Handy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A let-down
Independent Contractor/ Cleaning Professional (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 10, 2017
The company had all the potential to be "The Uber of Cleaning"-- convenient, affordable, and booming. However, It is none of the above because management is so poor, not even their employees are given a phone number to reach out if we have any questions, concerns, etc. This, too, is a complaint from MANY customers-- no phone number to contact anyone in charge! Ridiculous! I am leaving because there are literally no jobs on the platform to choose from. It looks like their horrible customer service, untrained staff, and lack of honesty has finally caught up with them.
Pros
Media opportunities; flexibility
Cons
No benefits, no stability (jobs are not always available), no management or customer service, no training for staff, unrealistic expectations sold to customers and employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you get the skills, its worth it
Man, Freelance/Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 3, 2017
As the title suggests, this job is worth it if you have the skills and are willing to work physical labour. the hours are regular only if you have a good client base and there are no benefits
Cons
hard on your body
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for this company was a great learning experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaNovember 28, 2017
This job was a great slow-paced neighborhood grocery/gas station. I'm sorry I had to leave the employees and the customers. It was a family store around a big neighborhood.
Pros
Regular customers
Cons
I had to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place to work for
Professional Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 24, 2017
I do not recommend this company to anyone to work for no matter how much you need the money. They charge you if you're late to a job if the customer is unhappy which nobody is ever 100% happy you get a bad rating it could change your pay rate it's ridiculous my van broke down and I was one of the top cleaners at the company I had a 10 rating across the board well when my van broke down I couldn't work the company charged me$50 per job and I was working 5 jobs a day 7 days a week even though all my clients had no problem rescheduling with me handy still charge me so you do the math. I don't work for free I work hard and I was so unappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no commication and safety of workers is hard
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 20, 2017
everyday you were check the handy protal app and seek which jobs you found in your location that you were intrested in. sometimes the clients would be home, you need your own cleaning products which you do not get paid back for by the company, also in case of any emergency there is no number to call. i once had to leave a job site because a client left open drugs in the house and i felt very unsafe and i had to email them and wait 15 mins for a response hen fight for myself not to be charged for the job being incomplete
Pros
choose your own hours and work schedule
Cons
not medical, no human commication with employers of handy . all done through email
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
when gas is factored in you make less then min. wage
Professional Handyman (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 6, 2017
Handy has recently been trying to pay me by the 1/2 hour. Where in the entire world do you get paid by the 1/2 hour. These clowns are keeping all the money and screwing over the workers. I drive 30-45 minutes anywhere in Denver and do a $30 job. Then drive back. So 3 hours =$30 and then gas isn't free so , you make less then minimum wage working with these jokers.
Pros
there are none, you can get APP jobs all over they offer nothing new or special.
Cons
less then minimum wage!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 3, 2017
Easy job basically independent which is good you go when you want for however long you want which I liked. But when I lost my car they should have somthing like a carpool type thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 31, 2017
easy hours
flexible
nice people
cash is low
not a lot of job opportunities
could be better at job selection within the city your working from
great opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self managed cleaning
Professional Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 25, 2017
As a handybook professional I cleaned clients homes for a standard hourly rate. this job was easy and fun for me because I have a passion for cleanness and organization. Because this job was independent work the jobs were not available often enough for me to make sufficient regular income.
Pros
easy hire process and great work atmosphere
Cons
not enough job offers daily and low pay rates
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If pocket change floats your boat...
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 19, 2017
Charge you $75 for a background check then proceed to constantly and mysteriously cancel any job you schedule once they collect that $75 from you after completed jobs. Customers can cancel the day before with no repercussions. If you do that, $10 charge. Do it on the day of it can be as high as $50 whether you have an emergency or not. Canceling a job has repercussions for you no matter when you do it, your pay rate is reduced,taking even more of your money from you! This is definitely a fee based company. All of their money is made of the backs of their employees with those fees. Need to speak to a live person? Good luck with that. You can send an email that will get you a computer generated response. You have no idea exactly where you are going until the night before and have no idea what the client expects from you until you are literally walking in their home! You don't know how long they want you for until the last minute and most clients are cheap and opt for the 2 hours when you probably need 3. They want to charge you for access to a listing to more jobs. Really?!?? Then will cancel at last minute. Try it out and then come back to this post and see if everything said isn't the truth.
Pros
Choose your own hours
Cons
Pay, fees, lack of customer support
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun for what it was
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Renfro Valley, KYOctober 16, 2017
typical gas station job. met different people, learned things you don't know about gas station employment. Cleaned store, stocked, counted and put away inventory
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smooth place to work In
Professional Cleaner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 12, 2017
Because your an independent contractor you work for yourself . No rules no one to speak to communication comes from the internet . You can only get direct deposit
Pros
No rules no management
Cons
Blah
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enought hours
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  New york, nyOctober 9, 2017
Handy is a great company if you have the right hours, never had a problem, although sometimes when I arrived at clients home they weren't there which was a waste of car fare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Maintenance/Janitorial Worker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 5, 2017
the good part is that you get to pick your hours the bad part is you dont have a direct contact number to anyone when their are concerns and problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn't know the first thing about cleaning
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 28, 2017
This company started out great when they came to Vegas over three yrs ago. You could always speak to a person in dispatch who really made an effort to resolve your problem. Pay was competitive and you only needed a talk/text phone. Over time the website via computer was deleted and you were forced to get a smartphone. Then there was NO way for a cleaner or customer to talk to a person. You had to use an app or send an email with mixed results. Finally, they CUT our pay, even for myself, after 3 yrs work and excellent ratings. They do penalize you for everything under the Sun as well. I was more disappointed with each passing month and finally quit a few months ago but not before dissatisfied customers asked me to take on their homes on a personal basis. The customers were always angry at Handy for their horrible customer service. I understand it is even worse now. It is completely evident that whoever runs this company would not know a vacuum cleaner from a frog's rear. Don't waste your valuable time or talent with this cheapskate company. They do not reward loyalty or good work.
Pros
Used to be a good company a few years ago
Cons
Now a horrible money grubbing venture for the owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handy Amateur hour.....No Pros need apply here
Professional Technician (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 25, 2017
Absolutely awfull pay. Almost all jobs are for 2 hours and $40. That includes travel. They expect you to complete large jobs that normally pay upwards of $200 or more for this $40 or you have to tell your customer to get on the app and request more hours, which upsets them.

No one to talk to if there is a problem
Pros
None i have come across yet
Cons
Awful pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 28NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 19, 2017
A typical day at work for handy is just arriving at the homes and getting straight to work. If you're hardworking and do a good job, you not only occassionally get tips, but also the customers often request for you again the next time they need a handy worker for their place. I became a regular for a couple of customers. The hardest part of the job however was when there was no work for you to claim or when you did claim work and it ended up getting cancelled.
Pros
occasional tips, meet friendly people
Cons
competitive work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICE AIDE (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CA 90232September 10, 2017
A typical day at work is a fast pace work drive to different locations for two jobs. The customer could cancel the service the same day. no vacations no benefits but good pay
Pros
tips
Cons
no breaks, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to work for yourself this is for you!
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 8, 2017
Handy is a job for ppl who want extra money. Flexiable hours. Nice pay rate, but I don't recommend you leaving a job to work strictly for Handy. This should be a side job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cleaner/Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  EverywhereAugust 30, 2017
This job you choose your own schedule also you are your own boss I love that it let me choose how I work also they pay is great you see your pay right there and then
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Handy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 208 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0