Find companies:
HCR ManorCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
606 reviews

HCR ManorCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of work duties
Administration Services Assistant (Current Employee), Hazel Crest, ILDecember 15, 2014
Pros: close relationship with employees and residents
Cons: n/a
Guest Services: answer guest related questions; provide information on upcoming event in the facility. Provide facility tours, answer and transfer phones.
Administration: directly assist HR coordinator and Executive Director. File documents, receive admission payments, and organize materials. Record cost and materials used by the facility.
HR Assistance: – more... Process Background checks for employees, Assist with employee in-service training. Assist HR coordinator with schedule set up for employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRN
PRN (Current Employee), Tamarac, FLDecember 15, 2014
Good cultural enviornment, I float between multiple buildings and I like all the buildings I float to
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Easton, PADecember 15, 2014
ran with structure and order, they follow state regs although the pay is not the greatest over time always available management not afraid to help out when short
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
CNA (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJDecember 14, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing my residents happy and knowing I've completed my job the right way. Most people don't have an effort in enjoying their time while making the money, but I take pride in what I do because I have a good heart and I am a caring person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer driven
License Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Anderson, INDecember 12, 2014
a typical day at work is fun and enjoyable. I have learned many thing in the nursing realm, I have learn different techniques needing to prefer my job properly and efficiently. Management is well verse, educated, and skilled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for experience for new grads
LPN supervisor (Current Employee), Pottstown, PADecember 11, 2014
Pros: team members, no supervision :)
Cons: everything else
After that, RUN as fast as you can! Do not pass go. Do not collect $200. Oh wait. You won't anyway. There's NO appreciation here at all. Staff appreciation day consists of a crock pot full of frozen meatballs and a bagged salad dumped in a bowl. GET BACK TO WORK! They just keep dumping on the staff. There is no supervision, no support. Management pees – more... down your back and tells you it's raining. Corporate is full aware and the goings on continue. Awful. Awful. Awful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work
Occupational Therapist (Former Employee), Fond du Lac, WIDecember 8, 2014
Pros: free "basics" continuing education online
Cons: no paid continuing education, don't value certification with continuing education
Manor Care was a good place to work at up until the recent department changes with the DOR and PT leaving. Management insisted they wouldn't hire the first applicant for the DOR role, but did & the therapy department greatly suffered.

I enjoyed going to work daily until the changes. Manor Care does not show value in certification with continuing education – more... & usually won't pay for outside courses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Help- LPN
LPN (Former Employee), Springfield, MODecember 6, 2014
Pros: other nursing staff friendships, interaction with residents and their families
Cons: lack of help, lack of management, lack of integrity from higher ups
From severe staffing shortages to lack of management help on the floor- I had to leave after fear of jeopardizing my license with the state, and my future as a nurse. I have heard that it has somewhat improved, but I learned a valuable lesson- leave when you feel or know your livelihood and career are a stake due to an unsafe work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to begin your career
Analyst (Former Employee), Toledo, OHDecember 6, 2014
Pros: work experience and upword mobility (if you qualify for the man's club)
Cons: inexperienced - unqualified managers
A great place to begin your career for career minded individuals seeking advancement. If you enjoy sports, exercise, and golf, you can advance quickly in the company, regardless of your education and experience.

