Find companies:
HCR ManorCare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
528 reviews

HCR ManorCare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learn something new everyday
RN Nurse Supervisor (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 27, 2014
I enjoy the company I work for because I am able to learn something new on a daily basis. If I am unsure of a situation management is there to help me. It is not a company that is out for themselves and they really do care about the patients. My peers are team players and are always willing to help out if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and warm work enviornment
LPN Supervisor (Current Employee), Jersey Shore, PAAugust 23, 2014
Pros: love working with the elderly
Cons: short-staffed
My day is usually very busy. Med passes, treatments, charting, admissions and discharges. I've learned a lot at this job. I love most of my co-workers. The hardest part of the job is losing people you've become close to. The best part are the relationships you build with residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
NURSE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Decatur, GAAugust 20, 2014
I think that management could do an better job at talking with the employee more to see how our job is going............
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the patients is rewarding
Resident Care Aide (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 16, 2014
Good place to work .Love working with the residents .Great employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Resident Caregiver (Current Employee), Bingham Farms, MIAugust 15, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job are the residents that you care for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Care Partner (Former Employee), Chagrin Falls OHAugust 13, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: the whole place consequences
They get no stars from me.... Management is rude and only care about the money they don't care about the residents trust me I know I worked there I had to leave that place seeing what was going on there was absolutely horrible.. And the namaste hall is a joke its a waste of your money its a way for management to smuggle more money out of your pockets – more... for NOTHING!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start off
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Fort Myers, FLAugust 11, 2014
Pros: weekend off
Cons: team work
They give me my first break once i got my cna license. Its a ok job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job sucked the life out of me
Activity Director - Activity Assistant (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAAugust 8, 2014
I really enjoyed this job, initially. I was hired as an assistant to the activity director and six months after I started the activity director groomed me and left me in charge while she was absent on maternity leave for three months. Three months went by and she never came back. The Administrator finally offered me the job, but he completely low balled – more... my worth. He didn't even look at my resume which included my BAS degree. During the "interview" for the job I had already been doing for the past 6 months @ a measly $14 an hour as the Interim Activity Director, with 4 assistants below me, he told me they were willing to pay me $16 an hour bc I didn't have a degree. I told him he obviously didn't look at my resume. He also said that they were making the position salary as I was costing them too much hourly. Unbelievable. I worked for another 6 months bc I cared about my co-workers and the residents, but it is honestly the worst company I have ever worked for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Nursing Staff is a cut above the rest.
Registered Nurse Supervisor (Sub-Acute/Rehab) (Former Employee), Pewaukee, WIAugust 7, 2014
I enjoyed the day to day challenges that a sub-acute rehabilitation unit provided. As new nurse I learned a great deal, so much that there is not enough space to go into the specifics. My co-workers and I worked well together, where one was weak in one area another was strong. The CNAs there are also excellent. I enjoyed seeing a client come in nervous – more... and scared with the idea that they were in a "nursing home", after an evening with me they were all smiles and understanding that this is just a step towards regaining their independence. I enjoyed educating clients on health maintenance and taking control of their health. The hardest part was seeing people that clearly needed more time within the facility but their was nothing that could be done to lengthen their stay to ensure that they would not be a readmit for the same problem, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable part of a day
Certified Nurse Aide (Former Employee), sewell njAugust 1, 2014
the most enjoyable part of my job is when I get to help my patients. I love helping people weather its cleaning them or feeding them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Allentown, PAJuly 31, 2014
Hcr is a great place to work.I gained a lot of experiences by working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT WORTH IT!
CNA (Former Employee), Battle CreekJuly 30, 2014
Pros: 30 min lunch maybe
Cons: patients
I worked for them for 8 months and in that time I'd never encountered so many unregulated, angry residents. They would do anything they could to hurt staff and management didn't care. Pay was never right, you never got time off, they hounded you at home for other shifts, never enough floor staff, patients were not bathed enough, and doctors were constantly – more... deregulating their patients for 2 weeks to see if they still needed their meds! It was a mad house and the female CNA staff were always getting hurt. Honestly if I could've given a lower rating I would – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newly opened Nursing Home
State Tested Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Parma, OHJuly 29, 2014
This place was only a couple of months old when i started working here. They were still in the process of working out all the kinks. Highly unorganized. However, I made the best of my day to day work assignments and enjoyed spending time with the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to begin my nursing career
RN, Nurse Supervisor (Current Employee), Oak Lawn, ILJuly 28, 2014
I learned time management and prioritization while working at HCR Manor Care as a new graduate nurse. My co workers aided in my learning and expanding my nursing knowledge by being supportive and available to answer any questions that I might have had. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with supportive, hard working people to ensure optimal – more... patient outcomes. The hardest part of the job is managing time to complete all work accurately and efficiently. Overall, I enjoyed working here as a new graduate nurse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Primary rehab and long term care center
Registered Nurse Supervisor (Current Employee), Boulder, COJuly 25, 2014
Pros: primary choice for rehab in area, job security
Cons: minimal raise percentage
Manor Care is one of the primary skilled rehab and long term care nursing facilities in the Front Range Area.
Typical day: very busy with charge nurse duties, multiple admits and discharges, coordinating with daily MD visits
Management: periodically assigns preferred schedules and shifts to less qualified workers to balance budget
Coworkers: almost – more... all amazing, hardworking, committed to care
Hardest part: Periodic staffing shortages
Most enjoyable: working with patients and families – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
CNA (Current Employee), Olympia, WAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: the staff does work well together.
Cons: we more often than not, do not get our breaks, and no apperication by managment.
The nursing staff, is overworked. The Cna's are ran ragged and thus, why we have a almost 100% turn over rate. Training, is a joke and the Cna's go through a baptism by fire of sorts. The cna's are made to feel like we are just a number . They continually accept Patients that we are not capable of caring for properly. The Management staff is not approachable – more... when there is a problem. They refuse to accept any responsibility for the problems that need to be addressed and turn the blame on the employees. We were told if we don't like it, we can leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK HERE
RN Supervisor (Former Employee), Allentown, PAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: desert tray during lunch at orientation
Cons: so many i cant list them
I took this job because I had been unemployed from a prior lay off and really needed the job. I walked face first into a mismanaged frying pan, of non-stop disasters, mistakes, harassment and bullying. I have the right goal and the right intentions and plenty of experience. The inept nursing staff that continues to be employed has purposely forced me – more... out of a job. The incompetence of staff in this locations is unreal. Its been 4 weeks and I'm just about done. I drive to work with a feeling of impending doom, and leave work with an urge to step on the gas and never return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCR Manor Care
COTA/L (Current Employee), Kingsford, MIJuly 16, 2014
Great company to work for the weather is to strange. To cold in the winter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Director of Nursing Services (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 16, 2014
Pros: residents, familes, co workers
Always busy , loved my job , my employees and my residents, worked very hard, very rewarding career with Hcr
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AVOID
Social Worker (Former Employee), ColoradoJuly 15, 2014
Pros

- Pay is decent for a starting social worker, but is not competitive after experience and time have progressed.
- Interdisciplinary team works well together

Cons

- Horrible benefits and PTO
- Long hours, but you're salaried and considered a "manager" so you don't get any additional pay for all the hours you work
- Terrible work/life balance – more... -- you will be called or get texts on your days off to manage issues
- Merit increases are laughable and nearly non-existent
- Incredibly stressful environment
- Corporate is intrusive and disconnected from actual care
- Money-focused instead of patient-focused – less

1 2 3 4 5

About HCR ManorCare

HCR ManorCare, Inc. is a leading provider of short-term post-acute and long-term care. We have a nationwide network of more than – Read more