Hannaford Employee Reviews

Showing all 193 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Service Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Wappingers Falls, NYFebruary 4, 2016
learned my customer service skills, time management, answering company phones, lottery machine, and western union.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Cashier/service clerk (Former Employee) –  Brewer, MEFebruary 3, 2016
The company Is great if youre looking for a first job. This company doesn't seem to appreciate hardwork apposed to standing around waisting money. They seem to value the managers and that's about it. If you are not a manager then you wont even be looked upon while working with them.
Pros
free popcorn in breakroom
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work place
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Livermore Falls, MEJanuary 24, 2016
It was a great store to work for.Im sad I had to quit for personal reasons.A typical day at work was slow but at a pace you always had work and comfortable.
Pros
Good enviroment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Bar Harbor, MEJanuary 5, 2016
I loved working here because I was going at the speed that worked for me but also working with a team was excellent and I was constantly working with the public that I loved doing so.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment.
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Rumford, MEJanuary 4, 2016
Hannaford does it best to hire quality workers! I find that I really enjoy my co-workers and I have a really great manager!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and associates worked well togather
Porduce Associate (Former Employee) –  Wells, MEDecember 17, 2015
Management and associates worked well togather to meet common goal of good customer service.

Management rewarded performance with financial benefits when warranted.

Continuous training on customer service was mandatory for all managers and associates.

In depth training of department products was provided prior to working on the floor.
Pros
Scheduling of work hours was done in a collaborate manner with associate.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work,
Stock Clerk (over night) (Former Employee) –  Niskayuna, NYDecember 15, 2015
Clocked in
Checked in with management
Blocked store until the truck came in
Pulled pallets to the floor
After all of the pallet were out on the floor, I would start throwing my bulk isles(pet,soap,diaper) while the guys would sort the other pallets in the backroom.When they were done in the back I would help pull the boats to the floor. When I finish getting my bulk product to the shelves I threw my isles,which includes bins, floor displays and end caps.At the end of my shift I would make sure all of my plastic and cardboard was cleaned up,my bulk pallets were off the floor and properly wrapped.
As for my coworkers they were always trying to play a practical joke on each other such as, hiding boat or shopping carts in another isle or hiding their coffee. Our manager would sometimes be in on the joke himself.I would just stand back and laugh.
I think for all of us the hardest part of the job came when the truck was three or four hours late and it upset all of us because, we did not want to get in trouble for not being able to get our jobs done on time.We did not get in trouble for it and were thanked for doing the best we could given the situation.
Pros
Free work out.I did not have to pay to go to the gym
Cons
Trucks being late
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New Windsor, NYDecember 13, 2015
This is a move that you want to make. great management staff. it is the most beautiful workplace on earth. You work, but your co workers are great and you get paid well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but management was very rude
Grocery Store Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, MEDecember 10, 2015
I enjoyed working there and was starting to work my way to a higher position but I was lied to about a raise and I had my hours randomly dropped some weeks without warning to "save money"
Pros
nice people
Cons
not treated like a person
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different deli meats, customer service
Deli associate (Former Employee) –  Falmouth, MEDecember 5, 2015
Was a good first job to work at. This is something that I wouldn't want to do very long just because of the pay scale. Great way to learn how to interact with other people you don't know.
Pros
none
Cons
part time, don't pay enough
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but enjoyable place to work.
Service Clerk/Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Sanford, MENovember 15, 2015
Good scheduling and they take the time to know you as more than just an employee. Busy environment. Good management and good location.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i didnt work there very long because iwas going thru high school
Customer Service Internship (Former Employee) –  Falmouth, MENovember 14, 2015
but i worked at hannaford west falmouth in the grocery / dairy area
while i was there
i did
stacked and faced shelves i rotated stock of milk and other dairy
Pros
it really was hard work but a fun job
Cons
the led lights
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beginner Job
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  South Portland, MEOctober 26, 2015
Not a hard job to do. Was a good job to have while in school because of flexible hours.Bosses were good when you actually saw them and co-workers were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Burlington, VTOctober 23, 2015
preparing salads. taking customer orders. Making platters. restocking. rotating product. we then start closing. we change meat pans. do dishes. clean windows. Clean and take apart slicers, Dishes. sweeping and mopping.
Pros
nice co-workers.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff Pharmacist in a small community
STAFF PHARMACIST (Former Employee) –  Hampton, NHOctober 22, 2015
The work environment was a department in the supermarket; always traffic thru store. This was my first professional job, learned something new everyday. Also, had the opportunity to step in as interim Pharmacy Manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for my first job
Light housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VASeptember 20, 2015
The place was very organize. The coworkers were always polite and helpful when needed. Their I would clean bathroom, bag items for customers, and grett each customer with a smile and a thankyou for coming.The hardest part of the job for me was having to leave . This most enjoyable part to me was meeting all the guest and getting to know them like family.
Pros
people, pay, benefits
Cons
shortbreaks, late co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gardner, MASeptember 14, 2015
i loved this place its fun .. everyone was like family.. you always had to stay busy which made the day go by quick and made good customer service
Pros
fun poeple to work with
Cons
money..hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a good experience working for this company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Red Hook, NYSeptember 14, 2015
Had a very good time with the co-workers.
Everyone got along
The hardest part of the job was breaking down the load some it was very heavy.

I learned to work with different types of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working for Hannaford, good ins and benefits
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dexter Maine, Buds Shop n SaveSeptember 7, 2015
I worked for Hannaford for about 10 years in Dexter Maine, Bud Shop n Save. I had just graduated from H,S, back then., but it was my first job, and i loved it.
Pros
Health ins.
Cons
no complaints .
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produce associate
Producce Associate (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MESeptember 2, 2015
Hannaford was great to work for at first, but once I had developed health issues, mentally and physically, they quickly led me down a path that was beyond my comfort zone- one that was beyond my DIAGNOSED mental disabilities they were aware of.
Pros
None
Cons
Being put into a situation in which I had to quit
Was this review helpful?Yes6No

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 193 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture