Find companies:
Halloween City
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
184 reviews

Halloween City Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management in a Fun Sales Environment
Store Manager (Former Employee), Athens, GANovember 19, 2013
A typical day consisted of coming in opening the store, reviewing the previous days paper work and bank deposit. I helped customers with costumes and sales, I fixed any problems that came to be in the store with customers or employees. My co-workers and I worked very well together, it was a great team environment. The hardest part of the job was loss – more... prevention. The best part of the job was working with a great group of people and a great group of customers. It was a fun environment. I am sorry that the position is only temporary. I learned many things about customer service, working with a college students schedule, and a lot about creating a team environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was outstanding
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Redding, CANovember 19, 2013
Pros: free lunch sometimes
Cons: nothing really
working at halloween city was alot of fun it gave me a sense of what working in retail is like, and im thankful for the experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
General Manager (Former Employee), Salem, VANovember 7, 2013
Pros: easy work
Cons: only seasonal
Helped customers with costumes. My co-worker were great people to work with. The hardest part was it was seasonal and time demanding for managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Halloween Retail
Executive Assistant Manager (Former Employee), FLNovember 7, 2013
Pros: halloween is awesome.
Cons: very little pay, poor employee training
This is a corporate-driven retail store, customer care is second to profit. Not impressed with the business. Fine seasonal job for someone looking to pick up few hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal only loved the people I worked with.
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Roseville, CANovember 4, 2013
Pros: pizza sat and diff outfits to wear
Cons: since its seasonal you get ppl that are lazy
the job was great I wish I could have started when they first open seems like getting payed every week would have been better and giving everybody equal hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, seasonal employment
Executive Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Redding, CANovember 4, 2013
We built the store from just four walls, set up shelves, placed merchandise on the shelves. Helped chose the team members. Trained team members how to sell in a seasonal environment. Prepared a weekly schedule when needed for store manager. Prepared new hire paperwork and gave orientation. Provided customer service while directing team members during – more... their shifts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Manteca, CAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere
Cons: its a seasonal job
We work hard as a team to push products and upsell, we are constantly on top of shop lifters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun
Stock (Former Employee), Parma, OHOctober 24, 2013
Pros: very good staff
Cons: n/a
The staff at Halloween city were extremely friendly and most had experience with the seasonal work. The staff also was very helpful in achieving good productivity around the work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible place to work for !
Seasonal Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), San JoseOctober 24, 2013
Rate of pay was meager, the management was disrespectful and discriminatory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No employee training or incentives
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COOctober 19, 2013
District Manager showed lack experience & respect for employees. Environment of the location at Citadel Crossing had several disregards for public & employee safety, i.e. there were no restrooms provided for the employees, severe black mold infestation in the building, without proper ventilation or air filtration, no air conditioning in the building – more... average temperature reached over 98 degrees inside while trying to set up the seasonal store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Laid Back Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bourbonnais, ILOctober 19, 2013
It was very fun while it lasted, everyone had a blast while working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Concord, CAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: fun place
Cons: seasonal
This was a great place, always fun and out going people. I had the chance to move up in management really face with it being a seasonal job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay for a temporary job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Jackson, MIOctober 16, 2013
I was a nice place to work, but only temporary. I wasn't getting enough hours to afford what I needed to afford.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with costumes galore
Cashier/Greeter (Former Employee), Loveland, COOctober 15, 2013
Pros: good discount
Cons: seasonal, short breaks
I learned how to come out of my comfort zone and help customers out with what they need. The hardest part of my job at Halloween City was cleaning up after a long busy day of work. I enjoyed being able to work with customers of all ages and being able to get to know them a little better. A typical day at work for me would be greeting and checking out – more... customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable job.
Sales Associate and Head Cashier (Former Employee), West JordanOctober 2, 2013
Pros: fun, dressing up, fast past, a variety.
Cons: only a seasonal job.
Greeted costumers. Counted, set up and broke down tills. Trained other employees on the registers. Did bank deposits. Assisted costumers with finding the best costume and accessories.

Worked with a lot of different people which was fun. We all worked as a team but also competed with sales. Laid back company and you were able to dress up for work.

Learned – more... great leader and customer service skills.

It was only a seasonal job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Carrollton, GAOctober 1, 2013
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: short breaks
Very great place to work. Co-workers were nice and engaging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Store Manger (Former Employee), Portage, MISeptember 13, 2013
Pros: being the store manager
Cons: temporary job
Halloween City was a great place to work. I enjoyed everything about this job especially working with the employees and customers. Halloween City was extremely busy which made the store exciting because I love working in a busy, exciting, stressful environment! The job was seasonal due to the holiday, Overall a great experience and wonderful company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding
General Manager (Current Employee), Troy, OHSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: coming to work in costume
Cons: seasonal employment
Nothing beats being able to create a wonderful retail environment while making a child smile. Finding the perfect costume for a customer's Halloween plans is what we do best at Halloween City!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
halloween city
Cashier (Former Employee), Portage, MISeptember 5, 2013
I liked working there but i think the manager could done a better job at working the schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Lima, OHSeptember 3, 2013
This would be my fourth year working at Halloween City and I enjoy it. This is a fun "holiday" for most people that celebrate it. You work with many different people, meet many different people and you can enjoy it as well. A typical day would be going in straightening up, stocking and assiting customers to their satisfaction. The management is pretty – more... good, it is a easy job to do so I believe anyone can do it. – less