Find companies:
Harlem Hospital Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Harlem Hospital Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Senior Housekeeping Supervisor (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 19, 2014
daily fast paced environment which allows me to multi-task and interact with people. I'm a great team player, efficient, effective and extremely reliable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to always help my patient and collegues
Clerical Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 8, 2014
Pros: short hrs.
Cons: need more hrs.
I move around alot, learn different things every day. work for 5 different department and do plenty of multi task. Day to day duties try to complete on a time given matter. Best of all we treat each other as a great big family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harlem Hospital
MANAGER (Former Employee), New York New yorkJune 19, 2014
Cons: great heath care
My day was always stressful. I lean how to purchasing for environment of service for the all maintenance staff. Including clothes to machines & products for the all department. Management was very unprofessional. the co-workers just needed a good leader. The hardest part of my job was will & not getting paid my value. The most enjoyed part of my day – more... was to be able to help the patients. that put a smile to my face every day. thats one thing a miss bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 14, 2014
Pros: teaching new mothers breastfeeding
Cons: agency employee and not regular staff
• Perform ongoing data collection using nursing process for ante partum and post-partum patients
• Encourage, teaches and assists the patient with breastfeeding process
• Demonstrate skills and knowledge of mother and baby care
• Take vital signs, read and interprets fetal heart and contraction monitors to make appropriate interventions
• Obtain and – more... complete current and past patient medical health histories
• Generate patient care plans, including assessments, interventions, outcomes and nursing diagnoses
• Bath and feed newborns and nursery units
• Work in postpartum unit, taking vital signs and physical and mental assessments, administering medication and providing treatment to mothers and newborns
• Promote health and support patients and families in coping
• Effectively utilize electronic software and medical record systems – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at work
Pharmacy Technician (Intern/volunteer) (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 16, 2014
relaxed environment to work
love the ups and downs
able to multi-task
knowing more about the profession
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work environment
Sr. Associate Director Facilities Management (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: patient satisfaction
Cons: balancing work and personal time
A typical day was filled with varied and challenging tasks.
Time and resource management was key to success.
Demands from management were sometimes inconsistent but warranted
satisfying a customer's request for service was the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent healthcare
Medical Library Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 10, 2014
Harlem Hospital Center a diverse healthcare community with a great workforce
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best team I ever worked with,
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 28, 2013
About the best place to work if you are looking for diversity, friendliness, great education, and strong professionalism
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume dental clinic
PGY-1 GENERAL PRACTICE RESIDENT (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 30, 2013
This dental clinic is a high volume clinic that sees a diverse patient population from different socioeconomic backgrounds. A typical day would include seeing scheduled patients who require treatment from restorative, endodontics, periodontal surgeries to removable pros. Residents also shared the responsibilities of seeing emergency patients. At Harlem, – more... I was able to do complicated procedures as well as treat medically compromised patients. The most enjoyable part of the day was educating patients so they understood their condition or diagnosis and then having them become responsible for their oral hygiene success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like this website. It is very helpful.
Chaplain Intern (Current Employee), 506 Lenox Ave, New York, New York 10037July 15, 2013
I am a chaplain intern at Harlem Hospital Center. As a chaplain I enjoy encouraging and impact others lives through spiritual support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy enviorment, medical reports, preparation for Joint Commissioned
Executive Secretary/Office Manager (Current Employee), New YorkJuly 2, 2013
Pros: 2/3 train stops at corner of mlk
Cons: major city hospital
A typical day at Harlem Hospital consists of completing Administrative on Duty reports, over viewing overtime reports, reviewing time sheets, answering emails and screening telephone calls. I also manage the calendar for the Chief Nurse Executive.

As Supervisor for a clerical team I ensure that staff are completing required reports for the Nursing – more... Administration office – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feels like family!!!
Data Entry Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 19, 2013
Been here since the age of 16 and absolutly love it here. The hardest part is clocking out and goin home. The day goes by sooo fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/Confidential Environment
MEDICAL STAFF AFFAIRS (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: there is always something to learn in this position.
Cons: not receiving information on time, providers who are not compliant
Working at Harlem Hospital in the Medical Staff department is very challenging. A typical day lies between answering phones, handling in-coming applicants and in-house providers, calling insurance companies, communicating with department managers and chiefs, conducting meetings. It is non-stop action and I love it! We have so many parts to handle but – more... the great thing is that we have team work. When it seems like we are not going to make deadlines we always push hard together to make it happen and that is the most enjoyable part of the job.