The work environment is good, pay is good, and benefits are good as well. Typically a laid back atmosphere which can be fun at times, especially – more... during fund raising events for charity. The down side is having to deal with supervisors and managers without any supervisory or managerial skills or their area of expertise is un-related to the department and people they are managing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome health benefits but that's the only thing that is good!
Physical Therapist Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLDecember 5, 2014
Pros: patients
Cons: management
The patients are awesome at this facility but the management is no good, if they don't like you they will figure out a way to push you out or tear down your reputation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
CNA (Former Employee), Oak Lawn, ILDecember 4, 2014
Pros: patients
Cons: rude staff, uncaring coworkers, horrible management and expierences
I was a new CNA barely eighteen at the time. I came in with a love for people and left reconsidering the entire medical field. Horrible work enviroment and staff. I was constantly covering an entire wing because other CNAs would hide in patient rooms and were never reprimanded. I was constantly attacked by older CNAs with them trying to act superior – more... to me not acknowledging that we have the exact same pay and position. I did report this to management...nothing was done. Overall horrid expierence – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Nurse (Former Employee), columbus, ohioDecember 4, 2014
Pros: staff that did show up to work
Cons: upper management, residents
Do not work here! Terrible management, puts all responsibilities on nurses and stnas. DON cannot make appropriate decisions about patient care or staffing the place properly. The building is hideous, bugs everywhere! No supplies, and residents and their famalies are allowed to threaten employees freely. Do not apply at this place, it is terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun day
Rehabilitation Technician (Former Employee), Dublin, VADecember 3, 2014
The environment was really uplifting and laid-back. The patients were the best part of my day because everyday was a surprise, I never knew what to expect. Also my co-workers were amazing too, they provided me with so much knowledge about the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the corporate office review
Benefits Administrator (Former Employee), Toledo, OHDecember 2, 2014
it's a good fit for those who want to find a monotone job and do the same work for years, at the same level. very little flexibility and potential for advancement and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run as fast as you can
Health Care Provider (Former Employee), Easton, PANovember 29, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: management, unprofessional employees, poorly educated staff
HCR is not a place you want to work or have your loved ones. Poor staffing, lack of skill and experience. Equipment doesn't work. The DON and Administrator have dictator styles of managing. They interfere with physicians decisions wanting to send their sick residents to the hospital thinking they are like a hospital. Staff always are fearful of their – more... jobs. Serious patient care issues are covered up to protect their own personal interests. If you like your certificate, license and pride look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work experience.
CNA (Former Employee), WV, OHNovember 24, 2014
I have worked for this company in two separate states, as a CNA. BOTH were bad experiences. In the first facility, they were on the local news, and on attorney commercials for neglect/abuse. I've been personally contacted by private investigators to act as a witness against the facility in atleast two separate wrongful death lawsuits. I was also recently – more... awarded a settlement in a class action lawsuit where nursing staff were continuously mandated to work 16 hr shifts. In the second facility, the CNA wage was the lowest paying hourly wage in the area, paying $3 less than the competitive wage. The work load was heavy, teamwork was not enforced, and in both facilities it was beneath most LPN's and RN's to answer call lights. Nurses would either be sitting at the station talking, or even standing right beside the light in the hallway on their cellphone and wouldn't even look in the room to make sure the patient was ok.. If the CNA was busy, patients had to wait up to 30 mins for the need to be met due to nurses not helping answer lights. There were also a lot of foreign nursing staff, which made a huge communication barrier between staff-coworkers and staff-residents. I would NOT recommend this company as a good employer to work for or a safe environment to place a loved one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience workig in Long Term Care -
Consultant Dietitian (Former Employee), Arlinton TexasNovember 21, 2014
Pros: job flexibility, good benefits
Cons: maintaining compliance in each facility
Oversee foodservice operations for each facility to ensure compliance with company and state regulations. Worked with a great management team that allowed flexibility with job. Hardest part of position was maintaining staffing for facilities and having to retain staff. Enjoyed working with the elderly and a wide variety of healthcare professionals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place will work you very hard as a CNA or Nurse
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Sewell, NJNovember 17, 2014
Not enough CNA's to give quality care to the resident's. THe work load is heavy with many debilitated resident's to care for. Other CNA's will be outside smoking when you are looking for their help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team atmosphere in therapy dept
Physical Therapist (Current Employee), Palos Heights, ILNovember 12, 2014
Therapy dept. is a lot of fun to work in, many knowledgeable team members to bounce ideas off of and work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Dedicated social worker/discharge planner for unit (Former Employee), Webster, TXNovember 11, 2014
Pros: free food on special occasions.
Cons: some days turn out to be too long.
Admission coordinator, interview client and family members. Ensure clients needs are met. Schedule discharge planning for the client which includes nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, and equipment needs. Schedule dental and other appointment needs for long term clients. I learned how to admit and interview clients and family – more... members, discharge planning, and scheduling dental and other appointment needs for long term clients. The management and co-workers are fun work with. The hardest part of the job is dealing with unruly clients as well as family members. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping with the healing process of the acute care patients as well as helping those cope with long term illness. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About HCR ManorCare

HCR ManorCare, Inc. is a leading provider of short-term post-acute and long-term care. We have a nationwide network of more than – Read more