Find companies:
Halloween City
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
195 reviews

Halloween City Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast environment, crazy hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cedar Falls, IASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: store discount.
Cons: short breaks, crazy hours, pay
The hours varied but I mostly worked night shifts or double shifts. I learned a lot but mostly how to build a store and tear it down. The hardest part of the job was working with a manager who didn't really understand how to distribute good work hours and would sometimes mess up the closing of the registers making us stay sometimes 30 minutes to an – more... hour later. It wouldn't have been bad if it had been once but this was multiple times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and entertaining place to work.
Seasonal Sales Floor Assistant (Former Employee), Plano, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: direct deposit, overtime and free pizza
Cons: costumes or products not soled by company.
A typical day at Halloween City wasn't like every day, the costumes kept me entertained and my attention up. I learned something everyday there almost including characters people admitted to being at parties and get-togethers'. The manager was a gal who had just as much work as the rest of us, though she was in charge of the money at the end of the – more... day and other material duties. My co-workers were funny and had something new up their sleeve every day. The hardest part of the entire experience was the clean up after Halloween was over. The most enjoyable part was seeing the costumes and dark scary stuff that have been in shows and movies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized but to be expected
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAAugust 26, 2014
Very unorganized but to be expected since it is a seasonal store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting.
Seasonal Work, Sales Floor, Stocking (Former Employee), Seabrook, NHAugust 19, 2014
You get to learn the ins and outs of a high demand seasonal job as well as the functions of the year round stores as well. The best part was helping customers find what they need for their budgets and just being around great workers and customers all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Wausau, WIAugust 13, 2014
Pros: many challenges
Cons: seasonal
open store , balance safe review deposits, set up cashier drawers, assign tasks, review e-mails do a walk through to be sure everything is in order and to be aware of any issues that need attention. Check in all incoming merchandise and place orders as needed. greet all employees and assign them to the days tasks. hire as needed.,Train new employees, – more... oversee all activities involving the work place. At the end of the day make sure the store is ready to receive customers the next day. Balance safe, take deposits to the bank. Lock the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Cartersville, GAAugust 7, 2014
It was always fun to come to work. The company treated the employees right. Always made sure everyone was happy and enjoyed there job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), KnoxvilleAugust 5, 2014
Pros: great discounts, fun environment, fast paced
Cons: seasonal
I worked at Halloween City for 2 seasons now, I also worked at Party City and even though its owned by the same companies, they are so much different. Halloween City is a fun filled environment. I enjoyed it so much I hope to work there this year! It was extremely slow at first but closer and closer to Halloween we were so packed, you didn't have time – more... to take a break. I was one of the managers both seasons so we had to relieve the staff and give them breaks. Time flew by so fast. Really fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun work environment with outgoing co workers
Cashier (Former Employee), Moreno Valley, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: fun people to work with
Cons: seasonal job
Typical day at Halloween City includes slow mornings and busy nights especially towards the middle of October. While I was working at Halloween City I learned how to count out cash drawers and merchandise products. The management and co-workers for this company were fantastic. The managers were willing to work around schedules and were understanding. – more... I would say the hardest part of being a cashier at Halloween City was working two days before Halloween and the actual day of Halloween but that was the most enjoyable part of working for this company also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment and Dedicated Fellow Employees
Market Manager - Dayton Market (Current Employee), Livonia, MIJuly 13, 2014
Pros: fast paced environment
Cons: seasonal employment - no benefits
2 Positions within Company - Market Manager and Site Manager
As a Market Manager you are working 7 days a week from prior to opening and until well after closing during the temporary sales season. Prior to the actual opening of your locations you are researching locations for temporary stores, completing permitting, laying out store plans, scheduling – more... store set up and recruiting for staff. The actual phyical opening of the stores required you to build out store in the layout you pre-determined, physically unload your "store in a box" from the semi, process your merchandise, place all your marketing graphics and the merchandise the locations based on company stardards. Once stores are open your on the road daily traveling store to store to check on staffing, merchandisine standards, providing support to GM's, making certain that customer service standards are adhered to and checking inventory levels. At end of season this position required you to inventory every location under your control, pack-up seasonal freight, tear down temporary store location and physically load your "store in a box" back into the semi.
