Find companies:
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Senior Data Analyst (Current Employee), Tampa, FLApril 18, 2013
Moffitt is a great organization with many opportunities for advancement. I've worked with numerous physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, surgeons, and non-clinical staff and have always found everyone to be pleasant to work with and satisfied in their roles. Management is very understandable with every employee's needs and concerns, – more... as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we had nice break areas
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 5, 2013
Pros: discount on all foods
Cons: i did not have any
I made sure each and every patient was in the right place and getting them ready for their procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place
Volunteer (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 2, 2013
Great place to work at, and a very touching place to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful co-workers and management
Certified Surgical Techologist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMarch 29, 2013
Pros: loved my co-workers and management
loved the atmosphere. enjoyed going to work everyday. the job was interesting. the surgeons were easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Assistant for Outpatient Clinics (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMarch 25, 2013
Pros: benefits, very team oriented, being a big company
Cons: hire from within
A typical day would be working in an outpatient Oncology clinic calling back patients and preparing them for their appointment with the doctor. I would preform vitals enter and update their medication profile into an emr system so the doctor would have all of their information before their appointment. I put patients in the rooms according to their – more... scheduled appointment. I worked usually under 6-8 doctors a day. I would preform suture or staple removal procedures by order of the doctor. Prepare and assist the doctor with any biopsies that were preformed and have them labeled and delivered to lab for processing. I would stock and order supplies according to clinic needs. I worked along with sometimes 1 or 2 other MA's according to patient flow for the day. The hardest part of the job I would have been when the doctors fell behind in seeing patients and I would have to do my best to ensure that the patient is relaxed and not angry for the long wait times. I loved working with the patients. Being very social and caring to each patient's needs, I was able to identify what their needs were and know how to meet them. Overcoming difficult patients felt very easy for me. We all worked well as a team and always got things done as a team. I worked with the nurses and doctors to help ensure that I did my part as a medical assistant to make each work day successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work
Human Resources (Current Employee), Tampa, FLMarch 3, 2013
Pros: learn a lot
Cons: compensation is low and there is not a lot of room for advancement.
MCC is local to Tampa, so it's hard for their leaders to think outside the box. Also, a large majority of the employees have worked there since the doors opened and are resistant to any type of change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Nurse (Former Employee), Tampa, FLFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: loved working with the patients.
Cons: extremely busy most of the time, breaks did not always happen, very long drive to work. hours were changed from hire time making it difficult with my family.
Very fast paced work environment.
The patients were what made the job great. Good support from my peers.
Very long drive to work each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saving lives everyday
Administrative Scheduling Coordinator (Current Employee), Tampa, FLFebruary 19, 2013
It's a great place to work. I meet a lot of amazing people. Our staff is caring and always thinks of the patient's first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work, helping people everyday who are fighting for they're life.
Patient Service Representative (Radiation Therapy) (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: helping people of all ages, race, and gender. we are all the same when faced with what life has given us.
Cons: nothing, i loved it there.
Coming in early checking in patients who come everyday of the week for months for treatment. Getting charts ready for next day clinic. Updated charts with doctor's note's. Everyone I worked with at Moffitt was as nice as they could be, we all knew that anything that was going on in our life's couldn't match what some of these people were going through. – more... I learned to look at people for who they were, not what they look like. I learned to help people above, and beyond. I learned to do what ever it took to make it easier for people who already have a lot on they're plate. The hardest part would have to be facing a patient who has just been told they only have month's to live, and telling them that God has the last word, trust him. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work patients and staff are wonderful
Senior Patient Representative (Current Employee), Tampa FloridaJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: paid time off is definetly an asset
Cons: lack of communication is something that needs to be worked on
I enjoy going to work everyday. I meet new people and have the best staff to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slipping away from number one priority: NEXT TO NONE PATIENT CARE
Patient service Representative. (Former Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 30, 2012
Pros: benefits., privelage of helping sick people
Cons: poor management, salary is low for non-clinical personnel. patient care is not where it used to be.
Moffitt Cancer Center is overall a wonderful place; when I first started with them in May of 2010 I was so excited to be a part of a well known Cancer hospital. The benifits were amazing; salary could be a little bit higher for non-clinical personnel. The atmosphere for most places within Moffitt was very warm and welcoming and dedicated to making sure – more... the patients were taken care of. This last year of my employment at Moffitt was unfortunatley a huge dissapointment. The only negative opinion I would state is that a lot of key areas in the hospital are poorely managed with unprofessional and poor "team building" members of management. " – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Clinic Coordinator (Current Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 18, 2012
Not much of a hospital for advancement. But good to stay put.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moffitt is overall an excellent employer.
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Tampa, FloridaNovember 28, 2012
The most accepting culturally diverse place I've ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough gig!!
Physical Therapist Assistant (Former Employee), Tampa, FlNovember 7, 2012
Pros: rewarding experience to see those get well
Cons: difficult enviroment floating floor to floor
Working with the patients and most of the staff was an unforgetable experience!! Very rewarding!! But even with the abundace of Physical Therapy experience I had working in different facilities, I found working as a staff person was over wheelming! As a staff therapist you are required from day one to work all the floors from intensive care to BMT. – more... A significant amount of physicians (they work in teams from 3-7) and nursing staff to get to know as well as social workers all different on all units!! Not to mention as a PTA you work under supervision of many different PT's all with different expectations of their PTA's. Difficult situation when communication between these people are crutial!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and compassionate work place.
OB/GYN clinic (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 30, 2012
Pros: working one on one with the patients
Cons: n/a
I enjoyed my time at Moffitt during my externship and being able to work with the patients one on one. It is very rewarding work and the staff is the best around. Our manager was outstanding with an open door policy and the employees were a joy to work with. It was a very sad day when I completed my externship. My hopes are to work at Moffitt as I have – more... experience alot of what the patients are going through and I have the empathy and first hand knowledge of their challenges and fears. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sterile processing
Sterile Processing Technician (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 29, 2012
Moffitt Cancer Center is a great job to work at. the hours are great and people are friendly. management is very supportive. our heavy day on wednesday in surgical services. help the patients is the best part of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enivornment.
Floor care Specialist III (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 11, 2012
A large company with plenty of opportunity for advancement. Great benefits and traning in your field of employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where are all of these people working???
scheduler (Former Employee), tampa, floridaOctober 3, 2012
Pros: i no longer work there
Cons: too many to name
Moffitt cancer center is 'nothing' as they appear to be. Racism is rampant. They preach diversity, but there isn't any. Minorities have a difficult time flourishing at this company. Management has 'all' of the say so-even if they're wrong. This is 'no' place for single parents or working parents period, they want making them money to be 'your' life – more... & primary focus, and if it isn't, they will 'find' a way to get rid of you. Gossip is galore, even amongst the higher ups. there is no morale in this company. this isn't a hospital, it's a business, they are all about making money. They care nothing about their employees, so if you apply, go there 'just' to make money, not be appreciated. Oh yea, and the amount of time that you invest in their company means not one iota to them, if they want you gone, you'r gone! Your best bet is to keep your mouth closed, because if you stand up for yourself, you're out! Apply & work at this company at your own risk! – less