I have learned and am still learning a lot. I have never been employed in a Health Care environment so all of this was brand new to me when I started in 2010. At first I though I was going to be lost but with proper training and through experience I grew. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potentioal job, position was temporary
Data entry of client information (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: great environment, filled with people eager to mentor and help you get ahead
Cons: temprary
For me, This was a job that i received through the Summer Youth Employment Program, so it was temporary. I would have loved to have kept a job like that but i was still a high school student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place , very presentable
Clerical Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 12, 2012
At the volunteers department at Harlem Hospita Center a typical day at work means; coming in at 8:30am and gettting started on all our new applicants, students, processing their applications, background checks, scheduling their appointments at occupational health services, giving out meal vouchers for volunteers and also writing up monthly meal vouchers – more... that were given each month and the amount that was given using microsoft excel – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging work place.
Associate Director - Health Information Department (Former Employee), New YorkOctober 8, 2012
The period I worked at Harlem Hospital was very challenging, a typical day was focused on managing over 43 line staff and keeping them motivated. Presently, there is a new Executive and I am not sure what a present work day is at Harlem Hospital. My coworkers were very supportive, the hardest part of the job was compliance and deadlines, the most enjoyable – more... was staying ahead of all expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt like a member of a family
Externship Student (Former Employee), Harlem, NYSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: wide array of surgical cases to learn from
Cons: subtle changes
my experience at harlem Hospital Center was amazing everyone was nice and very involved in my learning experience as a student from surgeon to Surg Techs i never had a bad day it is an experience that I would recommend to anyone who wishes to get into this wonderfulfield I had the opportunity to scrub into a wide array of surgical of cases General Surgery, – more... Ob/Gyn, Orthopedic, Neurosurgery although there werent that many, E.N.T., Plastic Procedures, Thoracic and the one i found to be the most interesting Trauma. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy poorly funded hospital in a needy neighborhood.
Staff RN (Former Employee), 506 Lenox Ave, NY NYSeptember 22, 2012
Pros: wide psycho-socio-economic spectrum of ratients, a wide array of (at times]exotic surgical problems, a wide variety of medical problems, substance abuse problems
Cons: possibility of walkng into a shootout, walking into a mugging, getting mugged, get hit by a car, medical or nursing supplies and equipment may be in short, nursing staff may be short.
At the end of the [work} day you know you made a positive difference in your patient's life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good healthcare benefits.
Staff Nurse, Radiology, Neurology (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 6, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: heatlhcare benefits.
Good healthcare benefits are very good. My coworkers are very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Clerical Associate Supervisor Level IV (Former Employee), 506 Lenox Avenue New York, New York 10037July 28, 2012
Pros: having the experience i gained within the organziation
Cons: more opportunities for employees to advance, more training
On a daily basis I would Supervise Clerical staff, oversee daily functions. Ensure clinic is running at a reasonal pace. Check attendance for staff. Ensure work areas are in order. Make sure necessary supplies are ordered. Collect daily reports and distribute to staff for errors or insurance eligibility/ineligibility. Post demographics into OAM for – more... patients. Check appt schedules, Patient inquiries, Add patients to schedules for daily appointments. Customer Service, billing inquiries. Check statistical reports for staff productivity.

Diverse learning environment. I learned how to be a better advocate for patients and how to become more productive. Making a difference in Health Care.

The Management team needs improvement., I think things could have been more productive with some of the organizations policies.

Not being able to assist a patient due to red tape, or inappropriate scheduling that imposed a overload in the system.

Learning about others and their needs.Learning how I could be a better Supervisor and become more productive in my active role. – less

About Harlem Hospital Center

The New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation (HHC) is a $6.7 billion integrated healthcare delivery system with its own – Read more

Harlem Hospital Center Photos