Find companies:
Hampton Inn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,006 reviews

Hampton Inn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An alright environment.
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Lansing, MichiganDecember 1, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: no benefits
A typical day at work for me is coming in, clocking in, and getting right to work. I've learned a lot as far as how to run an hotel and the importances of what's need to be done in order to run an hotel. Our management are very hard working people who does a pretty good job of keeping the hotel as one of the best in Lansing as well as the co-workers. – more... I'd say the hardest part of the job can sometimes be the attitudes of some of the unhappy guest we have here. The most enjoyable is simply payday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active and fun workplace
Housekeeper/Laundry person (Former Employee), Greenwood, MsNovember 30, 2014
I enjoyed coming into work because it was filled with humor, fun, and excitement. I got my work done and was still happy about working their.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Security/concierge/bellman (Former Employee), 102-40 Ditmars blvd, East Elmhurst, N.Y.November 23, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: one guard on duty at a time
Dealt with illegal activities, crowd control, monitor CCTV and acted as busboy. I had to patrol the entire property by myself including the parking long. There was a homeless shelter next door so I had to deal with those situations as well. I had to deal with marijuana smoking in room and staircases. I also acted as the busboy and knew our regular guests – more... on a first name basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment. We strive for outstanding customer service.
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCNovember 21, 2014
Pros: having a positive impact on guests and associates, making loyal guests and customers, employee appreciation
Cons: healthcare benefits, no long term benefits, high employee turnover
My day starts by clocking in and greeting guests. I then go over notes and comments with the desk clerk about events that occurred prior to the start of my shift and the previous night. After that's complete, I "break out the house" for the housekeeping staff. That consists of assigning a designated amount of rooms for them to clean for that day. Throughout – more... the day I check emails, address guest complaints, check inventory and order supplies. I also work with Microsoft Excel, Word and PowerPoint. I started out as a housekeeper and have learned and promoted greatly. I have been a positive leader and example to my fellow coworkers, as well as my supervisors. The hardest part of my job would be ensuring that everything is completed at the close of the day. You know there's never enough hours in the day. The best part of my job would be planning events, employee functions, and getting to meet so many wonderful guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
Auditor/Front Desk (Former Employee), Solon, OHNovember 21, 2014
The management at my hotel was great. The pay is not very good. If you are interested in this industry it is not a bad place to work. This was't a job I had any interest in. I don't have anything more to add.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at work
House Keeping (Current Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 20, 2014
Pros: 30$ a night at any hotel with the company
Cons: in the winter the hours get cut.
My typical day at work is basically quite simple, I am assigned a number of rooms on what ever floor I am working that day. I proceed to my cart and start off on my assign rooms. I assist guests throughout the day making sure they are enjoying their stay. What I learned was to make sure each guest is satisfied and if anything, hoping they are well pleased – more... with my hard work cleaning each room to my best ability, I have also gotten alot comfortable with different guests and situations some good some bad, management is somewhat fair, but there are times where things are a problem, they sometimes tend to side with the mexicans working there, if there is an issue they are quick to make an excuse for them, because majority do not speak full english , which is understandable, but there are times where it isn't fair to the rest of the housekeepers working there. My co- workers are okay, but I do not speak spanish, so it is sometimes are to understand some of them, I tend to speak when spoken to to keep the problems down, but there are times where some of them are starting problems, things that aren't that important, for an example : one of them tried to accuse me of stealing their lunch, then when I was completely honest and told them I didn't they proceeded to have one of the other co-workers look on my cart without my permission, which I had showed them my whole bag of lunch on break which didn't have any of their lunch in my bag. The hardest part of the job is really the guests complaints, sometimes I can do the best job ever and there could be a complaint about something anyway, its really on how you handle the situation, which is professionally. The most enjoyable part of the job is you get to meet new people, gain more customer service and have pride in what you do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Houseman (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYNovember 20, 2014
● Cleaned hallways, restrooms, lobby, fitness, pool areas, elevators, and outside of building grounds.
● Emptied waste baskets, emptied and transported other trash and waste to disposal areas.
● Replenished supplies such as linens and bathroom items.
● Kept storage areas and carts well-stocked, clean, and tidy.
