Hamilton Relay Employee Reviews

Showing all 51 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient
Captioning Assistant for the hearing impaired (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAMarch 19, 2017
The job served its purpose. It is not a job that not many can make a career out off simply because it doesn't offer many higher positions. Overall it is a good start.
Pros
Covenient
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you live and you learn
Communication Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, GAMarch 12, 2017
overall Hamilton is a great company to work at. management can be iffy but of course they are humans. everyone if for their self so do not expect loyalty. the pay rate is great... for a single person with no life. you get two days off you have pto and other great incentives. a good job overall.
Pros
incenitive
Cons
short breaks, local management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at hamilton
Communication Specialist (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAFebruary 2, 2017
Very good place to work. Excellent pay and have many ways to make money. The people there was very great to work with and easy to get along. The trainers explained the job and things in a very good way to understand easier.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAJanuary 30, 2017
Hamilton relay was an excellent workplace and i would recommend anyone working there. I learned a lot and they have tremendous room for growth in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy job with many incentives
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee) –  Frostburg, MDJanuary 25, 2017
Easy to succeed, opportunities to move up within the company, and many incentives. It's nice to know you are working somewhere that is helping people reach out and connect with others.
Pros
Many incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was good, management not so much.
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, GADecember 12, 2016
It seemed that the people in charge were not all on the same page and needed to get together and iron out what the mess was going on.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work enviroment
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 25, 2016
I would assist callers. Working in a call center the calls would be for clients that were hard of hearing and I had to relay the calls to a computer program that would then send the call as text to the person who was hard of hearing
Pros
Working with variety people
Cons
Not fast paced enough
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Cause
[CA] Captionist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, GASeptember 22, 2016
the job has a good cause, providing captions for the hearing impaired. Typical day at work was boring. Training was long and dreadful. Good pay, and good bonuses. Uninteresting job
Pros
Advancement, healthcare, high pay, long hours
Cons
Short breaks, no social life, no cell phones
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stagnant work with rude customers
Relay Operator (Former Employee) –  Frostburg, MDAugust 22, 2016
If you are someone who is full of personality and enjoys working through problems to find an efficient solution, you'll certainly feel stifled here. This is a mundane job with incredibly rude customers, with procedure which limits how you interact with the callers / people they are calling. I would not recommend working here if you want to do more than just follow rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Lead COmmunication Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 18, 2016
Overall the job is pretty easy. Most people are pretty ok to work with also. Just very poor management and do not care about employees
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never work here again
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Frostburg, MDJune 7, 2016
All I really can say is I will never work here again. They have a flex schedule that changes everyday. It is boring you just sit around also the coworkers are thieves and nobody does anything about it. Lets just say the place is a joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee) –  Albany, GAMay 30, 2016
Working at Hamilton Relay was an interesting experience. The management team was constantly changing and not too many hour opportunities for part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the person
CAPTIONING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 19, 2016
Working at Hamilton teaches you job related multi-tasking (FCC rules prevent further detail). As a captioning assistant your job is to provide telephone captions for the deaf and hard of hearing community. A typical day at would be showing up, clocking in, getting to your desk and sitting there for eight hours.If you are a "people person" this job is NOT for you!! You are, however, given two paid 15 minute breaks and one unpaid 30 minute lunch. The co-workers are friendly, while the supervisors are not. The most enjoyable part of the job is not having to interact with people, the worst part is being in a high school like environment among supervisors and CA's.
Pros
Free health care, good pay, minimal work
Cons
High School Environment, Attendance policy, Hard to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
National Marketing Programs Representative (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 11, 2016
It's a fantastic company where because we work hard, they are very good about making sure we have a work/personal life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAMarch 28, 2016
The job itself was fairly easy and it was not bad. The thing that made the job bad was HORRIBLE management. From the supervisors up to the center manager and then corporate ALL HORRIBLE!! Supervisors had the worst attitudes, never really wanted to help any of the agents. They did not care about employees having a personal life and personal emergencies. Your life either revolved around the call center or it didnt matter. The management picked favorites. The sups and center manager were all in together so if one did not like you they all did not like you for whatever reason. Center manger barely knew how to do his own job. Never had answers to questions when agents needed them. The environment was more so like a prison instead of a work place. Corporate was not there for agents either. Corporate would always side with management over the agents even if management was wrong. when we had complaints there was no confidentiality. Management would sit around and gossip about what was brought back to them privately by and agent. Their turn over rate is EXTREMELY high. People are constantly quitting because they can not stand to work in an environment that the Albany, Ga Relay center has. There is no way to advance fairly. They use people that have been there for years for what they need and then never advance them to higher positions. Instead they give higher positions to someone who has been there for 2 weeks fresh out of training. It is sad. It was by far the WORST company I have ever worked for. I would not even think about going back there. The list of negative things this company  more... portrays can go on for days. Look elsewhere if you are looking for a decent job and decent management. I can promise you that you will NOT find it at this establishment.  less
Pros
free health benefits for FT employment
Cons
short breaks, no freedom, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
peaceful and calm enviroment
Captionist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 2, 2016
Hard to stay awake at the computer all day.. lol very professional, challenging at times as far as being to type as fast as one talks, thank goodness for the pause pedal.
Pros
overtime unlimited
Cons
short breaks, no cell phones on the call floor
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment once you have it down. Laid back.
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSFebruary 16, 2016
I never made it out of training and was extremely disappointed. I felt it was a great fit for me. I barely failed the final test but home office would not make an exception. I loved how laid back everyone was. It is a small group of people currently as it is a fairly new office in this location. Tight knit group, family feel. Job consisted of merely captioning live phone calls via Dragon voice recognition for the hearing impaired for a CapTel service. Accuracy and speed, being able to keep up with everything the caller said, verbatim, and getting Dragon to understand you correctly was required.
Pros
Laid back, close knit group.
Cons
Getting a good balance between accuracy and speed on my calls.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor management. Employees overworked and under paid
Maryland Relay Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 17, 2016
They requires too many work hours without proper compensation. A typical work day was exist of driving sometimes fours hours to an event waking up at 4:00 am the morning or earlier. It took away from family and social time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long, slow, and boring BUT good money.
Communication Assistant (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAJanuary 4, 2016
Too many messy people. Managers showed favoritism to those they wanted. The rules were not followed by everyone, including the Leads.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place with family oriented enviornment
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 10, 2015
Working for Hamilton was a challenge for me from beginning to end. Coming from a fast paced enviornment of constant moving to sitting was hard to adapt to and effectively get used to. The co workers were very helpful as well as the leads and supervisors in explaining the goals and objectives of the job. The use of the ttys system was very complex at first but with proper coaching and the room for error and growth i was able to make improvements at a rapid speed. The hardest part of this job was not interacting with anyone over the phone but mimicking the computer and i am a people person so limited interaction was a challenge for me. I learned a lot about myself as a person on this job as a captioning assistant, I discovered my passion to help those in need is true but more on a hands on basis, to be a part of the solution as a person on the visual side to see the smile verses imagine one there.
Pros
benefits, flexible shifts, friendly atmosphere
Cons
constant change in rules and regulations
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hamilton Relay. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3