Find companies:
HCA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
409 reviews

HCA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Medicaid Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 18, 2014
Pros: got to nhelp people when they needed it most
Cons: telling someone no you can't help them
working back up report and collecting payment from Medicaid

what is covered on Medicaid and Medicare, Coordination of benefits

management had open door policy

great co workers

telling a patient that something was not covered

helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Data Analyst (Current Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 11, 2014
Pros: flexibility
HCA is a great place to work. The working conditions are comfortable and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. Everyone gets along well with each other. I enjoy the work that I do as it offers many opportunities to learn more and presents a challenge on a regular basis. HCA takes the time to show appreciation to their employees as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs I ever had
Correspondence Specialist (Former Employee), Brentwood, TNAugust 11, 2014
Pros: cash giveaways, benefits, respect and recognition
Cons: huge corporation
Wonderful team atmosphere. Great management. Everyone was very easy to contact and talk to. Very helpful coworkers. Upper management recognizes and rewards talent. Quiet environment. Reasonable work production goals. Learned Preparation, Indexing and Routing for Refunds, EOBs, ADRs, EDI, EFTs, Provider Enrollment, Customer Concerns, and Correspondence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cares more about profit than the employees
Registered Vascular Technologist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 31, 2014
HCA is focused on the bottom dollar and not there employees. The benefits are marginal, the pay is at the bottom of the ladder and they treat the employees as nothing but a number.

Work to family life is not important as long as patients and studies are being completed to achieve the almighty dollar.

Management is very political and not personable. – more... They are not very approachable. Direct supervisors are lazy, expecting other employees to do the work and they get credit for all the hard work of the departments. Many direct supervisors are micromanaging and do not allow employees to do the jobs that they were hired at without looking over the shoulder of the employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Medical Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Norcross, GAJuly 27, 2014
Data entry and resolving medical billing issues.Management was supportive. Co-workers became family.Difficult part of job was making everyone happy.Enjoyed getting work resolved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Denver, COJuly 27, 2014
Review and process incoming invoices. Worked with vendors and associates to resolve discrepancies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vaules
Insurance Verification (Former Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLJuly 26, 2014
Pros: meeting cash goals
Cons: benefits
Company guidelines and goals. I have learned that the facilities are concerned regarding patient care and the financial concerns of the business. Management work as a team to assure that all employees are properly trained. The is no hard of the job, however the most challenging is to contact the patient and make payment arrangement for a procedure that – more... has not yet been completed. I enjoy working with providers and patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCA is company that is growing by leaps and bounds technology
Medical Scheduler (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 22, 2014
Pros: advanced technology to work with
Cons: constant changing department goals
A typical day at work is receiving incoming faxes from physician offices and inputting the orders in the system that prepares staff to call and schedule patients for radiology appointments

From this position, I learned a great deal about medical terminology and what it means

Management at HCA cares a great deal about their employees and strive to – more... promote leaders within their staff

My co-workers at HCA have become some of my closest friends and I still stay in contact with them still today

The hardest part of the job was to meet the goals that constantly changed

The most enjoyable part of the job is speaking with the different physician offices that sent orders in for scheduling – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital
Medical Technologist - Generalist (Former Employee), Brandon, FLJuly 22, 2014
Per Diem - Generalist medical technologist
Very challenging and busy workload
Enjoyable part of the job is getting to work all departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun, compeditive
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Irving, TXJuly 18, 2014
Great competitive place to work. This is all behind the scenes work. Collection of money from patients and or insurance companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The co-workers are great and the patients are awesome.
Medical Office Specialist (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 15, 2014
Pros: patients
Cons: 30 minute lunches, no career advancement, little or no raises at all.
The paitents come in to get registered to see the doctor. Most of our patients are very nice. Although the others do not like to wait to be called back to see the doctor. Since the irate sees the front desk first we do get blamed for everything. We just smile then apologize and reccomend to them to make another appointment if they decide not to wait – more... anymore.
The nurses and front desk persons work well together. There is nothing hard about this position. The most enjoyable part of this job is seeing the same patients over and over again. They become like family members to us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Senior Technical Analyst (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 10, 2014
It depends on where you are at on the totem pole, but there are a ton of advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Atmosphere without Micromanaging in the Workplace
Collections Specialist (Former Employee), Off of Lebanon Rd. in DonelsonJuly 8, 2014
Pros: learned a lot associated with the schoolwork i was working on.
Cons: healthcare management positions are extremely coveted and it's very competitive
The atmosphere of the place was amazing! Management always made it a point to brush us up on new rules involving collections in commercial plans and to advise us of any new changes we should be expecting that would affect our caseload. The people at the office were helpful and everyone really worked together as a team to accomplish any goal set before – more... them. I learned more about medical jargon, rules and regulations and insurance information than i could have ever dreamed. It was a great experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just doing the job till it get done
Material Handler (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 1, 2014
The job is ok not really difficult to learn and management are ok too because they give your own time as long your job is done in time,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful envirnoment to work in.
Hospitalist Site Coordinator (Current Employee), Webster, TXJuly 1, 2014
I really enjoy working at HCA. No matter what time of the day or night you can always expect to see a smiling face and a warm welcome to follow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract IT Project Manager
Project Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 24, 2014
Pros: rewards, team lunches
Cons: contracts frequently not renewed
Excellent work environment
Flex time, telecommuting offered
Ample education & training offered
Team oriented co-workers
Day consisted of meetings, scheduling, documentation storage and management
Scheduling conflicts were the most difficult
Fun work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment and production atmosphere
Collection Specialist (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJune 16, 2014
Pros: getting bonuses every 3 months
Cons: 30 minutes lunch breaks
I really don't like the production environment but because I needed a job I've been there 5.5 years. I have learn to endure what I really don't like which has helped me to grow and obtain skills in Collections. A typical work day at HCA is being able to make your quota each day and to make sure your doing your best to obtain information needed for the – more... processing of the health claim. The most enjoyable is being at peace with myself knowing that finally I have learned how to endure when I thought I couldn't. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE WORK ENVIRONMENT
Collector (Former Employee), RICHMOND SERVICES CTR BEAUFONT SPRINGS DRJune 14, 2014
Pros: close driving distance (20 minutes)
WORKED DAILY POOLS AND VETERANS ADMINISTRATION SPREADSHEETS IN ADDIITON TO 120+ AGED REPORTS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great staff
Internship (Current Employee), Portsmouth, NHJune 13, 2014
CON: Major organizational restructuring. Major layoff without notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company was a very fun & interesting company to work for. I enjoyed it very much.
Document Tech II (Former Employee), Richmond, VaJune 13, 2014
Pros: it was a great place to work & i like the hours on friday
Cons: break too short
I came to this company as a temp. I became hired on within 3 months which was great. I learned at this company of the 5 1/2 years there about data scanning, prepping of documents, researching & assisting in the mail department to mail large qualities of materials to schools & students. Also did some special projects to aide my manager or supervisor – more... as needed. Also had the chance to even train new staff. – less

About HCA

About HCA HCA (Hospital Corporation of America) operates more than 160 acute care, psychiatric, and rehabilitation hospitals – Read more