Hanley Wood Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Office, Very little instructions
Field Research (Former Employee) –  DelawareJune 8, 2017
Very little training is offered. Attention to detail is lacking. Office personnel dress as if headed to yoga class. Very poor communication and lack of good grammar in emails & text messages.
Pros
Work from Home
Cons
lack of training and professionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Market Research
Market Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 30, 2017
This was a great job for a college grad with interest in Real Estate development. The company has since merged with its main competitor but was a fun field market research position that helped me get an understanding of the market. The 2007 collapse marked the end of my tenure in this position, but really enjoyed it while it lasted.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepare for Changes
Regional Director (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 26, 2016
Definitely a company with growing pains but a solid bottom line overall. Often confusion on which direction they are moving but eventually they get there.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Job instability
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company I ever worked!
Accounts Payable Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 6, 2016
The CEO set the tone of how everyone was treated at this company!
He knew every employee by name. He was very personable; balance between work and family was very important to him.
He treated us like family, his company was our company.

Just the best place I have ever worked.
Pros
The kitchen was filled with everything you need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.
Project Manager/Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington DCAugust 13, 2015
great company to work for, in a great location, and expanding. I would definitely recommend this company for a variety of career choices
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs if you are a creative
Senior Content Manager (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis MNAugust 6, 2015
Extremely high turnover; psychotic managers who have either been there way too long and/or will do all kinds of unethical things to keep their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Strategy in a Struggling Market
Executive Director, Customer Marketing (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 20, 2015
The company has been undergoing a lot of change in recent years, but I was able to diversify and even elevate my responsibilities during my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, unfortunately happened at a poor time in the economy
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJuly 9, 2014
Great place to work, was laid off due to down turn in the real estate market
Pros
Work from home, schedule
Cons
Limited advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place filled with great people and technology
Exhibits Manager (Former Employee) –  Addison, ILJanuary 3, 2014
Learned how to manage World of Concrete, an 800,000 trade show with over 20,000 attendees. Gained knowledge of operations, logistics and floor plan management. I really enjoyed the variety of work in both the national and World of Concrete Argentina, Panama & Mexico.
Pros
Employee appreciation & profit sharing
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best creative company I've worked for
Contract Production Designer (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJune 20, 2013
I did Fedex legal sheet and a saw blade catalog. Great work team and everyone seemed to know what they were doing. Management was very good. Great project managers. No inner fighting in the company that I could tell.
Pros
Everyone knew what they were doing
Cons
Only a contract job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Initially a terrific place to work but corporate climate soured when significant job cuts were intitiated
Senior Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 30, 2013
I originally loved coming to work at Hanley Wood; however, the current climate has changed significantly with frequent lay-offs and replacements with younger, less experienced employees. There seems to be little attempt to transition current employees into different positions.
Pros
Great healthcare program with wellness incentives
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All around solid company.
Property Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMarch 6, 2013
With management who cares for your well being, provide plenty of resources, perks and benefits, along with considerate co-workers around you, the rigorous work load for a day's worth can go by like a breeze.
Pros
management, resources, perks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of work, open management style that allows for professional and personal growth.
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 7, 2012
I learned many things about the housing industry working at this company. The management style allowed for me to be independent in my work which gave me confidence to perform to my top ability while at the same time providing numerous opportunity for in depth training and continuing work education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dedicated and smart company
Senior Web Producer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 1, 2012
Although I was laid off, the company operates as finely-tuned machine which has allowed it to be profitable and successful over the years. The keep lean and are not frivolous with how they spend money. They are strategic and smart. I enjoyed my time there.
Pros
friendly
Cons
limited communication from management. big changes are often announced at the last minute.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart.Fast.Competitive.
anonymous (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 21, 2012
Not the place for digital folks, but they are striving to be. Some accounts run smoother than others. There are always the client services staff that are all anout meeting the client's needs, and don't necessarily understand what it entails to meet those demands, but at the end of the day. (and I'm talking 10-12 hour days), it's just mrketing!
Pros
downtown location
Cons
pay, work load, horrible benefits, crabby co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good place to work
Director of Research Operations (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 2, 2012
I enjoyed working with all my staff members. The change of ownership caused a few ripples and some changes that were not so desireable. I learned a lot about market research and data applications.
Pros
i got to work with some really nice people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level job.
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJuly 26, 2012
Hanley Wood is a great place to work once you graduate. Working as a Research Associate you research and track residential developments and get hands on knowledge of the real estate development field.
Pros
team lunch, benefits are decent, relaxed work environment.
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hanley Wood. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7