Find companies:
Hamilton Relay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Hamilton Relay Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and quiet enviroment
Captionist Assistant (Former Employee), baton rougeAugust 11, 2014
Pros: bonuses when you are on time and never absent
Cons: short breaks
Great work facility, good people and professionalism, great benefits, a good place to work and study at the same time. good structure and guidance,.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the service that Hamilton stands for.
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 18, 2014
Love and appreciate the service that Hamilton represents to the deaf and hard of hearing community. There is a gap that is connected by the captioning assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJune 23, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Everyone is friendly. We just come in and get the job done. I feel good that I am helping someone who is hearing impaired. I appreciate they are depended on me to be accurate in my captions and I take it seriously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Call Center
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 25, 2014
Pros: great enviorment
Cons: high turnover easy to leave
It is a great place for Temporary work because the turnover rate is ridicolus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a rewarding job begins to get repetitive
Communication Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMarch 26, 2014
It's a pretty unique and rewarding job some days you might be lucky to have down time to read the paper or magazine but management is very unorganized. Getting stuck on a long call can be very challenging to one with no patience. Co workers are nerds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Communications Assistant (Current Employee), Frostburg, MDMarch 5, 2014
Pros: bonuses for tardiness
Cons: point system
I really enjoy working here. The job is interesting, it involves helping people and I like that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with a great service
Relay Operator (Current Employee), Frostburg, MDFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: incentive hours, point system for attendance
Cons: short breaks, little advancement past levels
Typical work days involve a lot of sitting and typing phone conversations. As an operator, 40 hours of deaf culture is required every year, so a lot is learned about the deaf community. I've learned some basic American Sign Language. A typical 8 hour shift provides operators with 2 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute unpaid lunch, but if you are on a phone – more... call during your break, you might not get one. The best thing about the job is if we are short staffed, the company provides extra incentive dollars per hour to bring people who weren't scheduled to work in. The attendance policy is points based. Calling off for a full shift earns you a full point, and after four points you are terminated. The points roll off after three months. If you never call off, you earn an extra $100 dollars a month for perfect attendance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice break lounge, friendly co-workers.
Captioning assistant (Former Employee), Frostburg, MDFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: decent environment
Cons: a questionable long-term option, a number of complaints fired ex-employees.
Generally, it was a nice place. The supervisors were friendly enough, co-workers were nice and friendly conversation wasn't hard to come by. The way in which they schedule employee hours isn't quite clear and can cause confusion, but if that's sorted out, then it's no problem. Not my favorite place but it helped pay the bills during the time I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hamilton Realy for the hearing impared
Relay Representative (Former Employee), Albany, GAJanuary 5, 2014
• Understood directions and information given by the relay user.
• Used common sense approaches to handling situations.
• Gave concise and accurate information to the relay user.
• Understood all concepts, techniques and requirements of the job.
• Uses “down time” to review procedures and languages, and to construct tools to help understand and reference – more... procedures and languages.
• Offers solutions and options when presenting problems or concerns to supervisors.
• Displays a willingness to make necessary adjustments as we change or add services to relay
• Handles crisis and emotional upset in a professional manner.
• Resolves conflict directly, quickly and completely and discuss unpleasant issues with courtesy and tact.
• Arrives on time to all scheduled shifts.
• Works well without constant supervision.
• Volunteers for extra hours when needed.
• Actively participates in training events including: CA meetings and seminars offered by the company.
• Worked well as a team member.
