Find companies:
HCA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
336 reviews

HCA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I work now is a very comfortable work place.
Patient Registration (Current Employee), Las, SLJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great working enviroment, and employees discount* if a health matter arrises.
Cons: location.
A typical work day starts early* I clock in*.. My hours are so that I am the first to arrive in the office. I open up, and and immediately turn on lights and go to computer and Run the days schedual, to compare it with the last run of the previous day. While it is running, I go to kitchen make the coffie, turn on all the other lights and the TVs in – more... the waiting rooms. I then go back to my desk to compare scheduals and add on pts that were added on after I left the night before. I look for orders and double check that the order is complete and then collect the papers for the Reg/chart. I then time it and put it in the que for the days registrations. I greet patients..collect their IDs, and Ins. I make sure that their Charts are completed correctlly and then put the Pts', name in the Tracker*..... I also answer questions if asked, and direct the pts if needed at that time. All in a timely manner. As I do the above, I am also expected and do answer the many phone calls that come in during the day. and Direct the calls to the proper extention. I print scheduals and work on them during the day and collect orders and put the charts togethers... l am expected to keep the kitchen up and order any jucies that the nurses might need or supplies that the kitchen is running low on. If a pt comes in and states that they need to make an appointment to come back later to see us, I am qualified to make that appointment and to schedual them to see us on a day that is more convient for the patient. Sometimes I am the one that is the person to releive others at their post so they can take a lunch. So as someone watches my desk, I go to other departments to help them. I can be the one that collects money at the front desk if the situation arraises. At the end of the day I make sure the rest of the schedual of the day is in order for my relief to take over in an efficient manner. And close out my bank and count any moneys' that I may have collected. I make my drop (if needed). and clock out*... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Registrar (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: the medical experience
Cons: short breaks
Registered patients and gathered insurance information. Collected payments from patients. Also did a some coding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent co-workers
Otolaryngology (ENT) Clinic Manager (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJanuary 28, 2014
Staff is hardworking and dedicated to making the patient experience a great one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized and a horrible place to work
ER patient registration (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: gain experience in different areas
Cons: 12 hr shifts 30min lunch breaks, very low raises, bad management
assisting patients with billing information, answering phones, demographics, data entry , cashier, and insurance verification
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Charge Entry / Billing Specialist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 26, 2014
Learned a lot about medical billing. Learned a lot about myself and my potential working here. They give you room to grow and room to move up as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifelong Career with HCA
Director Surgical Services Largo Medical Center (Former Employee), Largo, FLJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: resources
HCA is a very innovative and creative company. I was privileged to be a part of this organization for almost my entire career. I learned extensive management skills to enhance my clinical skills.

My co-workers is what I miss most about this job. I met and worked with some truly amazing individuals and had the opportunity to participate with most of – more... them on task force teams to improve and take our facility to one of excellence.

HCA always provided the resources and tools to make you constantly strive for and be the best in the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Terminated 3 Months Early, Right Before Christmas!
IT Support Specialist Tier 1 (Former Employee), Austin, TxJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: my recruiter tried to get me a position with 3m after the fact, i got paid on time
Cons: poor professionalism, poor job culture, poor micro-management, expected to work holidays, expected to work on saturday without a lunch break, poor working conditions, take a break when you can on weekends.
I was a contractor with Robert Half Technologies at an HCA facility in Austin, Texas. This is what I put on my review of Robert Half.