● Swept, scrubbed, mopped floors, using – more... brooms, mops, and rags.
● Cleaned rugs, carpets, upholstered furniture, draperies, using vacuum cleaners and/or shampooers.
● Washed windows, walls, ceilings, and woodwork, waxed and polished as necessary.
● Carrier linens, towels, toilet items, and cleaning supplies, using wheeled carts or by hand as needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORKED 3DR SHIFT GOOD HOURS
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Roxboro, NCNovember 18, 2014
Pros: had my entire day to my self
Cons: pay was not good and not advancements
LOVED MEETING NEW PEOPLE
LOVED WORKING 3RD SHIFT
CO WORKERS WAS NICE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new managemnet in not prepared for this job
front desk associate (Former Employee), Borger, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: discouns at any hilton hotel
Cons: eight hour shifts can be exhausting
Love working for Hilton and with coworkers. When new management came in the atmosphere got very uncomfortable and was super stressing working for the new general manager. I enjoyed helping guests and being able to actually interact with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive staff, with complementary breakfeast
Front Desk Clerk/Night Audit (Former Employee), Westchester, ILNovember 17, 2014
My day would start off getting a cup of coffee in the morning before my shift, after clocking in i would talk with the manager and the last desk clerk to relay information about the guest and groups that were at our hotel, after that i would balance the cash drawer and clean up around the front desk, i would have to say the most enjoyable part in working – more... there was talking and getting to know the guest, and helping them out with whatever they needed. the hardest part of the job was cleaning rooms when they weren't ready and find guest another hotel if we were booked – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Tampa, FLNovember 17, 2014
Honestly i dont have alot to say about the company. I wanted to advance and they wouldnt allow it. They wanted me to stay in a housekeeping position when I wanted to advance and do more in customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hampton Inn
Maid/Housekeeping Cleaner (Former Employee), Forsyth, ILNovember 15, 2014
awesome environment. good housekeeping training staff. Friendly co-workers. Hardest part was the first day. But with training being so great i caught on easily. Loved everyday of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping busy
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Enid, OKNovember 15, 2014
Pros: lots of hours
Cons: some of manager
When working there it was easy to keep busy since the hotel was practically full every night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment but horrible manager
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ILNovember 14, 2014
Pros: excellent employee discount
Cons: management is poor
The atmosphere is friendly but the management, not so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Night Auditor (Current Employee), Belton, MONovember 13, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers!
Cons: no health benefits
The GM here is by far the best one I've worked for. She's down to business, but has a heart of gold and is compassionate. A typical day of work, for me, starts at 11pm. As everyone is headed to bed, I'm heading to work to hold down the fort. During my shift, I answer phones, greet guests, check guests in to their hotel room, stock the "suite shop" (aka – more... our mini gift shop), perform the night audit, help in laundry, make coffee, and start breakfast. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALNovember 12, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: healthcare
I learned to always put guest first and have a good attuitde.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your not a favorite you are a target..
Care not to mention (Former Employee), Middletown, NYNovember 12, 2014
Pros: good benefits
The company that owned the hotel was great but the management on property was less then stellar. If you weren't a favorite you were a target. Also the manager of the property next door (Courtyard by Marriott) was the area manager and she gave preferential treatment to the staff there. The GM at the Hampton had favorites. They would tell everyone how – more... great someone was and in quarterly meetings and then fire them the next day and lie why that person was fired. They went thru sales people like water for about 8 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural facility
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Madison, GANovember 12, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: management showed favoritism
A typical day consisted of checking guests in/out, answering phone calls, transferring calls, assigning rooms, communicating with housekeeping, preparing coffee, keeping front desk clean, counting money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance Tech
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee), Garden City, KSNovember 11, 2014
Pros: love the people
Cons: not enough hours
goundskeeping trash, painting, banquet set ups, pool maintenance, food inventory, basic preventative maintenance. Weed pulling, assisting the front desk, work orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Florence, SCNovember 11, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no cons
This is a great job to have if you love cleaning and hanging out in the hotel environment !

About Hampton Inn

Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus/Polaris is owned and operated by Buffalo Lodging Associates, LLC, a hotel development & – Read more