Find companies:
Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
716 reviews

Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with supportive fellow managers
Head Cashier (Current Employee), Schererville, INJune 30, 2015
Pros: health benefits, yearly raises, supportive co-workers
Cons: lack of holiday time off, short lunches
Being part of management in retail has its ups and downs but that's part of the business. We have fun but in a professional manner. We are all supported of each other and help each other any way possible. I feel as if we are not just fellow co-workers, but like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere!
Cashier (Former Employee), Downingtown, PAJune 28, 2015
Pros: Long breaks, awesome management and co workers
Cons: Some demanding customers
I always had a fun day when I worked here, the managers were extremely friendly, but also knew the boundaries as to how work and our customers were the most important things. The hardest part of the job – more... was learning about all the tools and what they did, over time I got the hang of most! Most enjoyable part of the job was that everyone was so friendly who worked there and a lot of the customers were too! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've had thus far.
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Naperville, ILJune 28, 2015
I never though I would end up working at a Harbor Freight Tools. I always ended up driving past them as if though they were nothing special. However, it turned out to be both the biggest fluke and the – more... greatest opportunity I've ever taken. A typical day, which is only once a week day Thursday, involves me unloading the truck that delivers the merchandise, then taking the merchandise to its necessary places in the warehouse portion of the store. After that, I take special boxes called "Totes" out to the sales floor, open them, and put the merchandise within them on the appropriate shelf. I've been through two store managers, the first of which was much more hands on. The hardest part is unloading the pallets that come before the smaller boxes on the truck. The best part is unloading the totes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy retail enviroment
Clerk/Customer Service (Former Employee), Duncanville, TXJune 25, 2015
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Great place to start when learning about different tools. The management is was great. Product returns were a bit difficult but it became easy when working with good peers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARJune 25, 2015
If it wasn't for upper management, this would have been the perfect job. Good hours, nice balance with home, and good pay, with great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), North Myrtle Beach, SCJune 21, 2015
show up early and unload truck and also fill the shelves i learned how to make use certain tools we had an ok management my co workers were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Environment with too much gossip
cashier (Former Employee), Englewood ColoradoJune 13, 2015
It was uncomfortable to work there due to the lack of professionalism. The supervision was lacking an definitely not supportive of the new hires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Structuring
Store Manager (Former Employee), Dothan, ALJune 11, 2015
Pros: Good work/life ballance
Harbor Freight initially is a great company to work for and I enjoyed it. After promoting to a new district I learned quickly that there were very few similarities between the districts or how it ran – more... and that a Store Manager has minimal control over his assistant managers. It is far too easy for them to cause serious trouble and it is almost impossible to take action against the assistant managers for inappropriate conduct. After better than 40 write-ups an assistant manager can still easily keep their jobs and continue causing trouble for the store with little consequence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLJune 11, 2015
I enjoyed working here a great deal, if I could go back, I probably would. Management was okay, some people knew what they were doing while others did not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aggressive high growth retail
General Manager (Former Employee), Lexington, KYJune 10, 2015
Pros: Hard work
Cons: Not enough pay.
Ask a lot of each employee. Who doesn't these days?
There is no compensation for them. The continued growth of the company has jaded there perspective of a work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informative but not motivational
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 9, 2015
Pros: knowledge gained
Cons: no healthcare, no overtime, no room for advancing
-Responsible for verifying all tills, running reports and balancing store revenue daily as well as weekly and monthly (deposits)
-Controlled audits for merchandise held behind registers and well as helping with store audit.
-Created and lead contests for sales on warranties.
-Received employee of the month 11 months as well as top sales agent for 16 months
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blink and You'll Miss It
Cashier (Former Employee), Bellingham, WAJune 9, 2015
Pros: Free lunches during Parking Lot Sale, friendly coworkers
Cons: short breaks, could be overwhelming at times
Harbor Freight Tools in Bellingham was a rather good job that allowed me to juggle both college work and work-work, with the bosses being nearly always accommodating and understanding of someone with a – more... hectic schedule like mine was. The hardest part of the job was probably getting things out of the warehouse in a timely manner, mostly due to my somewhat smaller size. I'm only 5' 6" and 145 lbs, but I held my own for nearly two and a half years there. The pace could fluctuate between everything at once to nothing at all in the blink of an eye, especially during parking lot sales. Overall, it was a very good retail work experience with some downsides, but that's with anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXJune 4, 2015
Pros: Loved the workplace, people and management
Cons: Long hours, parking lot sales
Loved helping customer find tools and anything they needed. Loved working for Shawn and management. Felt like the management cared. Felt like I could have gone far in this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Head Cashier/Office Manager (Former Employee), Ogden, UTJune 3, 2015
management in store was great, cooperate level was demanding and hard to work with, I felt they had very little respect for the people under them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anything is better than this company
cashier (Former Employee), zanesville ohioJune 3, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: too many to mention
No training
poor wages
promises made but not kept
home office "red shirts" very nasty
products didn't work or broke easily
mgmt. clueless
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and develop store manager skills
Assistant Mananger (Current Employee), Ventura County, CAJune 2, 2015
Pros: SPIFF bonus paid vacation sick time
Cons: short breaks variable schedule
This place is great if you have the skills and want to move up the ladder quickly. Yearly raises. Bonus for assistant managers and store managers. Commission can be earned for warranty and membership sales. Fast paced labor intensive work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with opportunity for advancment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Attleboro, MAJune 1, 2015
Pros: opportunity to add commission to your paycheck
Cons: Health care needs to improve
Fast paced work environment, with plenty to do in a day. You always know what your responsibilities are and they change on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but bad hours and work for minimal pay
Warehouse Clerk (Current Employee), Orem, UTJune 1, 2015
Pros: free lunch once every few months during a parking lot sale
Cons: Bad Management, Bad Hours, Bad pay, Grueling work, Ridiculous expectations
The work is hard and you are expected to do way too much for the amount of man power that you have. Working to unload a massive truck shipment and send out all product received with only having a few guys, – more... as well as being expected to finish, isn't the most enjoyable work day. Management would rather whine about not getting work done instead of trying to hire more man power to help with the process, and even when someone is eventually hired they quit that week once they see what kinds of crazy overnight/early morning hours they have to adjust too. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people. If not for the coworkers in the warehouse i'd have left long ago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed day to day operations of the store to keep up for company standards
Operations Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), 2821 Reeves St Dothan AL 36303June 1, 2015
Made decisions for the stores for the profit of the store. Supervised the unloading process for all trucks and merchandise to the floor to increase profit for the store. Supervised the front end to ensure that employees executed all standard operating procedures. Increased profit to a 43% over budget.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Pasadena, TXJune 1, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: no full-time positions except management, low pay for the amount of work the expect
Not the place for anyone who wants to grow with a company. They over=work you whhile under-paying you. The managers talk to you like trash.

1 2 3 4 5

About Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc.

In 1977, Harbor Freight Tools had a mission to make it easier for working people to get the best value possible on top-quality – Read more

Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc. Salaries

Cashier
$8.25 per hour
Warehouse Worker
$8.49 per hour
Store Manager
$45,000 per year
Head Cashier
$9.85 per hour
Cashier/Sales
$8.25 per hour

Harbor Freight Tools USA, Inc. Photos

Corporate Headquarters
Scanning Inventory
Retail Team