Find companies:
Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
598 reviews

Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, hardwoking enviroment
Ware Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 22, 2015
Pros: hard, steady work.
Cons: not enough hours
Atypical day of work was unloading freight, and then stocking sales floor. and organizing warehouses. I obtained knowledge on how to manage many workers. Co workers worked side by side with me. Keeping the warehouses organized and clean while continually receiving more merchandise. Being able to satisfy the customers and maintaining a well kept store and warehouse was the most satisfying part of all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is very methodical. It's easy because tasks usually just keep repeating themselves
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Dothan, ALJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: the ability to interact with customers and co-workers.
Cons: always being called in on your off days or having your schedule chaged the day of.
At work we unload trucks putting the products both on the floor but also their corresponding location in the warehouse. This job has been refreshing due to being self employed at my home for so long. I've learned through Harbor Freight and my time that I spent caring for my grandfather that there is something built inside a man that needs to go to a job every day, get dirty, get tired, and come home to a family that is ready to see them. It's taught me even more the value of a job and the bridge that it may create in the future. My co-workers are typically young and clueless, but the management is usually in control so work still gets done. The hardest part of this job is such an unpredictable schedule, but at the same time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Springfield, MOJanuary 19, 2015
I've worked here for two years, and I cant say I wouldn't do it again, but it's slow paced and management is horrid, write ups for their own faults, blames you for their incompetence, and you get cut hours consistently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job but management needs work
Cashier, Customer Service (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJanuary 19, 2015
good and flexible but if you need days off your hours will be cut down to one day a week for work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: free lunch during big tent sales
Cons: over night shifts
Everyone worked as a team and helped each other out. If there were issues, then they were brought up and solved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, be ready to learn
Cashier (Former Employee), Redding, CAJanuary 15, 2015
Working at Harbor freight I learned about every tool power and hand.
I is a great place to work, I got to know some really great people, customers and co-workers.
The managers there are very nice and helpful when it coms to training and any questions about products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Brookfield, CTJanuary 13, 2015
Was a decent work place. Needed to have better upper management to create a better work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Life
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), ApopkaJanuary 12, 2015
Pros: start pay
Cons: juvenile store manager. no support from hr or dm. exhausting work
Work here is demanding. Almost no hours to complete anything.Very physical,dirty work. Hard to work with such a jerk store manager. Manager runs around shouting at the hourly employees and then sits in the office half the day.Of course I get to do most of his tasks. Can never ever leave when scheduled and when I have a request for time off he takes priority over me. I have been trying to get out of this place for months and when I do it will be a happy day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Harbor Fright tools usa incJanuary 10, 2015
I loved being a cashier and being able to have people come in and know you by name. Personally i did not like working for the compuny. They have a very poor staff and are not fair about anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on the people you work with, it could be a enjoyable job.
Cashier (Current Employee), Panama City, FLJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: customers.
Cons: management
Management was very poor. Coworkers are decent, some have attitudes, but with a management like ours I don't blame them. Besides that, a typical day at work included getting your job done, you have responsibilities and are required to complete them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major advancement oppurtunities
Operations Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Oceanside, CAJanuary 9, 2015
Plenty of room to grow if you choose to work for it. It is a fast paced environment that requires multi tasking skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Smith, ARJanuary 6, 2015
Great place to work! Loved helping customers and the people I worked with were amazing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make min. wage + commission
Assistant Head Cashier (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMJanuary 2, 2015
Pros: make money if you can sale, flexible hours
Cons: work 5 hour days 4 days a week
I was head cashier and enjoyed my job but I know many that did not. There are sale goals that have to be met or your hours will be cut. As long as you can sale and have customer service skills you can advance fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Store Manager (Former Employee), Southaven, MSDecember 25, 2014
Outside of the pay and benefits there really isnt anything to brag about. It is a rapidly growing company without good communication and management from the corporate level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harbor Freight
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Grand Junction, CODecember 23, 2014
Great people, awesome learning step in the workplace, and helped me achieve my later goals in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Labor
Receiving (Former Employee), Moreno Valley, CADecember 23, 2014
I enjoyed working at harbor freight. I was in receiving. I would go back to work there any day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Newark, CADecember 22, 2014
Typical Work Day; Filling the shelves, going to warehouse, cleaning warehouse, bringing outs back, cleaning and working on the register
What you Learned: Forklift operating, Register, Receiving a truck, scanning in inventory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Enviornment
order puller (Former Employee), Dillon, SCDecember 22, 2014
- pulled orders as needed
-drove forklift
-completed all issues addressed by the supervisor
-maintained all paperwork associated with my production
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very different from what i am use to.
Cashier/Warehouse Asssociate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 22, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: pay
This job was different from what i am use to, but it is a very good job for a person who loves tools, or just looking for part time work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun job
Store Manager (Former Employee), Kent, WADecember 20, 2014
Pros: i was the store manager
Cons: i worked more then a hundred hours a week
Providing exceptional customer service, and respond to customer complaints
Preparing payroll and scheduling store
Recruiting, hiring and firing employees
Providing employee training, and employee development
Promote company objectives daily, including company daily communications
Office organization and order store supplies
Monitoring cash, reconciling cash, bank deposits, petty cash, safe counts
Evaluation of employees, and performance reviews
Disciplinary actions, verbal and written
Organized of special promotions, displays and events, city permits
Long and short term store planning
Store operations audits, daily paper work complete
Shipping and receiving merchandise
Inventory of sales floor, and stockroom
Maintain store image, cleanliness, store and up keep, sales floor integrity
Maintain stockroom organization, and integrity
Maintain price presentation, and planograms, integrity
Maintain OSIA safety compliance, and Fire code safety
Accounts payable, Accounts receivable
Evaluation and analysis of sales reports, forecasting
Working with Venders, and miscellaneous accounts
Maintain Alarm, computer, and cash registers systems
Motivating employees thru company programs
Human Resource activity Insurance forms for employees
Cashier Audit reports
Forklift & Pallet jack maintenance
Assemble and maintain displays

1 2 3 4 5

About Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc.

In 1977, Harbor Freight Tools had a mission to make it easier for working people to get the best value possible on top-quality – Read more

Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc. Photos