Find companies:
Hackensack University Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
87 reviews

Hackensack University Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Hackensack Medical
Externship (Former Employee), Hackensack , NJAugust 26, 2014
This hospital is one of my favorite medical centers in new jersey. Not only is the staff very sincere and full of empathy but the ambiance is also very up to par and very warm and welcoming. A hospital is a place where patients staff and all around the entire center is filled with various emotions .. from happy to sad to scared and nervous. I am one – more... that will go all the way and do what I must do to make one feel at ease and I felt the same vibe when i was a patient there from others which is why I rate this hospital a 10. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Significant Achievements:
Senior Project Manager (Current Employee), Hackensack, NJAugust 21, 2014
Significant Achievements:
• Successfully led rollout and build-out of the VDI infrastructure.
• Planned and coordinated the XP to Windows 7 migration and Office 2013 upgrade to 2,000 nurses and doctors.
• Managed the deployment of over 2,000 Thin Client devices to the hospital environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Intern (Current Employee), Hackensack, NJAugust 20, 2014
Great place to work with fun co-workers and managers. A typical day in work was getting together with who you were working with and do the work that needs to be done, while having fun. The hardest part of the job was understanding all of the medical information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the patients, Meet new people everyday
Courier (Intern/Volunteer) (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJAugust 19, 2014
Your job is what you love to do, you get the satisfaction of helping others, you learn tons of new information every work day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, productive and great learning experience.
Cardiovascular Sonography Intern (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJAugust 10, 2014
It's a very productive and busy place. A great place for learning experience with helpful, and knowledgeable co-workers and supervisor. Patience is needed for challenging patients and positive attitude is important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Productive and interesting
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJJuly 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not getting hired after volunteering for a 100 hours
it is a place of healing and nurturing , a place where you can grow and be able to learn new things every day , a typical day as a volunteer, would be very rewarding you get to appreciate what you have in life while you also learn to feel the pain and suffering of otherwise and realizing just how truly amazing and beautiful life is. the coworkers are – more... amazing, kind and willing to participate.
the hardest part of the job is having to see just how many people are sick and are unable to process their lives due to their illnesses.
the most enjoyable part of the job is you get to change people's lives by showing them an act of kindness – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Medical Center but no commitment to Research
Research Finance Analyst (Current Employee), Hackensack, NJJuly 20, 2014
Pros: stable employment
Cons: no opportunity for advancement
I go into every day with a plan as to what I will do and about half the time I wind up doing something completely different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong interdisciplinary team allowed for the provision of evidence based biopsychosocial treatment.
Attending Psychiatrist - Inpatient (Former Employee), Montclair, NJJune 29, 2014
Pros: supportive environment for teaching and learning.
Cons: on this 30 bed unit only 4 beds were for involuntary patients.
As a psychiatrist working for Hackensack University Medical Center at Mountainside I was able to provide evidenced based treatment to a multicultural and multi-class population. I worked closely with our interdisciplinary team to ensure the patient received comprehensive care. I provided psychopharmacologic, psychotherapeutic treatment, and ECT for – more... select patients. In addition to treating patients on the inpatient unit I also treated patients on the medical floors and in the emergency room. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Various UnitsMay 28, 2014
At one point I served as a unit clerk to about 6-10 units per night. Printing out their reports and stocking their immediate inventory needs. I served units from but not limited to Geriatric, Stepdown Respiratory, ICUs to Overflow units. Allowed me to experience various specialties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and productive
Assist in pre and post labor procedures (Current Employee), Hackensack, NJMay 19, 2014
great work environment, friendly and knowledgeable, helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment with exposure to patient-centered care
Staff Pharmacist (Current Employee), Hackensack. NJMay 15, 2014
Flexible schedule, great team attitude
Got an opportunity to master hospital-based pharmacy practice, including IV/admixture preparation, reviewing medication orders for accuracy and appropriateness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Co-Workers and Team enviorment
Echocardiographer (Current Employee), Saddle River, NJApril 27, 2014
Pros: patients leave knowing how much we really care
Cons: very little down time. honestly i love it that way. we are productive and the day goes by fast!
Since I started here it has become an excellent Team Work enviorment. It is an extremely busy office and Patient care is always at the top of our list of duty's
From the moment you enter the door there is work to be done, patients need refills on meds or reports sent out to other doctors and when patients come in they need a variety of tests performed. – more... I do blood pressure, EKG's and Echocardiography.
Those patients who need to have an authorization before the procedure is done, I prepare and obtain that for them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Hackensack, NJApril 9, 2014
great place to work, salary very good. Many available resources
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work, dynamic, excellent growth potential
APN II (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJApril 2, 2014
Pros: great collaboration, support
Cons: work overlapped into personal life, long hours, physically demanding
I worked under 5 IR physicians and all were excellent. The company was well regarded. I had no training period. Expectations of employees were unclear and not based on written description.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with potential to grow.
Diagnostic Technician (Current Employee), Hackensack, NJMarch 26, 2014
My day consist of performing EKG's and drawing blood from newborns to the elderly. Working at HackensackUMC is giving me the opportunity to work with many different personalities that I feel helps me to be a better "people person" and to help me become a better phlebotomist, it takes patience and compassion to draw blood.
The hardest part of my job – more... is having to draw blood from the little children that are terrified of needles. It takes time and patience, but I always talk to them to calm them down and talk them through the entire process.
The most enjoyable part of my day is having the patients thanking me for being gentle, polite, and asking me if I would always draw their blood. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Central Supply Student Intern (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJMarch 18, 2014
I interned there for 10 weeks and I loved every moment of it...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital
Nurse Manager for Pediatric DAR (Former Employee), Hackensack, NjMarch 14, 2014
Pros: very good teaching hospital
Cons: hospital expanded quickly and employees were ignored
Excellent hospital. Learned a lot there. The bulk of my career was spent there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nationally recongized Hospital with great experience.
Echo (Current Employee), Hackensack, NJMarch 6, 2014
Pros: i love working for a truam hospital because of the experience i received.
I perform echocardiograms and a daily basis and I learn so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unit Clerk
Patient Care Unit Coordinator (Former Employee), Hackensack, NJMarch 5, 2014
Answer phone calls, data entry, order supplies for the unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Physician Assistant Intern (Current Employee), Hackensack, NJFebruary 24, 2014
This semester I am interning in the Emergency room, observation unit, and prompt care. A typical day includes rounds with the Physician Assistant. Cases include: head injuries, hand injuries, back injuries, cuts, bruises etc. I learn the basics of being a Physician Assistant including distribution of medication. I enjoy viewing different medical cases – more... and the environment in which I am interning in. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Hackensack University Medical Center

Hackensack University Medical Center (HUMC) is an acute care teaching and research hospital that serves the residents of northern – Read more

Hackensack University Medical Center Photos