I left my current employer which was a private university with full time benefits for a job at Robert Half Technologies. Robert Half offered me a job at Hospital Corporation of America (HCA). I was given 6 months to – more... become permanent and was guaranteed a full time position at HCA. I informed my recruiter and the HCA manager at both interviews that I am not leaving my current position at a whim and that I take my career seriously. I started at HCA on Oct. 14, 2013 and my contract was terminated on Dec. 06, 2013. I was there for only 3 months. I was terminated 2 weeks before Christmas. I was not given a reason and no discussion about my employment performance, no evaluation, no chance or meeting to see how I could improve my performance at HCA. When I asked Robert Half Technologies about my termination they told me there was no information given by HCA. When you are terminated for poor performance then you are told you are not a good employee. I don't hold Robert Half Technologies wholly responsible but Robert Half Technologies has not made good; after a month of being unemployed I can not trust them nor HCA to offer me reliable employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCA
Charge Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: place is near my home.
Cons: health insurance and dont get holiday pay
Coworkers are great but the management team is not. The managment team is not helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didn't enjoy working here at all
medicare billing specialist (Current Employee), hendersonville, TNJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: i guess pay is okay
Cons: non friendly managers
just sitting in a cubicle all day billing 200 plus claims is no fun at all
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MAGNET FACILITY. GREAT PLACE TO WORK. GREAT INTERACTION WITH PHYSICIANS
LVN (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: large enough to be cutting edge but small enough for everyone to be connected
Cons: turnover
GREAT ENVIRONMENT. FELT LIKE I LOST MY FAMILY WHEN I BECAME A DISPLACED WORKER
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall before going to shared services I enjoyed my job at HCA
Coder II (Former Employee), Las Vegas NVJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: working at home is convenient but not being able to commuicate with fellow coders is difficult
Cons: management
When training for the at home coding we were told that it is relaxing and flexible hours. For example if you had a doctor's appointment and needed to be gone for lunch an extra hour you could make up that hour any time before the end of the week yet when you did do this management would consider it an unfinished shift and count it against you. I enjoyed – more... the actual work but the hardest part was getting credit for work done. I worked weekends so therefore my days off were during the week. If I couldn't finalize a chart due to documentation needed I would code the chart as far as I could and await documentation. Management wanted the charts out of the priority ques within 48hrs so they wouldn't wait for me to come back and would have another coder finalize charts with my initials so I would get credit except that didn't happen the person put their initials in as the abstractor and coder. Plus if by chance they did use my initials and I was not clocked in the computer wouldn't accept it because of the fact that I wasn't clocked in so I was coding charts and not getting credit for them which led to my low productivity and therefore termination. As I stated before we went to the shared services I enjoyed my job at the hospital and looked forward to going to work. With the shared services I dreaded going in on my Monday and Friday wondering what was going to be changed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Consultant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: leader in community for giving, educational advancement. up to date technology for healthcare
Cons: organizational changes tend to be frequent
Love it while I was there! Want to get back. It's a very large corporate organization. Years ago there were several silos within the company. Company made significant strides in culture slowly breaking the silos.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The biggest and the best
Patient Account Rep II (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: education
Cons: pay
The layout and structure was the best, everyone knew what their job and roll was and the lines were clearly defined. There was plenty of education and opportunity for advancement. Unfortunately they consolidated offices out of our city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work If You Like Working Under a Point System
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Denton, TXJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: team work//professional care//knowledgable
Cons: point system//management not fair
Great place to work if you like working under a point system. Points add up if you are late or if you call in sick. I really don't think this system is fair to the ones commuting over 10 miles to work. Working around sick people, and your bound to get sick. Not really fair either. Maybe management will wise up and let their employees earn back their – more... points considering 12 points in a year will get you fired. A lot of team work and making sure the patients are getting the proper care. Maybe some nurses need a little tack in not talking down or disrespecting other nurses behind their backs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Assistant
Clinical Assistant (Former Employee), Largo, FLDecember 31, 2013
My typical day at work is helping patients daily. It is what I do, I assist patients with what they need and support my colleagues with what they want me to do. I love being able to achieve and accomplish doing good for others. At the end of my day, I feel a sense of fulfillment and I really enjoyed it. I learned a lot while being working there for – more... 3 years. Everyday I learned something new in the nursing field. Whether it is a new diagnoses or a new skill I get help with, I am constantly learning everyday. The management has always been great to me. They have been the best of support and caring in many ways. I love working with my co-workers, but then again, I am a people person and I tend to get along with anyone. The hardest part about the job is leaving the company because I had to go back to school to get a higher education while working nights and doing full time schooling was very hard for me. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I am able to help patients meet their needs daily and seeing smiles on their faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with some awesome nurses!
Unit Secretary for PCU, CDU, and ICU (Former Employee), McKinney, TXDecember 30, 2013
Pros: the nurses and other staff as well were all working together for the common good of the pateints.
Cons: crazy times when you can't take a break.
I worked for HCA for 6 1/2 years. In that time frame I worked in several departments. ICU was the most interesting. I learned we don't appreciate the gift of life as much as we should. I learned to listen better too as patients and their families needed to reach out. My Managers and Supervisors were amazing people so I felt blessed to have worked under – more... their careful watch. Obviously, the hardest part of the job was people passing away and seeing their loved ones so devastated and feeling lost. The best part was seeing patients recover and go home. Some would even come back to say hello and let us know their doing good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Outpatient Service Representative (Former Employee), Summerville, SCDecember 22, 2013
Cons: horrible management team
The whole organization need improvement. Not a friendly place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workflow
HIM Document Imaging Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 18, 2013
Pros: knowledge about him/ medical records
Cons: management/ teamwork/ knowledgable staff abot job duties
the current location- was a pleasure to encounter. its a department with no experience. Management changed 4 time in the 3years I was there. The department needs structure. overall the work and facilities was wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to gain experience on various levels
Cardiology Coder (Current Employee), Augusta, GADecember 11, 2013
Once your routine is maintained skies is the limit. A typical day consists of pulling demographics, verifying insurance, pulling reports, coding, and then entering charges. My coworkers were great it was a team player environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management and co-workers
Accounts Receivable, Customer Service (Current Employee), Norcross, GADecember 2, 2013
The fellow employees were great, there was just too much stress.

About HCA

About HCA HCA (Hospital Corporation of America) operates more than 160 acute care, psychiatric, and rehabilitation hospitals – Read more