Find companies:
Hannaford
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
113 reviews

Hannaford Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Center Store Associate (Current Employee), Hooksett, NHJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: food in the break room, often made lunch for us
Cons: pay
A typical day would be me starting my day at 6 am and receiving the dairy load. I would sort out the load based on where the items belong in the aisle, then stock the dairy items to the shelf. This would take a few hours, and I would also keep track of the eggs and milk to make sure they do not run out. This has taught me time management because I need – more... to be able to put up an entire dairy load in eight hours of less, while maintaing eggs and milk. The management depends on what store I work at, and for the most part they are pretty good at giving a helping hand if needed. At one of the stores that I worked at, my manager was very unorganized and would start to many projects at one time and struggled to finish them. I did not approve of his managing skills because he would often get upset and take it out on their employees. The employees that I worked with are all nice, easy going people. They made the job enjoyable to go to everyday because they gave me someone to talk to and joke around with. The hardest part of the job was to get the entire dairy load up on certain days when the load was larger than normal. The most enjoyable part is working with my co-workers because if it was not for them I would get very bored and it would make the days drag on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasted 6 years
Assistant Manager of Customer Service (Former Employee), PawlingJanuary 24, 2013
I worked for Hannaford for six years and its all about who you know and whose butt you kiss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
same thing everyday
Assistant stock crew manager (Current Employee), Westbrook, MEJanuary 24, 2013
work freight to the shelvs, same thing everyday, long days, favoritism
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Deli Manager (Former Employee), West Lebanon NHJanuary 23, 2013
Great place to work. Friendly people and good management. Fast paced in larger stores. Alot of hands on work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Part time Evening supervisor (Current Employee), Waldoboro, MEJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: they cook meals for us some times
Cons: healthcacare
It can be a good place to work. Vary hard to get full time. They have part timers work 40 houses a week. Management comes and go vary quickly. The customers are the best part of the job the seem to really care about all the workers. Most of the co-workers are a blast to work with. The hardest part is the amount of work they give you with little time – more... to do it in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a corprate company.
Deli Associate (Former Employee), West Sand LakeJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: the biggest raise you can expect is the required minimum
While you do have excellent job security, they do let 20% of the people do 80% of the work. Since there are such specific rules about firing once someone is hired, it is hard to get rid of a slacker unless they steal or simply call in too much. This leaves the hard workers to pick up the slck with very little chance of a raise for doing other's work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay/benefits were good, everything else was terrible
Assistant Overnight Crew Chief (Former Employee), Bedford, NHDecember 31, 2012
Pros: easy commute, pay was good, good amount of vacation time (though, i never understood how the system worked)
Cons: see review (there's so many that they didn't fit into this box)
The work environment is poor and there are times when one can't understand how some of the workers a) were hired and b) have kept their jobs. But these are merely symptoms of the disease. Management is at the heart of this problem.

In terms of corporate-level management, employees are viewed not as resources or assets, but obstacles in the way of profit. – more... The policies handed down seem arbitrary, and woe unto the person that draws any amount of overtime.

At the store level, the managers' primary job seems to be preventing themselves from getting in trouble with the District Managers and Regional VP. They are ruled by fear, and so they in turn rule by fear. The sole motivation of the employees in fear of the write-up. Room to grow with the company has been eliminated. They now take the Gilded Age approach of hiring from the outside, grinding everyone into the ground and then replacing them. Managers are insulting and flippant in their tone. As a result, the workers morale is through the floor.

Before the Belgians took over, it was a good place to work. Now there is literally no reason to work there. The only good things I can say about the place was that the pay/benefits were good and the commute was easy. That's all I can think of.

