Hanover Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding job, good coworkers, management unconcerned with making the job appealable.
Housekeeping/Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PA 17331February 11, 2016
Wouldn't be a bad job if not for the outside subcontractor running the department. This person in management position has no vested interest in the hospital or its employees. The only interest this person has is what makes them look good to the company they work for. i.e. keeping costs as low as possible by keeping staff numbers low, and continuing to add duties to already very busy shifts. Keeping inadequate and substandard equipment. Running 3 shifts with each shift doing the same jobs differently, creating tension between shifts, and not wanting to address problems or try to find solutions.
Pros
Regular paycheck, coworkers were good people
Cons
Low pay, understaffed, no room for job growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was ok.
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAMay 31, 2016
Work was ok, Management was not friendly, stab you in the back kind. The place was clean, Had a place to eat that was expensive and not that great. Was more security oriented then friendly.
Pros
Clean, Nice MD's.
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ED Tech
ED TEch (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAFebruary 4, 2016
Great co-workers
easy to work with schedule
learned how to do iv's and draw blood for labs
need more experience in working in er
i liked that it was fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most things you've heard about the work environment is true.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAJune 29, 2012
I've learned that unless you become a part of the coworkers "clique" they will find a way to run you out. It is impossible to have a positive attitude because everybody is just so miserable and if you don't agree with their crankiness, they will find a way to make you look bad to management or make you feel miserable enough to quit. I compare my experience at Hanover Hospital as working with a pack of hyenas...If you can't assert your place in their pack, they will chew you up and spit you out.
Was this review helpful?Yes45No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment was enjoyable
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAFebruary 19, 2015
A typical included patrolling the compound for security purposes. Both inside and out. The hardest part of the job was the constant need for the Security Officers to restrain combative patients. The most enjoyable part was the comrade of your co-workers.
Pros
good medical care
Cons
personal safety was constantly at risk.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hanover medical center is beyond bad
STAFF (Former Employee) –  HANOVER EXPRESS CAREJanuary 8, 2013
Hanover medical center is so bad and the executive level at the hospital are just as bad. The management and the staff at hanover medical center are so unprofessional. First impressions when I walked in were horible. It makes me feel uneasy to get care from anyone there because not one is a rn, they are all lpn's or lower. The turnover rate is tremendous at best.
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?Yes29No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with wonderful employees.
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PASeptember 20, 2012
Even though each day was hectic saving lives, I left each day feeling great by knowing what I accomplished during my shift, I did it with wonderful teamwork. From administration down to co-workers, each individual went out of their way to work like a family.
I learned so much in the five years at this hospital gave me a chance to inhance my quick critical thinking, time managment and people skills, along with building my ability to teach.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More ceo's come and go.
EKG (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAApril 30, 2012
CEO AND UPPER MANAGMENT COME AND GO. They make deals that hospital cannot fullfill and leave to another high paying job. They do not intermingle with lower employees or care to so just image what they think of the patients? Not a very stable place to work be carefull who you trust.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes22No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place to work close to home
LPN (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAAugust 28, 2012
In the last 10 years I worked in Occupational Health where they could accommodate my restrictions. I answered phones, scheduled appointments and dealt with companies. I copied charts. I could step into anyone's job in the office if there was a need. The hardest part was saying good-bye after 31 years at the hospital.
Pros
excellent health insurance
Cons
sometimes no breaks and sometimes no lunch breaks or eating lunch at my desk
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small but wonderful Hospital
Telemetry Technician, Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAMay 31, 2012
Great people. Very clean and excellent care! Small but very knowledgeable. Great relationships with management and employees
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked there for almost 10 years
staff nurse (Former Employee) –  Hanover,PAJune 25, 2012
When I left Iwas working in the Cath lab. Great people to work with.
Pros
great people
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Registered Nurse, Operating Room (Current Employee) –  Gettysburg, PAJune 11, 2013
gave me the experience I needed to explore/further my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not have job security
Havoner, PA (Former Employee) –  Cloverleaf Interface CoordinatorNovember 9, 2011
Do not have job security because everyone is out to safe there on butts
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Drug Screen Collector (Current Employee) –  Hanover, PA.February 24, 2012
I absolutely love working here. We always have so much fun, however we also get our job done. We are always meeting new people and helping them get better which makes us feel very good.
Pros
helping people, feeling like you matter.
Cons
only working on call, not many hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying work.
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Hanover, PAOctober 13, 2013
10 hour shifts
Mostly standing
Physically demanding
Hardest part is 10 hour shifts on your feet.
Co-workers are like family.
I enjoy the various task involved in a day.
Pros
always something new
Cons
mostly standing and running
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus on the needs of the patients.
Emergency Room Nurse (Current Employee) –  Hanover, PASeptember 1, 2012
New and fresh every day, new challanges. We are busy everyday and try very hard to meet the needs of our patients and provide a good service to the community of Hanover.
Pros
great doctors and co workers
Cons
not always able to meet patient's expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my coworkers and the patients just no chance to get a dayshift position
CTTechnologist (Current Employee) –  Hanover, PAFebruary 28, 2014
Nice place to work. Great co workers and patients are very friendly. No chance to move up in company or to even get off second shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Guest Relations (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAJune 6, 2012
Hanover hospital is a great place to work. I learned alot about the privacy and protection of the visitors and patients and how important HIPPAA is.
Pros
the people are so helpful and friendly
Cons
lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes5No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Clinical Technician (Current Employee) –  Hanover, PAJanuary 7, 2014
Registering patients ordering lab and or imaging tests. Performing venipuncture on all age groups. Performing EKG's when needed. Verify insurance information and availability.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IS dept is not stabile to work in.
Hanover, PA (Former Employee) –  Interface CoordinatorNovember 4, 2011
IS dept is not stabile to work in. They do not give you the tool to be able to do your job correctly.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.3
Management
2.4
Culture
3.1

Hanover Hospital Reviews by Location