Hannaford Employee Reviews

Found 949 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but taxing on the body.
Center Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Brattleboro, VTJune 23, 2017
Hannafords as a whole is a good place to work at. I worked as a cashier before transferring into center store. It's nice because everyone treats each other as family. But I lift 50+ lbs every day that I work and it gets tiring after a while. Also I don't get paid much for working part time.
Pros
Get to meet new people and help customers.
Cons
Tiring physical labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great job
Baggage Handler (Former Employee) –  Kingston, NYJune 22, 2017
I liked working here met new people every day learned new skills water was akways available also towels when needed you were allowed to sit down if needed
Pros
Great job
Cons
No con
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rotterdam, NYJune 22, 2017
Fun, friendly people for the most part. Not many hours for someone with kids. I left because the pay rate and it started to go off track with my personal life schedule.
Pros
Vacation time.
Cons
Low pay rates, no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best!
Bakery Associate (Former Employee) –  Bennington, VTJune 20, 2017
Hannaford Bakery is the best place I have ever worked. I always went to work and came home happy. I LOVED this job. Everyone was so friendly and made me feel right at home. 10/10!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, great experience.
Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  New Windsor, NYJune 19, 2017
Great job, they just need better managers. They need to hire people who has good time management skills and who is professional. Also, someone who can manage more than 1 task at a time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEJune 18, 2017
It was a nice place to work. My coworkers were nice and for the most part so were the customers. The training was long which was good because I felt prepared for the job.
Pros
They prepare you well for the job
Cons
Short breaks, no discounts on groceries, constantly changing work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hannaford
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  New Hartford, NYJune 18, 2017
it's not a bad place to work, however pretty hard to move up in the company. The management is terrible at most stores. Company has good benefits for their employees .
Pros
cross training
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Service Leader (Former Employee) –  Pawling, NYJune 18, 2017
First actual job and was a great entrance into the work force, staff is great and it was always a positive environment, would work with school schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Derry, NHJune 17, 2017
Great place to work, positive and friendly working environment. Never had an issue with my job. Management is awesome and friendly. Any issues or concerns I can always count on my managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and grow in customer service
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guilderland, NYJune 17, 2017
The most enjoyable part of working with hannaford is the customers. I love working in customer service and being hands on with my customers. The management team is very friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varying schedule
Part Time Assistant Shift Leader Deli Dept (Former Employee) –  Amsterdam, NYJune 16, 2017
No two days were the same and was always busy. Seemed to give more hours to teens that were in school and less hours to people that wanted them. They were good about getting time off if you need it.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Varying work times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pharmacy chain to work for
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Sanford, MEJune 16, 2017
Good pharmacy chain to work for in the northeast. Grocery store retail chain. Fairly good tech to pharmacist ratio. Good benefits and salary. But still retail pharmacy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Glens Falls, NYJune 16, 2017
I enjoyed working there, would have preferred more hours but they were very hard to come by. not really an advancement job either that I noticed. Very worried about speed more than accuracy of scanning items. Always things you needed the front end was readily available.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment with good Management
Deli market server (Former Employee) –  St. Albans, VTJune 15, 2017
Hannaford offered a reliable stable work environment with excellent communication between employer and employee. They also were very respectful for needed time off if you gave the courtesy of 2 weeks in advanced.

Overall a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good work Environment
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Falmouth, MEJune 15, 2017
A typical day at work is pretty good at Hannaford, workers are productive and teamwork is great. Managment is really awesome and great to work for. The most enjoyable part of my job is the people, I love interacting with others and acting as a team. The hardest part of my job is having to "keep on top of others". I do feel like I have to do most of the load while working there as there are some fellow associates who do not pull their weight. The workplace culture overall is a terrific place to work and I have enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Friendly Associates and Great Management
Cons
Tedious, Speed of Work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Utica, NYJune 14, 2017
I liked working at Hanna Fords, its a great place to work at. The coworkers are great there, and they help one another that's the beauty of Hanna ford.
Pros
great coworkers, team work
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place..
Meat Cutter/Butcher (Former Employee) –  Quincy, MAJune 14, 2017
It was is good company,we had good benefit, the manager was very nice, I do not have any bad to said about hannaford supermarket,it was a good experience work it them.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Bakery Associate (Current Employee) –  Concord, NHJune 13, 2017
Very accepting and friendly environment with flexibility for people like me who also go to college. Very simple work that is not stressful and can be enjoyed.
Pros
Breaks, happy people, flexibility
Cons
Always cold inside the store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As far as retail/grocery goes, it's a pretty great place.
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Highland, NYJune 12, 2017
I work in the deli so I have gotten to know everyone in town. The company itself does its best to make sure that you are able to fix customer issues on your own which I appreciate. All in all, one of my favorite retail positions.
Pros
Great management, Very LGBTQA Friendly.
Cons
Pay is pretty low, hours are not the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you go to school
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bridgton, MEJune 12, 2017
I liked working at Hannaford because it worked around my school schedule and I could take time off when needed. It is a very relaxed environment and you aren't expected to know much at all.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
no benefits and not a great place for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hannaford. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 951 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

78%
254 ratings
Add your rating