acute care skills. It's an excellent place for growth as a clinician.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work for the fresh outs !
research assistant (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 5, 2015
Nice place to gain experience make a strong background in the technical field.
Pros
easy!
Cons
no growth!!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance is needed for happier staff
Supervisor of Sterile Processing (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 31, 2014
lacks management supervision in given areas, under staffed and work life balance is not there
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Services
Patient Food Services/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 31, 2014
I loved this job and fellow employees and management. I helped the inpatient status patients select they daily menus. I also helped with food prep and cleaning of main kitchen.
Pros
management was helpful
Cons
working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer, Several Departments (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 30, 2014
I volunteered at Moffitt Cancer Center from 2010-2014 in various departments such as Gastro Intestinal Area, Radiation Therapy and Surgery Waiting Area.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Scheduling Specialist III (Former Employee) –  tampa,flDecember 8, 2014
great place to work you learn a lot about cancer and other diseases. Very productive place to work. Close to everything. Amazing doctors with a lot of expertise. 4 campuses some room for growth. Researchers are very dedicated to finding a cure for cancer
Pros
goood benefits
Cons
alot of micromanaging
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with diffrent people daily
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLOctober 31, 2014
i love my job How to work with different characters i have a fair manager co- workers you learn how to deal with co-workers. hardes part is the patient volume love working with the patients.
Pros
excellent enviroment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 136 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute Reviews by Location