Find companies:
HCR ManorCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
568 reviews

HCR ManorCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe working enviroment
Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: residents were easy to work with.
Cons: job was far from my home.
Loved working with my residents. Coworkers and supervisor were friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
STNA (Former Employee), Canton, OHOctober 22, 2014
hard work alot of fun great residents and nursing staff resolve issues quickly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co workers, iffy management
EVS (Current Employee), Gig Harbor, WAOctober 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Overall, working at ManorCare has been a great experience. Management moves pretty slowly but the co workers are great. Every day spent working here is always exciting and new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Dallastown,paOctober 20, 2014
sometimes they can be very unorganized, but overall its a great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Human Resources Director (Current Employee), Minot, NDOctober 18, 2014
The workers that are employed here are phenomenal. They're hard working individuals!! The downside to this place is that it's not very employee friendly from the corporate level perspective.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inpatient care at a SNF
Physical Therapy Assistant (Current Employee), Erie, PAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: not easy to be very efficient
I'm able to learn and appreciate the aspects of an impatient setting. I get a good hourly wage but I don't get consistent hours cause I am PRN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome therapists to work with
Physical Therapy Assistant (Former Employee), West Bloomfield Township, MIOctober 17, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: very stressful with productivity
The therapists I worked with were professional and the patients always came first..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful patients
LPN Supervisor (Former Employee), Hanahan, SCOctober 14, 2014
The patients made the day a joy to come to work
The faclilty was well kept
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not that great of a place
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAOctober 9, 2014
Pros: good manager
Cons: bad work rules which often forced employees to cut corners
I was a glorified waiter without any tips. We couldn't work past our assigned shifts, even though it was impossible to finish our duties within the allotted time.

All I did was clean and prep food. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the patients. The hardest part of the job was trying to get everything done on time.

My manager was very – more... kind though. My coworkers were not that motivated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people to work with
Nurse Liason (Former Employee), Toledo, OHOctober 8, 2014
I was the nurse liason responsible to driving business to our facility from the hospitals primarily and community. There was a lot of upheaval in management when I started so I did not get a traditional orientation. Basically had to train myself. I had periods with no direct supervisor and 2 different supervisors. My supervisor was seldom on site and – more... he/she had multiple locations. It was difficult to get direct support. There was very heavy pressure from facility administration to produce census and while I consistently performed well and met my performance budget, I did not feel supported. The other members of my marketing team in the facility were amazing and wee definitely the best part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a dedicated professional and patient advocate.
Speech Pathologist (Current Employee), Willoughby, OHOctober 7, 2014
Pros: helping others
Cons: the changes in the medical field as far as medicare etc.
I love what I do for a living. I evaluation and provide treatment to many different levels of impairments. I also provide emotional support and education to patients and their family members to help them understand the current level patient is at. I am a team player and have filled in as DOR at times of need to cover vacations etc. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job is being with and helping people to regain their independence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, lacking in leadership
Office Manager (Former Employee), WisconsinOctober 3, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling for leadership
Cons: leadership is more concerned about bringing in new referrals (money)
I have read reviews of others, and I would have to agree that Heartland/Manorcare is not a good company to work for. I asked for help and guidance for months. None was given until it was way too late. It is unrealistic to expect that one position can successfully handle business office management and HR management. My request fell on deaf ears, as the – more... company does not have a model for separate positions. I played catch up for previous Office Managers/HR who did not complete tasks, and therefore was set up to fail. These were tasks that I pointed out that if we don't get a handle on them, we will get in big trouble when audited. A healthcare facility should never have to scramble to implement processes just because an audit is on the radar. It is a blessing in disguise that I am no longer affiliated with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed, understaffed, mediocre compensation
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), IndianaOctober 2, 2014
Very little guidance from mgt unless they needed something from you. Concerns addressed with mgt were met with positive responses that were quickly forgotten when the conversation ended. Understaffed for size of territory covered. Tons of travel with low mileage reimbursement. Difficult to take earned vacations due to being understaffed. Poor on call – more... scheduling with not enough time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with patients daily
Rehabilitation Aide (Former Employee), Hanahan, SCOctober 1, 2014
Pros: clean atmosphere, enjoyable team of coworkers
Cons: unstable administrator, in most cases things were not kept confidential
working with patients to get them to and from therapy from there room to the therapy department, setting patients up so therapist can start immediately, helping patients get dressed/undress.assisting patients in toileting insuring proper transfers to each patients specific aliment. completing daily clerical task and well as meeting billable goals set – more... by the company. my manager was a pleasure to work with, one of the most professional coworkers i have ever worked with, i learned alot from her as far as professionalism. enjoyed being a part of the team of coworkers i worked with. the hardest part of my job was carrying out daily task that are based on completion of other coworkers jobs, unable to do some task because coworkers task were not completed first. the most enjoyable part of my job was seeing patients set goals and achieve or exceed those goals as they spent time in our facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leading nursing care facility
nurse (Current Employee), flSeptember 29, 2014
A working enviroment that encourage its staff to excell;dedicated staff that always work together to provide the best care possible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work there. ..
Nurse (Former Employee), Newark DESeptember 27, 2014
Newark DE . Turn over is huge. All do to poor management, when will corporate ever learn? With the right management, from District Manager down. Heartland Hospice could be top notch. Too bad for the patients they serve, and the employees that serve them. SAD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
registered nurse supervisor
3-11 Registered nurse supervisor (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 27, 2014
I worked 3-11. So as soon as I came in we were a little busy. The other RN's were great as far as questions or help. I learned how to work with a very mixed ethnic group. My manager was great with a open door policy. The hardest part was knowing that most of these patients were all alone. I enjoyed being in charge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced a new area in an admissions position
Admissions Director (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 25, 2014
Accepted a position as Admissions Director. Learned the approach of bringing in patients versus billing and collections. Felt it was not my cup of tea and returned to business office manager spot with prior company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to get fired for nothing work here #2
don (Former Employee), Green bay westSeptember 24, 2014
Cons: terrible place to work
I was also in a salaried position at manor care Green bay west. I was told also I was not working enough. I had made arrangements to work 8:30- 5:30 with the administrator at the beginning of my employment.Which is more than 8 hours daily. Many nights I was there until 6. I was also told I was not performing at their expectations. I never even received – more... basic orientation for hire, I was told I got an extensive orientation, which was with a women who was pregnant, she had no patience and I got maybe 4 hours total with her. I got very little orientation. This facility was also extremely dysfunctional, no organization and the administrator is just a terrible person. She lied about many situations concerning conversations we had so she would not look bad. I also consider it a favor that I did lose my job there and highly suggest if you are a nurse that you do not work at any Manor care. You will run your butt off, get no help or credit for all you do and then they will come up with a reason to fire you if you are not doing what they think is appropriate. Don't apply run, run away very fast!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energy consuming workplace.
Nurse aid (Former Employee), West Reading, PASeptember 23, 2014
Hardest Part of the Job Dealing with difficult patients.Some of co- workers were great, friendly ,fun, helpful and made my day much easier.

1 2 3 4 5

About HCR ManorCare

HCR ManorCare, Inc. is a leading provider of short-term post-acute and long-term care. We have a nationwide network of more than – Read more