Halloween City Employee Reviews

Found 446 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 15, 2017
Great place to work. Coworker and manager was great and flexible. Hours were flexible. Too bad it was only seasonal. Definitely would be good for college student
Pros
Fun
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Halloween City
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lompoc, CAAugust 15, 2017
This was only a seasonal job but it was a fantastic place to work and I had a lot of fun. I'm a big fan of Halloween so I'd work at this store again in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very brief seasonal job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 14, 2017
i was hired there during the Halloween rush. my first day I was sent home after just working 2 hours. the next day it was the same. the manager laid me off, saying she overhired. but I was eligible for rehire. the little work I did was very easy.
Pros
being told i was eligible for rehire
Cons
just a temporary seasonal job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bullhead City, AZAugust 12, 2017
This place was so fun working for seeing all the different stuff and helping people find their needs and up saling was always fun to do. The people were fun to work with
Pros
Fun
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job ive ever had
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAAugust 9, 2017
if you love halloween you will love this job. was very laid back but still professional. great for a first job, was one for me. mostly just put costimes in the proper place, help costumers out and sometimes if a manager tells you to you might have to monitor the dressing room.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Season job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 7, 2017
Job was very fun to work, the peoples I've met was amazing and super cool, the pay was OK for a season job but over learned new things about Halloween Costumes.
Pros
work
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place . Loved the decore and set up. Liked saleing creepy stuff
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 6, 2017
Had a problem with the hiring
Some people stole stuff
Need more security
Liked it
Fun
Hot .
A lot of shipment and damages ,so more work for us when we sent boxes back
Some friendly workers
Pros
Lunch breaks, phone usage
Cons
Bad security, system crash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun for a first job
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 5, 2017
its good for a first job but nothing long term customer WILL steal all the time you get no benefits except for 30% off on items. it will be a constant clean up of trash and costumes out of bags.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Manteca, CAAugust 3, 2017
Working at this Halloween store was very enjoyable. Nice staff, fun environment to be working in with all the costumes and decorations. Definitely would apply for the next Fall season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting place to work
Executive Assistant Manager (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Elyria, OHJuly 24, 2017
although a seasonal position, this is a fun environment to work in--if your holiday is Halloween. Friendly environment, ability to assist customers with decorations and costume selections
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and friendly staff and managers
Cashier/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Staten Island, NYJuly 22, 2017
Even for working just for a seasonal it was all in one package with having Halloween the best time to anyone to be who they want to be and also how they want to be. Staff members and customers enjoyed they time
Pros
discounts
Cons
closed after the season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but short lived
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 20, 2017
Its a very fun environment to work in. The only down side is the fact that most of this company's locations close down after the Halloween season is over. It's a great place to work at.
Pros
Fun enviornment
Cons
not a stable job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun environment to work in
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJuly 16, 2017
A typical day at work is maintaining a good environment while greeting and helping customers. Greeting the customer with a nice smile as you ask if they found everything while at the cashier helps ensure good customer service. Working at Halloween City was a good experience that I am happy to have, I learned how to maintain a cash register, stock, inventory and work on my customer service. Although the cashiering was fun, it was also one of the hard parts of the jobs for me. It was my first job and I feared that I would mess up and not satisfy the customers. However, whenever I felt that way my manager always smiled and was there for me and push me through it and eventually it became easier to cashier. Working there was a good experience for me as an individual I have learned many things and overcome things. The smiles on the customers faces as you realize that you helped make that smile happen by helping and talking to the customers; that perhaps was probably the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Cashier/Greeter/In Charge Of Dressing Room (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 16, 2017
I absolutely loved working here. Not only is it fun and you can dress up in costumes but the costumers are usually pretty average on their moods and purchaches. Very fun place to work. Especially if you're a lover of Halloween. I highly recommend.
Pros
10$ a hour. Get to dress up in costumes. 20 minute lunch breaks.
Cons
Non free lunches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Retail/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAJuly 14, 2017
I learned to handle money and work cashier at this job. Also I learned how to appropriately assist costumers, and how to maintain professional relationships with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Great management, always exciting.
CASHIER/INVENTORY SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Hermitage, PAJuly 11, 2017
I had a great time working for them. Store management was great. The higher ups weren't helpful when it came to questions. I had a blast helping kids and adults put together their costume, ideas for a costume and decorating ideas/tips.
Pros
Fun, Never dull
Cons
Usually screaming kids because they get scared.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick, Customers, Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  West Jordan, UTJuly 8, 2017
I enjoyed this place of employment, it was a good first job. It was fast paced but it taught me a lot about customer service and how to be quick on my feet. I learned how to do things quickly with accuracy.
Pros
Nice management, close to my house
Cons
Short breaks, didn't pay me for overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, Nice setup
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Farragut, TNJuly 7, 2017
The environment is professional yet enjoyable.
The management is friendly, conversational, and well-trained. The interior, though frightening, is very welcoming.
Pros
Good prices, good discounts, friendly workplace
Cons
Temporary work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this place.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 2, 2017
Very in spirit to the season.
Co workers were amazing,managers were amazing.
It was a great fun job to have.
Would definitely recommend it for future job opportunities.
And if the store reopend this year,I'd be first in line for an application!
Pros
Discount.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary but gratifying work.
Changing Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORJuly 1, 2017
During the short time I spent at Halloween City, I had a pretty O.K time. As changing room attendant, I was given a lot of busy work along with supervising the work area and shoe wall near by. There were a few dull moments, as with any job, but for the most part I stayed on my toes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Halloween City. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 469 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

89%
114 ratings
Add your rating