Find companies:
Habitat For Humanity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
407 reviews

Habitat For Humanity Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Service
Installer (Former Employee), Modest, CaliforniaJuly 18, 2014
Normal day included showing up to the house site at 8 and proceeding to do status check of what needed to be accomlished in the next phase of development. Had to manage time against the schedule of house comleyton for residents to take occupancy of home.

The hardest part of the Job was learning how to structurally build a home from the foundation to – more... it's framing. Although I am technical, building a home in a matter of weeks to present a livable environment for a family was a great learning curve for myself.

The most enjoyable time would be presenting the family with the key to the front door. Knowing that my hands had built a shelter for individuals to live was its own reward. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Volunteer (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLJuly 18, 2014
Pros: helping people
Cons: get very dirty
It was a wonderful place to work i help people with no homes out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work with new friends.
Volunteer Work (Current Employee), Ogden, UTJuly 16, 2014
Pros: helping my community.
I meet with with the community in Ogden. We organize and open a new store. I've learned that there are many people in the Ogden area who are in need of help which I am happy to be a part of. The coordinators are very nice and take tasks one at a time. I have been fortunate to work with many different types of people also doing volunteer work. Working – more... in the heat when we are walking the streets looking for the homeless to do outreach. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people and knowing I am helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment painting houses
volunteer (Former Employee), RiversideJuly 15, 2014
a good place to help people
always appreciate our efforts
hard working place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
cashier (Current Employee), Gastonia NCJuly 15, 2014
Cons: no healthcare
Enjoyed my time here and would not be leaving if not for moving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Habitat is dedicated to people
Volunteer (Former Employee), RIJuly 15, 2014
The people involved are so dedicated to helping others afford housing which is why the organization works so well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office staff
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Gulfport, MSJuly 14, 2014
Pros: i like working with people
Cons: n/a
Communicate with customers, employees, and other individuals to answer questions, disseminate or explain information, take orders and address complaints.
Answer telephones, direct calls and take messages.
Complete and mail bills, contracts, or checks
Operate office machines, such as photocopiers and scanners, fax, voice mail systems and personal computers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Student Helper (Former Employee), union county,ncJuly 9, 2014
It was a great atmosphere helping others. it was a great deal of hard work but it was a great feeling once the building was done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm fuzzy feeling, low reward
Donations Coordinator (Former Employee), Garden Grove, CAJuly 8, 2014
While rewarding emotionally, employees were often treated poorly and much was demanded for minimal appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had fun, helped the community
Member (Former Employee), Valdosta, Alpharett, Athens and Cumming GaJuly 8, 2014
Pros: helped the community, earned extra credit in some college classes
Cons: i coud not do it as often as i would like due to work and school schedules
This was not a job technically, but I put hard work out and got satisfaction for knowing I made a difference in return.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Learning Experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Pitman, NJJuly 8, 2014
Usually after clocking in I would begin pricing items that did not have tags in the store and organize products to make them more appealing to the eye of the customers. Many of the workers were volunteers though so performing the heavy lifting and several hours on my feet was probably the most demanding aspect of the job. I enjoyed my manager and my – more... co-workers because they were flexible with my hours and helped learn how to organize items in the store. I'm glad I had the chance to help run a store with the ability to make my own choices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Cashier/Warehouse Assistant (Current Employee), Anaheim, CAJuly 5, 2014
Good company i enjoyed working for a non profit organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Work
Volunteer (Current Employee), Waco, TXJuly 2, 2014
I go in and there's always something to do. The volunteer coordinator gives me tasks and I do them throughout the day. All profits go to covering the over head for Habitat for Humanity. The most enjoyable part is contributing towards giving every day working people a chance to own a home in their community. Because most tasks require carrying or moving – more... objects, the toughest part is enduring through the heat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company had a very good Mission
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City KansasJuly 2, 2014
Pros: a good feeling about what they were doing
Cons: not enough money to drive the building process
Gather information for the day and the builds and gather the items needed to keep the sites busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging volunteer experience
Volunteer, Business development (Former Employee), ConnecticutJuly 2, 2014
I volunteered in a positive environment. It was very rewarding and the staff was very pleasant and welcoming
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work space which requires a lot of body works.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 23, 2014
A typical day for a volunteer like me who works for the Habitat for Humanity ReStore is all about moving and managing furniture and new arrivals, this requires a lot of body work and cooperation with your co-workers in order to move some of our big furniture around the store or ship out to our customers. I also helped my customers to look for the furniture – more... they want. Provide new information about the store's new arrivals to our customers is also part of my job. Fortunately I met a friendly crew who were helpful co-workers and great people to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Service in high school
Volunteer Helper Habitat (Former Employee), Lenoir City, TNJune 21, 2014
At first it was just a school class but after the class was over I kept going back. It turned into a fun experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Mooresville, NCJune 19, 2014
Pros: 20% discount
Just started working here and it is wonderful. Everyone is a joy to work with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A first time work expierience with a positive atmosphere
Volunteer (Former Employee), Brooksville, FLJune 18, 2014
Pros: good co-workers and socail expirance
Cons: hard work and occasionally really bad customers
Every day directly after school I'd go to Habitat for humanity to volunteer 2 to 3 hours a day everyday. To be honest I was excited about the new work and was very excited about going. I learned what its like to work with people and in the work place. My co-workers were very accommodating helping me understand how things worked and what I should do. – more... The hardest part of my job was getting comfortable with talking to customers, I was very shy and nervous about speaking to strangers. However the most fun I had was cleaning the store, I love to clean. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
community service
Member (Former Employee), Riverside, CaJune 16, 2014
It was a community service club, to help low income families fix up their homes to clean up abandoned places.

About Habitat For Humanity

Habitat offers opportunities to work in many different areas such as Resource Development, Communications, Finance, Administration, – Read more

Habitat For Humanity Photos