Cons: Lazy, unmotivated co-workers, who don't hesitate for a second to talk back to you, ignorant, arrogant management who do not understand how to run a grocery store, no-training (no joke; there were whole aspects of my job that were never went over with me), but still expect you to do things you were never trained to do, out of control neptotism to the point where it harmed the store, no help from management/management sabotage (deliberately giving you bad instructions to follow to insure you failed at your job), more time spent complaining about work not getting done than just shutting-up and doing work, out of control ordering that made load sizes way above what they were suppose to be (who do they think they are, Market Basket?), load sizes that are so big that they can't possibly fit in the backroom given, (but hey, if they actually ordered correctly, the stuff should fit in fine), why are the load sizes the same size as they were this time last year despite the fact the store sales are down 10% year-over-year?, constant changing of expectations/priorities, constantly understaffed, every procedure is timed, but the times given aren't realistic and if you can't do the procedures in the given, unrealistic, time allotted, you can get fired, selective accountability, grocery department consisted of seven different departments working against each other, management that spoke badly of the night crew in front of the day crew given them added incentive to mess with the night crew, management giving day crew instructions that would make the night crew's job harder to do, lack of u-boats or any other type of equipment to help get product to salesfloor, not enough people certified to use powerjacks/forklifts, even in a "supervisory" role, I was not allowed to deligate work, "work plans" that were made by management the day before and don't take into account if loads arrive late/sick calls, etc. that may affect said plan, completely incomprehensible vacation time system, time not given to clean up backroom, but if the backroom isn't cleaned up, you get disciplined, refrigeration system that fails too often, inconsistent load arrival times, whole days where no one for the grocery department would be scheduled(other than night crew), inconsistent load sizes (again, ordering), mangement who spoke of "standards" (anyone who has worked here would know what I'm talking about), but don't follow such standards when stocking (strange how the rules don't seem to apply to them now does it?), front end associates being brought in to work in grocery department during the day with no supervision, no supervision in the backroom at all during the day, grocery items being intentionally dissorganized in order to "free-up" rooom out back, jobs combined that don't make sense together (the receiver doubled as the guy who filled ice cream for example), a manager of non-foods in a grocery store, but no assistant grocery manager? really?, managers who didn't even know where items went in their own department(no, ice tea does not go in the same aisle as the water, try again), glorified office workers doubling as management, associates who have an inflated, overly high opinion of themselves, disscontinued items intentionally being put on repack because corporate won't take them back, but they also can't go out on the salesfloor, so why put them on repack? it just creates more work, inconsistent expectations for associates and how fast they should be working (for some associates, its acceptable to stock shelves like an old lady, for others, throwing stuff on the shelves like a mad man is unacceptable), over reliance on "RE Sheets" to determine how much work should be done, over reliance on write-ups and other paperwork in order to get people fired/demoted ("if it didn't get written down, it didn't happen"), lack of communication between day/night crew, over reliance on useless, non-hands on, time consuming, computer training in order to "complete" training of associates, (like knowing the sexual harrassment policy is suppose to make you a better worker?), managment never really knowing what work has gotten done and what needs to be done even if you have all ready explained it to them (and it really only takes two minutes to figure it out themselves, but they still don't take the time to do it), management spending too much time in offices/cubicles instead of out in the aisles getting their "hands dirty" (if they ever have to, they usually complain) management whining about having to deal with customers (you're in retail, what do you expect?), management whining in general, management not taking enough time to get to know you or your background, mailing termination papers to wrong address, having to request that I be payed for a payed vacation, being told that I may not be payed for my payed vacation, having to do work for managers when they're too lazy to do it themselves even though I all ready have enough to do, pallets that come off trucks way too dissorganized and take forever to "sort," designated "sorting area" was too small even by company standards making "breaking down/sorting" pallets a nightmare, trucks that leave after trailer is unloaded and take trailer with them, instead of "dropping" trailer in order to use as extra storage, store manager who blatantly ignored my doctor's orders for me not work and told me to work any way, then being told by another manager that the doctor's note said I was "pretty much cleared to work at 100%" (are we even talking about the same doctor's note?) being told that I'm not getting enough done despite the fact I'm injured, complete with papers being thrown at me (apparently the managers here double as doctors), being written up for not reporting an injury where I tripped over a u-boat with no end-rail, because they needed to be made aware of why it happened, so they could prevent another injury from happening, but yet, when I come in later that night, there's u-boats with no end-rails on them (glad they took that so seriously) and no accomedations were made for me as it related to my injury (I couldn't bend my knees, but yet they expect me to scale a pile of plastic pallets in order to open a door?), mangement who accuses you of doing things you didn't do with no proof just becase in their mind, it sounds reasonable that you would do something like that (that's all the proof you need at Hannaford), signing write-ups that are filled with out right lies and conjecture by the party doing the write-up (while the offense may warrant a write-up, added details such as your motivations for doing such an offense are completey fabricated) expecting associates with obvious physical/mental limitations to do work that they are not capable of doing, "low spots" or "holes" not being top priority, but instead the priorities are arbitrary such as "whatever aisle has the most re-pack" or "whatever aisles sells the most stuff," no associates scheduled to block aisles or work re-pack during the day (that's the night crew's job), if something needs to be done, but is not a task you "earn time for" on your "RE Sheet", associates/managers will just not do it, if something needs to be done, but its not something that your part of the grocery department is "suppose" to do, associates/management just won't do it, told to call "trucking" whenever a load arrives exceptionally late, but never given an answer other than "its on its way."

Did I leave anything out? – less

February 28, 2013

do they drug test u there ???

