Find companies:
HSBC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,881 reviews

HSBC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was indoors all the time
Account Executive (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: bad conditions
I was not a happy camper here, although I made the most of it. I did enjoy following through with loan applications and working with many of the clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorry to go
Claims (temp) (Former Employee), New Castle, DEJuly 18, 2014
I was only employed here temporarily but was a happy worker. No problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement, yet strict work culture
Account Manager, Commercial Real Estate (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 16, 2014
HSBC facilitated my foray into the financial industry, having studied business management in school.

Starting as a Customer Service Representative, I worked my way through to an Account Management position with support from superiors all the way through.

Having transitioned from a smaller, local branch, to the main downtown branch, work culture shifted – more... from a more relaxed, open culture, to a very political, closed culture.

This made it difficult to continue in this environment, as superiors were not open to new ideas and led with a tight fist.

Although the company as a whole is a great place to work given the international work opportunities, the right mentorship, leadership and management I feel needs greater improvement to encourage younger employees to thrive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work for at times
Mortgage Service Specialist (Current Employee), Elmhurst, ILJuly 16, 2014
Pros: on the job activites
Cons: excessive shift changes
stressful job but overall the best workplace that I've worked for thus far,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC
HSBC Alternative Fund Services (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 15, 2014
I worked for HSBC and the business line was shut down. This was not surprising to me as the management team was incompetent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Collections Representative (Former Employee), New Castle, DEJuly 15, 2014
It's a good company with Good benefits and a great opportunity to learn to relate to customers and multitask.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my productive was great
Data Entry Operator/Sr Judge Decision Coo (Corp) (Current Employee), Elmhurst, ILJuly 14, 2014
Pros: we get good raise
Cons: have free gym
data entry enter approved and decline applicaton and open mail and filing love my manager
love co-worker
nothing hard about the job
I just love people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cash flow
Project Manager (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJuly 13, 2014
it was fast paced but foreseeable work environment
management was not as involved with reviewing employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
NA - AVP Mortgage Operations Closing Mgr (Current Employee), Depew, NYJuly 11, 2014
Great Company, Great Teamwork and Wonderful Managers. I started working for them when the Company was still Marine Midland in 1995. I left to learn the Mortgage Business when offered a position with Bank of America.
I was a rehire in 2005 when Timberlink offered me a position in the Title Clearance Dept and Closing. When the office closed, I was then – more... offered a position with Hsbc Mortgage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company had excellent benefits, and room for advancement, and pay was good.
Senior Dispute Representative (Former Employee), Salinas, CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: cafeteria in the building/excellent benefits and pay.
Cons: job description was forcibly changed on all of the workers, which made the position really difficult.
A typical day would be to process charge backs for cardholders; resolve disputes in a timely manner, and provide excellent customer service. While working at HSBC, it taught me how to really provide quality customer service, and how it really makes each interaction with the customer become a pleasant one. The co-workers were really nice, and they taught – more... me a lot when I first started. The hardest part of the job was honestly, dealing with irate customers. All of us had to learn how to diffuse the situation with patience and grace. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to learn new techniques and skills, and the wonderful benefits the company had to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Quality Assurance Representative (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJuly 9, 2014
great company. worked there for a long time. would work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cohesive team environment/supportive
Senior Consultant- Global Banking and Markets (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 7, 2014
Cons: i was not a permanent employee and could have added more value if hired in a suitable position
The most important aspect of my role as a consultant was learning various systems, developing a rapport with clients, and understanding the needs for internal and external clients for optimal business performance. It was very fast paced and under strict time constraints that worked out nicely for me because I work well under pressure. Also, the role – more... was very visible to management and a positive impact on the department and business was realized immediately due to engaging with other departments, colleagues, and understanding the infrastructure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worldwide Support
Capacity Planning Consultant (Former Employee), Prospect Heights, ILJuly 7, 2014
Working with employees all over the world, was fun and exciting.

There were no typical days, the nature of our work was in doing something nobody else had ever done before. There were the meetings with US based personnel, but generally that work was easy, and after putting all the reports in place, issues were easily found, and problems addressed.

The – more... hardest part of this job was having to be at work anytime within a 24 hour period (to work with other time zones), then having to work a Chicago shift. This lead to sleep issues, and not much energy left for the family (I was a single parent) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
British Bank that will not do what it needs to play in investment bank waters
Sr. Vice-President, Institutional Derivative Sales (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 3, 2014
not a lot of fun and only a few cronies got paid if you didn't have a contract. Contracts were the only way most would go there as I learned after I joined.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Assistant Vice President of FX Operations (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 1, 2014
Great at recognizing talent.
Reserved
Great at rebranding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Real Estate Owned Assistant -Business Development (Former Employee), Pomona, CaJune 30, 2014
Most recently, as an REO Assistant at HSBC, I conducted internal and external audits to ensure compliance is met within businesses practices. I built a professional relationship with external customers and focused on production and quality to ensure business results were achieved. I have a unique skill set that includes innate attention to detail, understanding – more... complex policies & procedures and excellent communication skills both written and verbal.

In my seven years of working at HSBC Bank, I have been striving to apply my skills to the organizations in which I have worked. HSBC Bank has built a reputation for quality of service it provides to its internal/external customers and vendors. My personal mission has been to exceed customer and vendor expectations internally and externally. I would like to bring my talents to your company. My ultimate career goal is to grow with a company that is passionate about what they do, works above and beyond for their clients, and is well known for their explicit services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Bank
Customer Care, Collections (Former Employee), Brandon, FLJune 29, 2014
Pros: good pay, 4 weeks off per year
Cons: odd scedules never saw the lay off coming
Typical day : manager did not engage, I did learn a lot about Mortgages , co-workers did not engage as team players ,made it stressful , I thought I had a secure job but 13 months later I got laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place to work
Cash Officer (Former Employee), CairoJune 28, 2014
Pros: good bonus for good employees
Cons: fully covered health insurance including eye care and dental
Daily vault and teller drawers balancing - daily cash dispenser operation - Validation and authorization of tellers transaction
I learned every thing about the cash department and an overview of the customer service
My Co-workers were helpful and funny
The hardest part was the risk of holding the main vault keys
The most enjoyable part is the trip that – more... the bank used to do every year and it was usually to Europe and employees have to pay only 50% – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Very Helpful, Co-workers made working environment enjoyable
Collections Specialist III (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAJune 27, 2014
Working environment was wonderful, management was helpful, salary was very competitive, job security and benefits were top notch!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the company the people i used to work we were like family
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 25, 2014
Pros: they used to give us free stuff like lcds computers, etc
Cons: love the breaks too
a typical work was helping customers ,the management team were humans they help u a lot miss those people

1 2 3 4 5

About HSBC

HSBC Bank Canada is a banking and financial services company. It has three segments: Personal Financial Services, Commercial Banking – Read more