Habitat For Humanity

613 reviews

Habitat For Humanity Employee Reviews

Found 544 reviews matching the searchSee all 613 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES / VOLUNTEER WORK (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 22, 2015
Volunteer hours were great!
We built houses for low income people
I also installed shingles and siding for these houses
Pros
free lunch
Cons
worked outside in the sun
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Coordinator
Volunteer Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAJuly 22, 2015
- Responsible for coordinating volunteers for Habitat for Humanity for builds/restores and ReStore warehouse positions, local advertising, and manage donations.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was just a volunteer and had a ball
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLJuly 21, 2015
I learned a lot about this company that made is possible for ordinary people obtain a house!

My work day included helping anyone who needs help but mostly the Engagement Coordinator.

I learned a lot about marketing and behind the scene of Social Media.
Pros
Awesome workers
Cons
Not enough Volunteers
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Delivery Driver/Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZJuly 20, 2015
This job gave me the chance to become Experienced on many types of machinery. Get established in the working environment.
Pros
Learning heavy machinery
Cons
bad environment
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Technical Skills acquired.
Donation Processor (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJuly 20, 2015
I was able to take from this job a new job skill in the operation of a piece of heavy equipment I have never operated before.I will be able to add this new skill to my resume and knowledge.
Pros
The work was strenuous at times, but overall educational.
Cons
I would have like to stayed, but with the downsizing of personal i was let go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Orange City, FLJuly 20, 2015
I volunteered to help build houses for the needy. I was able to het involved with laying sod, painting and construction work.
Pros
helping others and learning
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJuly 15, 2015
OK job, reaching out to people and promoting the organization. As a volunteer obviously didn't get paid. Also did not stay for too long, two months.
Pros
travelling, meeting people
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer service
WAREHOUSE ASSISTANT/STORE LEAD (Former Employee) –  pensacola flJuly 15, 2015
cashier,take in donates price items put on sales floor work with and meet great people.take call for donation pickups,maintain a clean work place
Pros
hour rate benefits
Cons
very heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes No 2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fulfilling place to work in.
Warehouse, customer associate (Former Employee) –  Riverside CAJuly 10, 2015
Overall, my term at Habitat for Humanity was worthwhile. - I was kept busy loading and unloading stock and helping customers with their product questions and purchasing choices.
I learned some things  more... about retail sales.
My co-workers were nice people and committed to the operation.
The hardest part of the job for me were the acute moments of inactivity, brought on by a lack of customers and/or lack of product to load or unload.
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping a customer become satisfied with a purchase.  less
Pros
helping customers with their buying needs.
Cons
acute moments of inactivity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized in a timely matter
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 9, 2015
Volunteering at the Habitat for Humanity is a good place to be at if you're having trouble working with groups. Out of the experience I learned to have more patience since I was on my feet a lot.
Pros
breaks
Cons
hot
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never trust anyone
Receptionist/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, SCJuly 9, 2015
Was a great job, AC and heated area untill I was moved to the corner of the metal warehouse with no AC and no heat. Once again I was reminded to NEVER TRUST ANYONE!
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, always something new to learn.
Apprentice for construction (Current Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 8, 2015
Contractors gather workers for a meeting to discuss the plans for the day before hand and come to a mutual agreement. Learned diverse things involving the ethics of construction. Concrete, Drywall, Electrical,  more... Power Tools, Identifying Safety Hazards, How to work with a group of people, etc. Co-workers respected when you're on the clock or doing a job. Weather conditions made the hardest part of the job. Most enjoyable part of the job was constantly being productive.  less
Pros
Paid lunch, Smoke breaks, over-time, benefits
Cons
two days of work permitted, unreliable schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooperative Work Environment
Construction Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CaliforniaJuly 7, 2015
Productive and fun work environment with complete strangers working towards helping families in need of effective and affordable housing.
Pros
Cooperative and friendly coworkers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Mortgage Assistant (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJuly 2, 2015
Laid back place to work without being micromanaged. They do help people getting into a new home that is not able to afford a traditional mortgage through a bank.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great cause
Volunteer Laborer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJuly 1, 2015
This is a real good place to be if you want to learn what a retail place offers such as walmart or publix. a lot of the same tasks apply, but Habitat for humanity is a lot calmer and much more easy going. most of their employees are volunteers.
Pros
Fun Co Workers and easy enviroment
Cons
Exhausting work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable, but fun and worth wild.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Zephyrhills, FlJuly 1, 2015
Habit makes for an unpredictable work day, since you never know what or how much stuff is going to come in. Everyone is more than willing help each other when they're over runned, but we're usually under  more... staffed. So It's a constant race to process and sell everything as fast as in comes in. But the sense of accomplishment at the end of the day make it all worth it.

My coworkers are great company and are great at the jobs. The Manager is really good about keeping everyone informed, and is easy to get along with.

I learned a lot from my time working at Habit, and I would recommend it to anyone preparing to enter the job market.  less
Pros
Good coworkers and manager, and sense of accomplishment.
Cons
It can be difficult, to tell what the manegent above the individual store level is trying to do, and and lot of effort gets spent sorting out worth wild donations from trash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
member (Current Employee) –  collegeJune 29, 2015
This is community service. not a job. i do this through my school. We raise a lot of money to help those who need it. I glad i joined. really dont have much to say because its not a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  North CaroliaJune 29, 2015
I had a great time helping people when they are in need. There is nothing like some good old fashioned physical labor to get things done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Precision is key
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  East Lansing, MIJune 23, 2015
Denture production is quite the process and DTI Ward knows how to proficiently execute it. Great working environment and awesome pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Habitat for Humanity is a wonderful organization
Store Manager/Home Preservation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Richland WAJune 23, 2015
Loved it. Spent time with wonderful people working for an amazing cause. Made a difference each and everyday. Christ centered and faith based.
Pros
Great mission
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 613 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture