Hancock Fabrics Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WANovember 16, 2017
I loved this job. I advanced quickly in the ranks and worked with an amazing group of people. If it was not for my rough pregnancy, I would have stayed at that location until it went out of business a few years later. Absolutely loved all the workers and all my regular customers!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management was not capable to have the job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARNovember 15, 2017
The management was unfair and made the workplace very stressful. I did not enjoy this job and I can see why it went out of business here. If they would have gotten another manager the business would have run alot smoother and the employees would have enjoyed their jobs.
Pros
none
Cons
management, very few hours and threatened to get fired at every small mistake or having to call in for illness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabrics and Fabric Accesories
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houma, LANovember 3, 2017
Retail store attendant. A rather boring part time job, among many, during college at Nicholls State. I assisted all customers, but had no register duties. Performed all actions as directed by store manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun creative place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILNovember 2, 2017
It is difficult to review since the company went bankrupt. I did enjoy all my time there to work with people creating crafts or garments. The store filled an important niche.
Pros
Ability to learn while working
Cons
short breaks, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay.
Sales Clerk / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 25, 2017
Working at Hancock Fabrics was a creative outlet. I loved working with the customers and most of my fellow employees. I enjoyed doing product demonstrations.
Pros
Lots of customer contact.
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Notions Clerk (Former Employee) –  Baldwyn, MSOctober 21, 2017
Lots of paper work,lead skills,managment great,part of a family,telling someone they were no longer needed,being around people.I was always busy. there was lots to learn about the company.I think the company would of last with better leadership. It was very heartbreaking to many of us.
Pros
flexible
Cons
getting your raise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Guntown, MSSeptember 13, 2017
a great place to work .. very family orentiented place... you had to do production everyday but it was not set too high... could talk to management very easily and felt they understood....
Pros
family based and good benifits
Cons
plant closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too bad they are closing stores
Associate (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNSeptember 13, 2017
This was a great place to work if you like to sew or anything crafty. Management was pleasant to work for. I loved helping customers find what they needed for their projects and hearing new ideas.
Pros
the job
Cons
no benefits and lack of hours available
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  Baldwyn, MSSeptember 13, 2017
Enjoyed my work experience at Hancock Fabrics but due to closure of the company, I was forced to leave to find another job opportunity. The environment was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a key holder/supervisor for a retail sales company
Supervisor/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Salem, NCSeptember 9, 2017
The company went Bankrupt after 40 plus years in business. They closed over 250 retails store locations throughout the country, laying off and terminating over 3,500 employees.
Pros
Enjoyed the nature of the business, great customer base.
Cons
Long hours, lack of corporate support from our home office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYAugust 28, 2017
They were a great company to work for and then they file bankruptcy and went out of business. I really enjoyed my job there wish they wouldn't have gone out of business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too hot
Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Baldwyn, MSAugust 28, 2017
This was a warehouse. In the summer all you done was sweat. That's when our orders were at its peak. I also pulled orders. I billed the orders that left the department each day.
Pros
Fun people
Cons
Hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's a reason it went out of business.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILAugust 23, 2017
I enjoyed working there because I got to help other people be creative and it inspired my own creativity in turn. That said, it wasn't the best place to work.
Pros
Employee discount on store merchandise.
Cons
Pay was very poor and hours were inconsistent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARAugust 21, 2017
The management was very nice and willing to work with your schedule. The workplace was sometimes very hectic but manageable. My manager was excellent.
Pros
work with schedule
Cons
benefits bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Shipping clerk, assistant inventory manager (Former Employee) –  Baldwyn, MSAugust 21, 2017
A typical work day at Hancock in included checking in orders, making sure they were loaded on the correct truck and loaded correctly, entering orders into computer, sending out eta's by email and computer to other departments.
Pros
Team work
Cons
closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  Baldwyn, MSAugust 10, 2017
I loved this I loved what I done I loved my supervisor his assistant my co workers my job was pretty much always fun and it paid decent great overall.
Pros
Great managment, supervisor, and job
Cons
Sometime working in shipping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, Great customers
Sales Associate Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAAugust 2, 2017
I had an enjoyable experience working at Hancock. Staff was friendly and easy to get along with. Got to know customers and built repeat customers. Management was knowledgeable and trained me well for management.
Pros
got to really know customers, good work environment
Cons
no benefits insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, UTJune 29, 2017
Cleaning, put away stock, and helping customers. I learned to let things roll of, for example, angry customers. Management was okay at best. The hardest part was standing all day on hard floors and not getting enough to do it. The coworkers were the best part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and great co workers.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCJune 26, 2017
Loved working for Hancock, it was a fun workplace.I loved helping the customers find what they were looking for, and giving them ideas. Was not expecting them to close their doors. I loved working with the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDJune 16, 2017
Good people very helpful had a home feel vibe amongst the staff. management was very helpful and willing to accommodate. overall good experience for the most part
Pros
good people
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hancock Fabrics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 226 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4