Find companies:
HSBC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,244 reviews

HSBC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), NYDecember 17, 2014
Pros: holiday pay
Cons: everything else
The worst job I've ever had. The worst management team I've ever experienced. When it is expressed in the 2 week training program that you must be prepared to be independent, they mean it. You must figure out everything for yourself, and if your management team makes a mistake, you must be prepared to take responsibility for that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for finance field career development
Compliance Intern (Former Employee), Zhengzhou, ChinaDecember 16, 2014
Pros: good opportunity to use finance knowledge
Cons: nothing
I Updated the company’s intranet with the most current government regulations to ensure HSBC complies with local regulations. Researched return on equity, debt to equity and other financial analysis in support of a decision making process for a potential investment in a Chinese public coal mine company. Calculated ratios to determine the company health – more... (e.g. quick ratios and solvency ratios); resulted in the Director deeming that the company was not a good investment for HSBC at that time.

Both my direct supervisor and branch manager are willing to hear my voice. I can also talk to my co-workers and ask them for help. The hardest part of the job is to decide the benchmark for ratios. The most enjoyble part of the job is to know different potential investment for different companies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best job I've ever had
Research Analyst (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VADecember 15, 2014
Pros: top time, benefits, hour lunches
Cons: company went over seas
It kept me busy I loved my job and my co workers, the pay was great the vacation time and benefits were even better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely the best place I ever worked.
Unit Manager (Former Employee), Pomona, CADecember 11, 2014
Pros: pay, environment
Cons: closing location
Very busy and productive. Great family type environment. Management was always very open and honest. Enjoyed working with the great people here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch Life can be very STRESSFUL!!
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 9, 2014
Management at HSBC can be very hard to work with.
constant fear of discipline and only being praised when you have made a successful referral.
co-workers make your life bearable while working under these conditions.

You will be praised if you make a sale and held as an example if you continue to do so, constant comparison between workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Good Place to Work
Senior Customer Service Rep/Head Teller (Former Employee), 4201 Ave D Brooklyn NYDecember 5, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: h/r, management and upper management is very unsupportive will fire you in a heart beat
Work culture, ethics, and mannerism and professionalism with managers and upper management was a nightmare to be apart of, it was the worst experience I ever had there at this previous location
H/R, can not do much for subordinates and Management and Upper Management is very Unsupportive will fire you in a heart beat, they will even lie to terminate – more... you and then cover it up between themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Company
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Tampa, FLDecember 5, 2014
Excellent place to work.
Great place for growth and international opportunities.
Ability to work with international clients and business partners.
Ability to travel to various offices world wide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with good management team
Real Estate Owned Dept. Closing Coordinator (Former Employee), Pomona, CADecember 5, 2014
Pros: great alternative work schedule
Great place for my first job out of school. Learned a lot and many opportunities to learn different aspects of the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for HSBC
UNDERWRITER/MORTGAGE ORIGINATIONS SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYDecember 2, 2014
Pros: decent work environment
Cons: the winter drive
Hours 8-5, M-F. Management was decent to work for. Enjoyed working with my co-workers. Learned a lot about how to calc income for self-employed and rental income. Hardest part was calculating S-corp and Incorporated tax returns. Most enjoyable was interaction with internal and external customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections environment
Universal Unit Manager (Former Employee), New Castle, DEDecember 2, 2014
Pros: cash bonus incentives
Cons: challenging monthly quoted requirements
Collections/Customer Service Managed a staff of 11 with the flexibility to utilize both skill sets of Collections and Care (customer service) functions. It is very essential to keep abreast with policies and procedures updates. Upper management is always visible and available to the employees with opened door policy. Peers always assist with any additional – more... work responsibilities and collaboration on any special assignments. The challenging part of the job is keeping up with the fast-paced production by setting new goals and techniques to overcome and managed the environment. The enjoyable part of the job is motivating the team to performed to the best of their ability to achieved their personal and department goals and rewards and recognitions are displayed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst
Vice President - Retail Banking (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLDecember 1, 2014
This bank is the worst place to work for. They allow A hostile work environment and Harassment in all ways. Even their culture says speak up, when you do it they take retaliation against the employee who sets up a claim and employee ends up loosing the Job.
Management the most unprofessional I have ever experienced in my life.
I would never recommend – more... anybody to work at HSBC Bank – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Business Analyst Risk & Controls (Current Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 30, 2014
This is a company that focuses on career development and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Human Resourcing Recruiting Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 20, 2014
Pros: great work space
Cons: short breaks
Great workplace great people to work for. International company. HQ in China and UK. Great workplace great people to work for. International company. HQ in China and UK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company over all
Team Lead/Sr. Risk Representative (Former Employee), chesapeake, vaNovember 20, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: job security
I worked here for 4 years until capital one took over. Great place for work life balance along with bonuses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC was born from one simple idea – a local bank serving international needs
KYC Analyst (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 19, 2014
HSBC has weathered change in all forms – revolutions, economic crises, new technologies – and adapted to survive. The resulting corporate character enables HSBC to meet the challenges of the 21st century.
A glance at our history explains why we believe in capital strength, in strict cost control and in building long-term relationships with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and productive work enviornment
Front End Collections Representative (Former Employee), Brandon, FLNovember 18, 2014
A typical day at HSBC included making outbound calls to delinquent customers. I learned a lot everyday about mortgage terminology and key knowledge that I'll one day need when I have a mortgage. I was under the same manager my entire year of working there and I could see that she took pride in her position and valued her team. My teammates and I grew – more... close as well always helping one another if there was an issue we were stuck on. It taught me to see things in different views. The hardest part of my job is when I was unable to assist my customer in bringing a resolution to their account. Some customers were simply unable while some did not want to take the time. The most enjoyable part of my position was being able to help those that thought they had run out of options. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee), New YorkNovember 18, 2014
Outdated computer systems.
Processes are cumbersome and almsot don't make good financial sense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, management is not qualified
Branch Relationship Banker (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 17, 2014
Pros: co-workers, culture
Cons: management, sales goals
A typical day at the branch is similar to any other bank. A lot of outbound calls to customers and as much interaction with customers as walk-in business allows. From my experience branch managers are not qualified to lead the staff of the branch and this is most evident around the time when sales goals reviews are done. Instead of inspiring their team – more... into better performance, branch managers usually just act as drill sergeants expecting to get better results. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largely ineffective and discriminatory
SVP, Equity Structured Products Trading (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 15, 2014
From the capital markets side, HSBC is bottom quartile and deserves its place. Low pay, barely market standard benefits and, worst of all, entirely dysfunctional with a total lack of controls or rigor. But the real kicker is the unspoken culture of discrimination against non-French employees. Every reduction in headcount in 2009-2013 was American, replaced – more... (with an expensive relocation package) by a french contract. Avoid at all costs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 15, 2014
Pros: great team
Cons: busy branch, not so much training
The most enjoyable part of job was getting to learn different banking principles and gain banking knowledge, had great coworkers.

1 2 3 4 5

About HSBC

HSBC was set up in Hong Kong and Shanghai in 1865 to finance trade between China and Europe, with an office opening in London – Read more