Hannaford Employee Reviews

Found 783 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work environmnet
Kitchen Associate - Store #8351 (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEJanuary 20, 2017
Good pay (based on experience) Management willing to work with your schedule. Positive attitude from the majority of co workers.
Pros
involved in community. good pay, health benifits
Cons
poor work ethic from younger employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a person in High School
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, MAJanuary 19, 2017
Good work place with an awesome boss. They are good with vacations, sick time, and actually care about you. Great place to work if you are looking for a part time job while still trying to maintain a social life.
Pros
Good management, fun shifts
Cons
Poor weekly hours, some creepy workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place
Selector and forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Town of Schodack, NYJanuary 18, 2017
as long as you keep your mouth shut and do your job there you will be find they pay good hard to move up but other ways to move with company the people you work with made the job
Pros
people
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Associate (Current Employee) –  Rindge, NHJanuary 17, 2017
Hannaford is a great company to work for with lots of growth opportunities. The fellow associates are fun and hard working. Every day is different and challenging.
Pros
Growth oppurtunities
Cons
Family life can suffer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it but not enough.
Customer Service Leader (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NHJanuary 14, 2017
The front end is constantly under staffed and management is way to close and its like they don't care. I'm not comfortable to go to one manager about the other and they are not that welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Pine Bush, NYJanuary 11, 2017
Good job, environment and flexible. Perfect for students, parents or anyone with a busy schedule and in need of work. Everyone that works there is nice and willing to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting fun way to spend your time working.
Meat Associate (Former Employee) –  Derry, NHJanuary 11, 2017
Hannafords is a great company and was always a good work environment. Definitely recommend this company to all that love grocery store work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good with students
Deli associate (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJanuary 9, 2017
Higher-ups in management are good with working with students, making sure they can balance work and education. A typical day at work involves stocking, cleaning, and interacting with customers in a fast-paced environment. Coworkers tend to be pleasant, and help each other get through department tasks while managing customer flow. Management is detached at times and does not always make sure employees are able to complete all work on time. Managing customer service and department tasks (i.e. cleaning, restocking, etc) is the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part is interacting with regular customers.
Pros
free k-cup coffee in break room
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, lots of happy people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ellsworth, MEJanuary 8, 2017
Working for the hannaford company was a part time thing while I was in college, it gave me the ability to truly engage with my community and see many smiling faces come in and out of the store satisfied with their purchases.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, and friendly
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Williston, VTJanuary 4, 2017
It was fast pace but the training was very well maintained and easy to pick up. When I was training at Hannaford, they didn't overwhelm me with a dozen tasks on my first week. Instead they walked me through the basics, guided me through the daily tasks and ACTUALLY stayed by my side the first 3 days to make sure that I was understanding the procedures and knowledge on why and what I was doing. What I truly loved was the weekly quizzes on food-born illnesses and what actions you need to take if you are ill.
Pros
Family oriented, decent pay, involved in the community
Cons
very strict on punching in and out on lunches and going over 30 minutes on your lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pretty good company to work for
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Upstate NYJanuary 4, 2017
Employees are generally treated kindly and respectfully. Flexibility in scheduling seems good. Like most retail employers, most benefits are provided only for full-time employees and starting pay for hourly-pay employees is largely in the range of $9 to $10.50/hr. There is some sick and holiday pay, even for new employees. A minus is that unlike some retail employers, there is no employee shopping discount. One positive that seems rare among many corporations is that Hannaford seems to truly care about the needs of both its employees and its customers and, unlike most other grocery retailers, it normally doesn't use marketing tricks or gimmicks. Opportunity for department or geographic relocation is good. Over all, Hannaford is a good place to work.
Pros
An over all respect and concern for employees, company ethics, flexible scheduling, transfer opportunities
Cons
Hourly employee starting pay relatively low, minimal benefits for part-time employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced environment
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Rutland, VTJanuary 2, 2017
Working at Hannaford was a very fun fast place.. The customers were great there always happy to see you. There is a lot to learn but you will get the hang of it pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Bakery Associate (Current Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYJanuary 2, 2017
work very early in am or close. learned alot about bakery. management is nice. co-workers are good team players. the changing schedule is very difficult. love the people i work with
Pros
free lunches and nice co workers
Cons
schedule never same
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  New HampshireJanuary 2, 2017
Started working for the company while still in High School. Was a great first job for students looking to make a little extra money. As I moved into college I was able to contact my Manager and be put on the schedule for when I would be on break. Given reasonable hours week wise and length wise per day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Gilford, NHJanuary 2, 2017
Hannafords is a wonderful company to work for. all the employees and managers are kind and helpful. i can honestly say i enjoy going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and training
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  East Greenbush, NYJanuary 2, 2017
Enjoyed working here with great staff and customers. Liked going to work every day and interacting with all the different customers and making their days a little better after they came in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing work space, but customer oriented.
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Clifton Park, NYDecember 30, 2016
Very clean, friendly environment where employees really work together to provide a better experience for the customer. It was a workplace that actually cared about the employees and customers equally.
Pros
3 breaks
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Workplace
Bakery Associate (Current Employee) –  Valatie, NYDecember 28, 2016
Hannaford's is an overall good workplace especially for people trying to get on their feet. When you work at Hannaford's its more like working with family rather than working with coworkers. Everyone helps each other when needed. The management is also very friendly. You can go to them about any problems or concerns that you may have.
Pros
friendly enviroment and people
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO job security
Bakery Associate (Current Employee) –  Wappingers Falls, NYDecember 28, 2016
no job security
hours are not consistent
managers play favorites
co workers are doing the bare minimum
co workers are teens young people 17-23
co workers do have a positive attitude
the pay is decent
job requirements not overly difficult
Pros
the pay
Cons
not a consistent amount of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team worker
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEDecember 27, 2016
I learned to be a great team worker
to be responsible and organizer
take decision by myself dependable what kind of situation
listen and obey and communicated with my supervisor or co worker
Pros
free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hannaford. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 784 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6