New position that has been created within the company this year is that of a Site Manager - The company is trying to eliminate 2 steps that the Market Manager and GM's had to complete prior to opening locations - Thus having store open for business earlier in the sales season. As a Site Manager we are checking all merchandise for pricing and packaging standard and organizing all freight by department for easier merchandising upon store set-up. My crew unloads each semi of all merchandise (anywhere from 15k to 39k units per semi) checks each piece for correct pricing and packaging, removes from store inventory any damages and then repacks by departement. We also balance out the fixtures and store supplies on each semi to ensure that the stores have the needed equiptment to build out the location.
With both positions the staffing, both my supervisors and my associates have been the most enjoyable part of the job. It is very hard physical work, but we all enjoy the company and completing the job in a timely fashion – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Sales (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Matteson, ILJuly 1, 2014
Pros: positive attitudes
Working at Halloween City was very fun we were able to wear costumes around the store , see our manager try to be scary and funny, and help customers pick out things.There were so many enjoyable times in that store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Executive Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Naperville, ILJune 27, 2014
Pros: fun, relaxed, casual environment
Cons: temporary, pay
Awesome place to work. It is fun and exciting! I guarantee you will enjoy it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Cashier (Former Employee), Westminster, COJune 25, 2014
It was awesome to get o work in a Halloween store and help people create their own style of Halloween costumes. It was cool to work with the customers just to see their face when you gave them helpful tips on how they cold do their makeup or what would look good with what. It was amazing to see the kids smiling faces when they walked in the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Halloween is crazy
Sales Associate (Former Employee), WestchesterJune 17, 2014
A typical day of work was not so typical at all. I could be inside the store stacking shelves or helping customers, or outside in a Gumby costume waving at cars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Seasonaly Job.
General Manager (Former Employee), Newton, NJJune 15, 2014
Pros: great discounts
Cons: low pay
Fast Paced Busy couple weeks before Halloween. Great to work with interesting and fun product.s
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Work
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Roseville, MIJune 11, 2014
Really fun place to work.
not for everyone, the job is also seasonal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job ever
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Canton, MIJune 3, 2014
I loved everything about the job and the company even though it's seasonal I have gone back every year and moved up in pay and position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optimistic environment
Stock Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 21, 2014
-Excellent practice of customer service
-ability to educated customers on merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun workplace that I was sad to see go.
Temp. Sales Representative (Former Employee), Redding, CAMay 5, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers, decent hours, caring and responsible management.
Cons: temporary position
A typical day at work started by clocking in with a pin code and fingerprint scanner. Then we started right in with stocking and organizing displays, as customers entered we would greet them and offer our help if they had any questions or needed assistance. We would also manage fitting rooms for customers who wanted to try their costumes on before purchasing. – more... After the doors closed at the end of the day, management would count out our registers as well as the safe. Then they would either appoint one of the assistant managers or myself to escort them to the bank for a scheduled end of day money deposit. The management and coworkers were some of the friendliest people I have ever worked with. They were also very responsible and each one kept to their tasks diligently. The hardest part of the job was actually organizing the displays because the store manager was very particular, but the most enjoyable was helping customers get their perfect costumes and accessories especially since we were trained to be knowledgeable about our products and we could see them leave completely satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Halloween City
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLApril 1, 2014
Pros: costumes
It is a very simplistic job where you stock and make sure the product are placed in their proper position as well greet the customers and assist them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Halloween City
Executive Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ontario, CAMarch 27, 2014
Hire fast, fire faster. Regional management is confusion and place stress on local management and employees.
But it can be a fun place to work.

1 2 3 4 5