• Minimum 60 wpm
• Ability to read and interpret information on a standard computer monitor
• Proficiency with computer keyboards and terminals and a basic understanding of computer terminology
• Strong communications skills, including verbal, written and interpersonal skills
• Ability to read, write, speak and understand English well.䟿 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, Helpful, Goal Orientated
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LADecember 10, 2013
A typical day at work was to make it to your desk promptly and on time. The job was a great learning experience. I learned how to successfully multitask with little to no problems. Management was motivational, co-workers were nice and friendly. I felt very comfortable on the job. The hardest part of the job was beginning training and making it to work – more... on time due to traffic. The most enjoyable part of the job was everything. It was the best job I ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meaningful work
Caption Assistant (Former Employee), Frostburg, MDSeptember 11, 2013
A easy going environment to work in while you learn how to use voice recognition software to help the hearing impaired make and receive personal and business phone calls. The hardest part of working here was some of the calls you have to caption make you feel uncomfortable hearing them, however i feel the best part of the job was knowing that in most – more... cases if this service was not there these people would not be able to have the ability to have telephone conversations with there family and friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Envirnonment
Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 30, 2013
Flexible work schedule.
Great pay, advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LaApril 25, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: short breaks
In my time at Hamilton, the people were great. We help people who woud not otherwise be able to communicate. Good place overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever!
Communications Assistant (Former Employee), Albany, GAMarch 12, 2013
Pros: culture; diversity; pay; extra hours
Cons: long calls where you have to type recorded messages!
I enjoyed every moment of this job. I loved the deaf people who would call in wanting to communicate with their love ones. The job was, at times, high paced; however, the high pace pulls out your skills. This job taught me to type with accuracy like never before. I also learned how to be patient with all people, especially those with disabilities. The – more... people who work here and train you are especially sweet. The HR department is awesome, and the extra hours that are often needed to be worked makes for a nice paycheck every two weeks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with friendly co-workers
RELAY OPERATOR (Former Employee), TRSFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: great bonuses/ incentives, birthday cake, positive people
Cons: politics, negative people
This job dealt with many different kinds of people on a regular basis. Dealing with people who are wanting to make calls and want the calls to go how they want them can be difficult. Typically the calls would not last long but at times I would be on a call for over an hour sometimes 2. We were allowed to read and talk between calls and that's how I – more... got to know all my great co workers. It 's a great place to work if you have the patience to deal with "stupid" people on a regular basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Communication Assistant (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LADecember 27, 2012
Tthis is a great place to work for a student who is interested in speech or hearing impaired i learned different things about the way of life of those who are deaf hard of hearing and or speech disabled gave me great experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace enviroment and enjoyed working with the group of people that was employed with me.
Caption Assistant (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LANovember 28, 2012
Pros: $1 more an hour if you were on time for work
Cons: short-breaks, benefits
A typical day at work consisted of sitting in fron t of a computer with head phones on listening in as third party on the telephone, I learned to speak clearly and trained my ears to listen in and block out all background noises.tThe managers and the coworkers were great they were willing to help you if you were lost. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job wood have to be listening in to the conversations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the disabled allowed me to give back to others.
COMMUNICATION ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Albany, GAOctober 31, 2012
Pros: working with the disabled allowed me to give back.
Cons: breaks are only 15 mins.
This was a good place to work but it became too much with management. When you do not have the right people in place it makes it hard to do your job and do it well. I enjoyed what I did with helping out people who needed it and they needed us in order to just make a simple call something that we as hearing people take for granted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
......A Job
Communication Assistant (Former Employee), Albany, GAAugust 23, 2012
The hours are available if you want them and there are opportunities to switch with other employees.....thats pretty much all I have positive to say about them right now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center with productive work environment, Customer Service Help
Supervisor (Current Employee), Albany, GAJune 6, 2012
Pros: customer service, computer work
I learned a lot about the work that goes in to managing a company. I worked with all management staff in making sure that the call center was controlled. A typical day at work would be me monitoring and recording different calls that would take place to make sure that all the right procedures were being followed. I would help coach team members to help – more... with their typing, customer service, and work ethic. I also did a lot of work with several areas on the computer, creating forms, break sheets, and emailing proper people to make sure all the work was completed. I also was trained to type up to at least 80 WPM with 95% accuracy. The hardest part of my job was being able to monitor and control the entire work floor with all employees on it. It's impossible to be at ten places at once so just making sure that all Supervisor flags were answered and that it was all controlled could get challenging at times. – less