August 25, 2013

Nope. No drug testing.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hannaford
Customer Service Leader (Current Employee), Marlborough, MANovember 10, 2012
Pros: hannaford constantly shows associate appreciation.
Cons: hours are constantly fluctuating
I started at Hannaford when I was sixteen years old, they are extremely accommodating to your needs and schedule. Also there is room for advancement if you try hard enough. I began as a cashier, then moved to the bakery nearly two years later. When I was short on hours, they allowed me to work in grocery and on the front end still. Now I am a customer – more... service leader and things are extremely eventful. It is my responsibility to make sure that all front end associates take their scheduled breaks, while also maintaining customer service and performing audits on cash registers. At the end of the night it is my duty to remove all tills from the sales floor, and ensure that they are placed in the cash office for the morning book keeper. The most enjoyable part of the job is my regular customers who've known me for all of the years that I've worked at Hannaford, I've actually developed a strong professional relationship with many of them. The hardest part of the position is dealing with customer complaints in a friendly manner, regardless of how the customer is treating you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok unfair to employee
Deli Associate (Former Employee), Raymond, NHNovember 5, 2012
Pros: ok
Cons: ok
co-workers was great management was not helpful to employee
i love my job i enjoy doing it, i was good at it. i learned to prepearfood and enjoy it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-stop work
Maintenance (Former Employee), Williston, VTOctober 28, 2012
Pros: co-workers worked together
Cons: micro management
Every day was very busy, with constant challenges. The regular customers were one of the best parts of every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Bagger (Former Employee), Hampstead, NHOctober 21, 2012
Productive place to work and learn. Would like to work here again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work in
Bakery Associate (Former Employee), Rockland, MEOctober 18, 2012
Pros: great employee benifits
Cons: n/a
Go through daily inventory, review cake orders, price and put out inventory, decorate cakes, refill muffin trays. I learned that different days fluctuate in sales, sometimes more inventory is needed on certain days than others. Management and co-workers were very kind and hardworking. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the expression on the – more... customers face when presented with our final project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Latham, NYSeptember 18, 2012
Cashed out customers, fun co workers, management was fun and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for going at your own pace
Bakery Associate (Former Employee), Colonie NYSeptember 5, 2012
At Hannaford I was the closing bakery associate so I was by myself for most of my shift in the department. It was a nice change of pace because I basically just got a work list every night and had all night to work on it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Cashier (Former Employee), Quincy, MASeptember 3, 2012
Pros: raise every 6 months
Cons: have to work many holidays
somewhat boring, very nice customers, great opportunity for advancement, nice coworkers, okay hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work within the store
maintence (Former Employee), Lagrangeville, NYAugust 20, 2012
Pros: wonderful work place
Depending on the day i would do these three things 1) maintence- I would start by cleaning the bathroom, then clean the floors, clean all counters in the store then do it all over again 2) stock- in the morning i would go into the back and grab the stock that needed to go out i would do that until there was nothing else to go out then i would face the – more... isles( make the products closer to the edge) 3) I would go to the deli put on my gloves and hat and start cutting customers meats for the day. with everyjob at the end of the day i would make sure that everything was done before i went home. I would get along well with my co workers and bosses. I really enjoyed all of the positions i worked at this job. the hardest part was waiting for customers and everything was clean – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
cashier (Former Employee), Brattleboro, VTAugust 13, 2012
a typical day at work involved cashing out peoples orders an helping customers find items. i learned how to help people find things. management was awesome there friendly an always there to help along with the co-workers. the hardest part of the job was remembering the coupons. the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing all the customers an talking – more... with them all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you enjoy working with people.
Shift Leader (Current Employee), York, MEAugust 12, 2012
Pros: able to obtain benefits working part time.
Cons: have to have open availabilty to work full time.
There is no typical day at work, every day is different depending on the season or even the weather. This makes it interesting and challenging. I have learned to remain calm and in control under pressure. I enjoy working with the wide range of ages, 15yrs thru 80yrs old. There's something to learn from all of them. The hardest part is trying to keep – more... everyone busy during slow times. This way they feel productive and good about coming to work. The management has a lot on their plate and sometimes forget to interact with the "little people". No fault of theres. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Bagger/ Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYAugust 9, 2012
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: part time
Typical day was bagging groceries and stocking shelves.Management was very good, along with my fellow associates. There was nothing particularly hard about this job, and what I enjoyed was working with my mother.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produce associate
Produce associate (Former Employee), Plymouth, NHAugust 9, 2012
working with the public helping customers find produce working with a great employee team

About Hannaford

Hannaford Bros. may have started as a fruit and vegetable stand in 1883, but it has expanded from its Maine roots to become an – Read more