November 10, 2012

I left after 4 months at Moffitt. The culture there is sink or swim, team work is discouraged, negative environment, the people will "throw you under the bus" at the drop of a hat. In a period of 4 months, 6 employees, including 4 RNs, 1 manager, and 1 physician assistant, left Moffitt . These employees lasted less than 1 year in a department of 13 employees. That has a lot to say about the rentention and recruitment rate. There are 50% turnover rate in this place. Moffitt has no understanding of CMS, Joint Commission or documentation. It's either under documented or over documented. As an RN, I feared of loosing my license every day. The department where I was thought they are immuned to the national standards and requirements. Computer charting is not up to date. For example, you have to chart in three different places for a medication. It is an uncleaned and unsafe environment for patients and employees. It may be well known for its R & D, but that is it. I would not refer any one to apply at Moffitt.

March 22, 2013

When I first started in mid-2000s, it was strange to see so many happy employees. But by 2009/2010, everyone... EVERYONE I spoke to, in a variety of departments, could not stand their job any longer. But being Tampa, they had no options. And managers know this. So they treat you "OK" as long as you are a star performer and don't ask for a promotion or any recognition. Once you do, you are re-assigned, re-evaluated, and promptly placed on an EIP and shown the door. I've seen it happen to more than a few co-workers. Sr. Mgmt and HR do nothing... except inform the manager that his direct report has a problem with them. Morale is in the toilet. Work/Life balance is out of balance. Pay is far too low for such lofty expectations (usually to compensate for some inept colleague).

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
special care unit
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
I enjoy my co-works we help each other when things get crazy. SCU has been a great learning experiance for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not a job, it is a career.
Clinic Coordinator Full-Time (Current Employee), Tampa, FLSeptember 23, 2012
Pros: patient contact, benefits
Cons: retaliation is a bit of a problem in some departments, some departments work in silos which makes it difficult to assist the patient
Moffitt is an amazing place to work if you are able to always go above and beyond, if you can put the patient first and can handle having to work overtime at times. I grew up there, and the skills that I learned there have made me into the hardworking individual that I am today. The patients humble you and are amazing. I learned how to assess and address – more... situations in stressful situations. – less

About H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute

The H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute, founded in 1986, is a┬áNational Cancer Institute-designated Comprehensive – Read more