HP Employee Reviews

Found 3,808 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HP is attempting to remain profitable
Product Delivery Manager/Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  West Jordan, UTJune 21, 2017
HP has good benefits and there are a lot of opportunity. They have frequent and large reductions in their workforce. You can be swept up in one without notice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Sr. Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boise IdJune 21, 2017
it was difficult to get a team environment as only 1% of our team was in the same location. Management was always monitoring if you were online or not Always felt that I never worked enough even though my average day was at a minimum of 12 hours a day.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work
operator (Former Employee) –  Rancho Bernardo, CAJune 21, 2017
I loved working at hewlett packard, great team work great leadership, although i reached the end of my contract and as per the re hire guidelines, i must take a 100 day off period in order to re hire in which they wanted me back but i was hired for an opportunity with MX Manufacturing, so took new job in hopes for long term permanent hire
Pros
great team
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When I was there it was great for a long time
Process Development Technician (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORJune 21, 2017
You know jobs can be great for a long time... and then things change. That is how HP was.

The old HP way was great, then they needed to cut because of bad planing and leadership. If the leadership left they got a lot of bailout money.
The rest was not so lucky.

When things are moving good you can grow and learn so much because the other people there are tops. But if they are cutting and moving stuff around, you may find a lot of bad there for a time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 21, 2017
the workplace was very social yet busy. every shift was available. they also give 3 breaks thru out the day that benifical to staying busy thru the work day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Alliance Manager / Order Book Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2017
Good company with effective management. Industry and market forced industry consolidations and layoffs. Pay above average and employees able to achieve work life balance.
Pros
Lack of career advancements
Cons
Layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work-from-home role providing disciplined, high-level coordination with multiple business entities
Software Escalation Manager (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJune 20, 2017
Typically, I would start between 5am and 7am depending on which part of the Globe I would be servicing. Starting with conference calls and ending the day with summaries of progress and action items sent to my 4-6 customers and my HP counterparts.

I learned time-management, home/work life discipline, and the ability to distill hard technical jargon into C-class explanations.

The culture was relaxed, yet somewhat metrics-driven; personable and cooperative.

The hardest part of my job was to quickly learn who, where and in what role the primary players of each Escalated Software Incident were on each side of the team.

The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing a critical software incident through from start (often full collapse and monetary costs) to completion and successful deployment of HP software in high-profile, Global companies.
Pros
Self-management, home office, flexible hours
Cons
"Home Office Syndrome"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HP Life
SERVICES ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 20, 2017
HP was a great company that had to change it's focus in order to be more nimble and agile in the ever changing IT world. HP made great products and it was wonderful to have a full portfolio - however I understand the decision to split the company into two and I hope it will allow both HPE and HPI to be successful.
Pros
Strong portfolio line
Cons
Lengthy processes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Ok
IT Developer/Engineer (Quality Assurance Tester) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2017
HP at this time is just ok. It seems that upper managment still has not figured out how to fix things with this company. I was only with them a year before being let go due to work force reduction. Hopefully one day they will get it together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much going wrong with the split from HPE
Material and Distribution (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2017
Very little chance of advancement. Their process for reviews is not conducive for advancement. They say that they dont have a fixed rating but you can not get a rating that you deserve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable expectations, good coworkers, challenging
Manager (Former Employee) –  Southborough, MAJune 19, 2017
Easy going. Busy. Cooperative. Collaborative. Good compensation. Challenging. Pleasant surroundings. Interesting work. Able to be involved extensively.
Pros
compensation
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Environment
Sales and Tax Analyst (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 19, 2017
Relax worked environment with a great manager that wasn't afraid to listen. The manager listened to all suggestions and trust his staff. He never second guessed anyone and gave them a chance to prove themselves without trying to be the know-it-all of the department.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turbulent place to work
Channel US Partner Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 19, 2017
HP is a turbulent place to work. They have changed their strategy often in the last 6 years and had so many layoffs. Their strategy to focus on hardware is misguided in my opinion.
Pros
Good work life balance, professional environment
Cons
Poor first line managers who don't care about their people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place with great history and culture of reinventing
Vice President and Fellow - HP Labs (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 19, 2017
Great opportunity to make a difference to HP. Built a a very good team that led innovation in key areas that will help HP going forward in Personal Systems, Print and 3D Print.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hp converting all employees to contract posiyions
Engineering Coordinator IV (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJune 19, 2017
No possibility for advancement as HP is cleaning house in all areas to save money and constant layoffs converting full time perm position to contract roles
Pros
Large and varied campus facilities
Cons
small work space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with some of the very best people in the industry
Global Product Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJune 19, 2017
You get a chance to work with some very talented peopled who want to do the right thing for our clients however working in an environment that is very tough financially and now merged with CSC to become new company that must be very confusing for our clients.
Pros
Hardworking
Cons
Tight financially
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard big company employer.
SENIOR SOFTWARE ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJune 19, 2017
Overall a good place to work if you are o.k. with big companies.
Outsourcing and WFR's are issues, but day to day life working on a project is acceptable.
Pros
Big company benefits.
Cons
More acquisitions than in house development lately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asset Room Manager
Asset Room Manager - (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIJune 19, 2017
Assist managing and storage of IT equipment. Repaired IT equipment when required and also gave out loaner laptops to company employees when their laptop was being repaired by the companies onsite IT support technicians.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture, poor job security.
Enterprise Software Consultant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 18, 2017
Great collaborative culture, opportunities to grow skills and learn. Exec management very short-sighted and quarterly-focused very often laying off large organizations in a peanut-butter spread fashion to meet expectations on the Street. Nice logo for the resume but get in and get out before the next CEO comes in and takes out the peanut butter knife.
Pros
Brand name and collaborative work environment.
Cons
Myopic focus at exec level with no strategic vision for bringing the company into the current day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hp
Senior Service Manger (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXJune 17, 2017
It is a very busy location with most employees working in silos so it was challenging to work on an Enterprise project . Lots of project management involved.
Pros
Great Company
Cons
Not Enterprise oriented.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 8,036 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9