Habitat For Humanity Employee Reviews in United States

Found 687 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer service
WAREHOUSE ASSISTANT/STORE LEAD (Former Employee) –  pensacola flJuly 15, 2015
cashier,take in donates price items put on sales floor work with and meet great people.take call for donation pickups,maintain a clean work place
Pros
hour rate benefits
Cons
very heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. Great staff and great customers
Warehouse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kelso, WAJuly 6, 2016
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping the customers. I love seeing a smile on their face when they leave. The hardest part of my job is loading and unloading refridgerators and hide a bed's
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at habitat
Asst. Manager of Operations (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALMarch 26, 2016
this job most definitely pushes one to the limits of customer service. in all areas of the field of management i love this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IF you love what you do you realy dont work a day
Construction Trainee (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 14, 2016
Laborer/ Carpentry/ Carpenter/ Training, working along side Habitat For Humanity, carpentry, working on houses/ doing construction work on houses/ working on homes foundations/ Laying concrete for homes/ using hammer and nail to sandwich two by four and wooden poles together, building homes for the homeless
Pros
Helping good peopl find homes
Cons
not enough time in a day i loved my job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAMarch 25, 2016
I dont enjoy be there. Really bad management. Poor treat for the employee. Any security in the building. Bad organization about task you have to do.
Pros
Any
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission!
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Goshen, INJune 6, 2016
Loved the mission of helping families into affordable non-poverty housing through the sales of new and used donated merchandise.
It is nice to feel your working for a cause.
Pros
Great mission
Cons
short staffed and lack of management support
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
member (Current Employee) –  collegeJune 29, 2015
This is community service. not a job. i do this through my school. We raise a lot of money to help those who need it. I glad i joined. really dont have much to say because its not a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Charity to work for, you don't go there for the money.
Project manager (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJuly 17, 2016
Good Charity to work for, you don't go there for the money. They do good work for people who deserve the help. I consider my time spent there as well spent.
Pros
Flexable hours
Cons
Low pay, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a volunteer job and a great place to work.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COApril 30, 2016
Assisted in the construction of affordable housing for people in need.

This is pretty self-explanatory.

It was tough but fulfilling.

Shoveling rocks was hard.
Pros
I learned how to work on my own home.
Cons
It is the toughest job you will love.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fufilling, and helpful work.
Non-profit Organization - Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Paterson, NJJune 16, 2016
The organization is by far one of the most fantastic and helpful charities to be apart of. With amazing staff and volunteers all searching to help others in need.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While working with this company knowing it was for a good case I enjoyed it.
Student Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYJune 7, 2016
Enjoyed working and helping out the city of Georgetown with such out going group of people. If I could I'd take part in volunteering with this company again
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Ocean Springs, MSJuly 8, 2016
The day started around 8:00 a.m. and we will work until 5:00 p.m.

We learned how to work within a group in order to be efficient with the materials that they had.
Pros
Free food and good learning experience.
Cons
Long hours in the sun
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and great mission
EMEA Marketing and Communications Director (Current Employee) –  Bratislava and PretoriaJune 28, 2016
An excellent place to work. Great work life balance. Very good colleagues and peers. Provided an opportunity to play a role in developing regional business strategy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and flexible schedule
Donations Ambassador, Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIOctober 24, 2015
As an employee at habitat I was usually one of the first people to show up for work. A typical day consisted of preparing and organizing the warehouse before the store opened, followed by getting the truck ready, cleaned and set-up. A majority of the day was dedicated to driving around to scheduled pick-up appointments. Management were great-full of my efforts and great work ethic and dependability. The hardest part of the job, was repetitively lifting heavy items. Most enjoyable part, was the flexibility in scheduling.
Pros
flexible
Cons
Sometimes not getting a lunch break.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer summer work
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Stafford, TXApril 18, 2016
Duties: Loaded/unloaded furniture and appliances, validated donation transactions and customer requests, and sorting appliances
Most enjoyable part of the job: Interacting with people
Hardest part of the job: The labor is physically exhausting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Family Support Intern (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 14, 2016
Interning at Habitat for Humanity was an awesome experience. When providing such an open-door policy environment, even interns had a voice, which was reciprocated in our work, I believe.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive non-profit
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCMarch 22, 2016
The Habitat for Humanity non-profit provides housing for those in need, and free lunch on the weekends. A typical day at work includes being provided necessary equipment, meeting with employees on site, and leaving when the supervisors decide to do so.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
supervisors stare*
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive- work place, always busy and fast paced
General laborer (Current Employee) –  Kelso, WAFebruary 27, 2015
Organize sections throughout store. Working here has helped my organization skills so much that I am the lead organizing coordinator. All co-workers are friendly and eager to learn and help. You have to learn to deal with the customers that no matter the willingness you go for them, sometimes there just not going to be satisfied. I feel enrichment and self gratification having been given the organization coordinator.
Pros
take your own breaks when you want.
Cons
6 month job only. and part time only. no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organization to work for.
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  West Branch, MIJuly 14, 2016
Very rewarding working with deserving families within community. Non-profit, Christian organization that is an awesome organization to work for or volunteer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace while building a home
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, SCMay 14, 2016
It was a fun learning experience getting to build a house with my teammates. It helped me gain skills for later on in my life like communications skills and teamwork skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 796 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3

Habitat For Humanity Reviews by Location