Harman Employee Reviews

Found 130 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice clean working environment
Dedicated Rework ATM (Former Employee) –  Franklin, KYJanuary 20, 2017
Overall Harman is a good place to work. It is clean and climate controlled. Work is light physically and can range from very simple to complex work mentally. As a whole Harman cares about their employees health and goes out of their way to make us feel appreciated.
Pros
Clean, cafeteria open on all shifts.
Cons
Business is slowing and going through some major changes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company take care of its empoyees very well
Overall management (Current Employee) –  Holladay, UTNovember 2, 2016
i work an average of 70 hours a week and i run the operation of the bussniess. i am in charge of all cash deposits ans spending of the stores money
Pros
fun, bosses are amazing, great pay
Cons
the hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been here almost 30 years
Supplier Quality coordinator (Current Employee) –  EkhartOctober 11, 2016
We started out as Crown International and then got bought out by Harman in 2000. Sure there were changes and ups and downs, but overall I would have to say, my experience has been positive. Maybe because I choose to look at it that way. I started, knowing absolutely nothing about my position. They took a chance on me. I have learned a lot over the years, not only about the work, but about myself. Management has always been pretty good here. Your job is what you make of it, and how you get along with others. Harman is closing this plant and I will lose my job. It will be hard and I am nervous about moving on, yet kind of excited also.
Pros
the people, benefits
Cons
not holding people responsible for their actions/words, including management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, need improve the hiring process
Plant Controller (Current Employee) –  Near San Diego AreaOctober 3, 2016
Documented culture is great, direction is actually different.
Great product and people. Company should change according to the local customs.
Cons
Starting shift with Direct Labor people
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Senior Quality Engineer (Current Employee) –  Elkhart, INOctober 3, 2016
This company has a great environment of work, usually there are a lot of opportunities for growth. At the moment they are looking to relocate their business operation at Elkhart Indiana, so that is why I am looking to relocate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Test Engineer/Process Engineer (Current Employee) –  Franklin, KYSeptember 29, 2016
Laid back, very clean place to work. A place where you can move up quickly and a great environment to develop you career. *************************************************
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work here
Adobe CQ5 Developer (Current Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MISeptember 27, 2016
Great Company, Great Pay, Mediocre Medical Benefits
Good cross functional teams and supportive management
Open to sharing of new ideas by subordinates
Awesome and Exciting products at great discount for employe
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MISeptember 6, 2016
Great place to work if you have motivation.
Many career paths are available!
Very nice facility in Germany. Good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
DSP Engineer Internship (Former Employee) –  Novi, MISeptember 5, 2016
Great place to work if you have motivation.
Many career paths are available!
Very nice facility in Novi.

You may travel a lot if you work with international customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Employee (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 25, 2016
Start-up environment where ideas and input are valued, lots of customer facing and opportunities to coach, self develop and team develop.

Company should offer stock options to more employees then just C level mgmt.
Pros
work life balance, fun environment, great management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place
Sr Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Northridge, CAAugust 22, 2016
People really like their jobs and are passionate about what they do. Management is out of touch with the average person, however.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Licensing Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Novi, MIAugust 17, 2016
Growing company with ample room for advancement and friendly work environment. Team interaction and company synergy are highly promoted. Love working here!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Contract Benefits Consultant (Former Employee) –  Northridge, CAAugust 9, 2016
Harman is a great place to work. Very innovative and creative company. Company growing globally by acquisitions. Harman is very employee centric. Great benefits and work environment. Great teams throughout the company with lots of long-term employees which speak volume to leadership. Benefits Department works diligently to meet employee needs.
Pros
Creative, fun environment. Harman takes care of their employees. Gives back to the community.
Cons
Can't think of any.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rather not say
Receiver (Current Employee) –  Elkhart, INAugust 2, 2016
seeing as i still work at harman, I would really really rather not say anything here at this time. it has it's pros and cons like any other job. that its all.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Audio Amplifier V&V Engineer (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIJuly 29, 2016
Productive and fun place to work. Colleagues and management are nice, work is steady and fun. A great place to work. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good work environment
Warehouse Material handler (Former Employee) –  Northridge, CA 91329July 19, 2016
very good company, unfortunately, the department had to be close. but I would gladly go back to work for this company. and I fill very confidently saying that my coworkers would too
Pros
good work environment
Cons
schedule 8-5
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company with Great Products
Corporate Controller (Former Employee) –  Northridge, CAJuly 13, 2016
Fast Paced. Project Driven. Audit Intensive. Prepare company for Sale. Financial Planning. Cost Accounting. Budgeting. Forecasting.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Software Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILJuly 5, 2016
I learnt a lot during the internship and it was also fun working in Harman. I could become more confident working with harman.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but they promote the wrong people
Market Manager-DigiTech (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTJune 20, 2016
I loved working at Harman. They tend to reward those who can play the game and play politics more than those who actually get work done and produce results. There is a disturbing trend of out-shoring jobs to Indian and China that have hurt the innovation and future of the brand under the Harman umbrella.
Pros
great people, discount on gear
Cons
mid-level management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Culture
Multimedia Producer & Social Media Manager (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXApril 28, 2016
Company culture mandated every individual and their ideas consistently and evenly represented. Contagious enthusiasm for company progress, products and the advancement of it's people.
Pros
Culture, Management open door policy
Cons
Constant changes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harman. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 259 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8