Harold Washington College Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutoring
Administrator's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 22, 2016
This is a job at the learning center of HWC.

• Responsible for the tutoring center, monitoring the tutors, registering students, holding meetings with tutors, and writing daily reports for administrator





/
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
ELL Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 20, 2016
Help students to use Microsoft words, Excel and PowerPoint.
Design Lab reserved and serve to teacher.
Solve some problems from computer to students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 4, 2016
I enjoyed working at this company.Working at this company taught me how to handle problem's better. I got to interact with different of people everyday on the job.
Pros
Meeting Different People, and Learning new skiils
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 2, 2016
The job is very good for student tutors working and studying at the same time. The work environment, management, and co-workers are very good and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
front desk assistant
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 24, 2016
i love working at school because i was meeting new learning new things everyday learn how to do paperwork. and filed and work in different area in the build and i was learn how to work in different office as will.
Pros
learn new things
Cons
meet new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring, motivating teacher
Biology Instructor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 22, 2016
As a teacher of Biology, I work very hard to make the students understand the fundamental concepts of Biology, the basic scientific process and inquiry into life.
Pros
All
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and active
Translator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 20, 2016
The most I like about this job is I love meeting new people and helping them out if they have any issues on registering classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Project Secretary (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 30, 2016
Working with new people and making friend and having a boss that was cool. And dealing with students and other company. Doing certificates was fun
Pros
Nice Hours to work
Cons
rude people sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love teaching, love the kids, the administration is killing the institution
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 16, 2016
Teaching at Harold Washington College has been one of the great joys of my life. I have stuck with it for nearly 6 years because I have never had a job that I've been happier doing. But I work as an adjunct and thus get paid poverty wages with no benefits despite working as much as the full-time faculty. There is every indication that the administration knows this is unsustainable and unethical, but they do not seem to care.
Pros
Complete freedom to teach how and what you like
Cons
Impossible to advance career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and Fast pace company
Mail Handler (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 2, 2016
I enjoyed moving the storage around in the school. traveling to different rooms and moving materials in, became exciting for me. mailroom deliveries was really fun for me.
Pros
lunch break and a chance to meet new people
Cons
delays and exhausting activity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Harold Washington College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great insight knowing that taxi drivers had to go through a 2 week training
Facilitator in the Public Chauffeur Training Dept. (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 28, 2016
Great experience having the opportunity to work with a diverse of people. This sharpen my training skills and knowing that perspective taxi drivers had to go through a two week training process and pass before going to the city to test for their license.
Pros
Being able to prepare a diverse of people in customer services
Cons
It was just part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
English Department Secretary Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 13, 2016
When I have to start my day at Harold Washington College it is something that I look forward to. I come in and greet all my fellow coworkers. The rest of the day is running small errands here and there and enjoying the great diversity of students and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Project Secretary (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 19, 2015
Made friends with my co-workers. Love the area where I work. Got along with everyone there. The most enjoyable part of the job was coming to work every day and working with my co workers and boss.
Pros
lunch break. Healthcare benefits
Cons
Employee Union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Work-study student (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 19, 2015
Get to learn new computer skills or improve your computer skills. Keeps you focus in school and allow you to work on your homework
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Clerical Support (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 13, 2015
Very fulfilling environment...staff are excellent. Perfect mix of professionalism and fun. Various opportunities to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a well run organization and I would recommend it.
Youth Developer (Former Employee) –  chicagoJune 19, 2015
The work environment was very relaxed and nice.

I really enjoyed working with the youth.

The hardest part of the was balancing work life with real life.
Pros
good work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of a day's work
Instructor in Biology (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 15, 2015
A typical day involves teaching biology and tutoring students. Learned new way of teaching. Mange different classes efficientlyat one semester. Coworkers are happy with me with an amiable dispositin. The hardest part is to make understand biology to non science students. The most enjoyable part is analysing the positive test results from the studfents.
Pros
Free break times.
Cons
Health concerns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taking care with students and communicate with students and tutors
Front Desk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 19, 2015
Take care of students,
Learn how to communicate with students,
Manage documents and files,
Learn how to organize things,
Making appointments for students,
Taking care of phone call,
and learn how to deal with problem between student and tutor when they having hard time.(Sometime work with co-worker together)
enjoy having communication to students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutor
Digital Multimedia Design Tutor/Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 14, 2015
Instruct students in all the aspects of digital art, graphic design, website design, video and animation
Oversee creative process in students while guiding and improving their technical skills
Assist students in completing professional prints
Support professor lesson plans covering graphic design, art, multimedia, animation and video
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent professors and learning environmenr. Very student friendly and concerned
Student (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 24, 2015
I think Harold Washington is one of the top community colleges in Chicago! I referred students there as a high school counselor and was pleased as a student in their Addictions Counselor Program.
Pros
excellent staff, good on sight learning experiences, great student support services
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harold Washington College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

Harold Washington College Reviews by Location