Find companies:
HCA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
330 reviews

HCA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job!!! I learned so much that will carry me through life!
Medical Office Specialist/Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), Richmond, VAApril 25, 2014
Pros: bonuses, meeting all types of people, job advantages great benefits
Cons: take away bonuses, and job transfer ( hard getting another job with hca)
A typical day for me is starting early @7am checking in patients and making sure that there doctors and nurses are prepared for the day. Making sure schedules set and there's room for sick visits, acute care visits and other quick squeeze in's.
Sometimes, I would float to other practices which gave me the advantage of learning how other practices run – more... and operate. I have been blessed to work with the Best Doctors & Nurses In the State!
I have had the pleasure of walking in the Cancer Walks, Heart Walks, and plain old good fun! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Demand for Volume and Accuracy
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 22, 2014
I worked with the SSI billing system as well as Document Direct Reporting System. I would bill over 350 claims per day while maintaining a QA of 98% or higher. Also worked with the manager in determining late charges fro the facility and whether they needed to be added to a bill per the policies that were in place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work
Clinical Director/Interim Administrator (Former Employee), Austin, TXApril 22, 2014
amazing facility and team
upper management difficult to manage
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work.
Meditech Builder & Clinical Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 21, 2014
It a wonderful place to work. The management team and my coworkers were all very pleasant and very helpful over the course of 7 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCA
Pharmacist (Current Employee), Plantation, FLApril 12, 2014
I have worked for HCA for 30 years and it is a great employer. As a long term employee I have seen many people come and go, the management have all been caring and committed to the employee's concerns and well being. We have 4 long term pharmacists on staff and everyone gets along like family, we have seen each other through marriages, children, and – more... in some cases grandchildren. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to employees
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 10, 2014
Pros: good to employees
Cons: none in my department
Loved this place, unfortunately was laid off. Would go back there again if they had an opening,.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always growing with improvements
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), New Port Richey, FLApril 10, 2014
Pros: small family like atmosphere with dedicated staff
Cons: dangerous environment
A typical day at my work was extremely busy. The 12 hour shifts were filled with satisfying the needs of the, at times, very physically and emotionally demanding behavioral health patients. My unit was a very dangerous environment, we were required to learn self defense skills regarding deescalating and keeping patients and staff safe. Although there – more... was this negative side to being a Behavior Health Nurse I continued to work there for eleven years, and thought of doing no other type of job. I reveled in the challenge of taking care of the sensitive needs of the alcohol and drug related illnesses. Throughout the years I became very proficient in caring for those types of patients. The most enjoyable part of my work was when patients would be discharged physically healthier, and emotionally in a better place in their life because of the care they were given on our unit. It was always so rewarding to know I was part of saving someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse work
Material Handler-Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 5, 2014
This is a warehouse. If you don't like getting dirty than this isn't a place I'd suggest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very numbers and data driven hospital operation- sometimes patient care takes a back seat
Director (Current Employee), Hopewell, VAApril 4, 2014
Great opportunity for advancement if you are willing to relocate. Facilities vary with culture depending on senior leadership. Smaller facilities see lots of transition and you must be willing to embrace change in styles. Competitive wages and benefits- a for profit hospital organization, and it's apparent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please see the Rating.
Project Lead/Technical Writer (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLMarch 31, 2014
Pros: the start-up phase was excellent, all of us envisioned a future that included job security, the camaraderie was good
Cons: the start-up phase required extra hours without pay or comp time
Please refer to the Rating, which relects the current management only, not the management when I joined HCA in 2003, which was excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Hospital Liaison/ Senior Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Irving,TexasMarch 31, 2014
Come in make sure that the phones are on a check emails, for facility communication. answer requests from the hospital via submitted forms. Co workers got along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided Medical billing for hospitals
Receipt Specialist (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMarch 30, 2014
Pros: hours, location
Cons: closed office
HCA was a great place to work really enjoyed the work my co -workers in the Kansas city location management was helpful had open door policy pay was great would have stayed with company if building did not close .Overall a good working environment some of the management was very helpful when you wanted to advance as for as what classes you need to take – more... and skills need for the next positions, the pay just was not that great for the work load. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning environment and great coworkers.
Associate Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 27, 2014
Pros: reasonable benefits
Cons: distant management
While at HCA, I learned a lot from my coworkers. And I learned a lot by using the various in-house systems. My job was most tedious in the mornings. However I definitely enjoyed the process of learning new and different ways to get the best results for my existing customers, in-house and out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive workplace
Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: great it experience
Cons: shorty lunches
- A typical Day is filled with trouble shooting and problem analization
- I have imporved on my skill to think on the go and be multi faceted
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, poor work life balance
Staff I Expense Accountant (Current Employee), Franklin, TNMarch 22, 2014
Typical day at work: work on balance sheet reconciliations, process provider payments, month end-variance analysis, accrual journal entries

What I have learned: This is my first accrual accounting job, so I have learned how to keep accruals in line each month and reconciling accounts

Management: overall managers do their jobs. They need to work on – more... leading/teaching staff members

Co-workers: everyone is great to work with, we usually work as a team

Hardest part: during close, waiting for support to book accruals and getting all the information needed timely

Enjoyable: our team building exercises – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work.
ASSISTANT VICE PRESIDENT, INFORMATION SECURITY (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 16, 2014
HCA is a great place to work. They invest in their employees and the work is challenging and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many job opportunities in the beginning.
Refunds Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 15, 2014
Pros: rumors that the company was going under
Cons: healthcare which is needed in all communities.
My typical day at work was to refund employers and patients their money back due to over payments. I learned many things at this job. My co-workers were great. The hardest part of my job was to keep up with the quota everyday and refund all of the accounts on my list. The most enjoyable part of the job was challenging myself to finish my list and help – more... others finish theirs because we had a bonus every quarter for meeting our goal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCA is the best place to work
Contractor (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 14, 2014
I have had no issues with this Business and would work here any time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCA
Implementation Specialist (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 13, 2014
I love working for this company! I travel for them and it does take alot of the person to be on the road full time, but I am very grateful for my position an opportunities to grow. I work with great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Desktop Analyst II (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 11, 2014
This is a good company. I enjoyed working there.
This is a good company. I enjoyed working there.
This is a good company. I enjoyed working there.
This is a good company. I enjoyed working there.
This is a good company. I enjoyed working there.

About HCA

About HCA HCA (Hospital Corporation of America) operates more than 160 acute care, psychiatric, and rehabilitation hospitals – Read more