Find companies:
Harrah's Entertainment Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
425 reviews

Harrah's Entertainment Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lied to at interview. Promotions not given on ability
dual rate supervisor (Former Employee), cherokee N.CJanuary 14, 2015
My interview consisted of me being told , come now you will start as a dual rate supervisor as that is the only position open, within 3 months you will be a RGM ( relief games manager ) 12 months you will be running a shift,
Interviewed for 3 promotions by 3 people with no casino experience, i was the best candidate on all 3 occasions , i was told this by my managers , my team members and my subordinates.
I did not receive an offer for the first 2 interviews, people with less experience were offered the positions ( they were yes men )
3rd position i was made an offer of $2000 less than i was earning at this time and it was a salaried position , salaried positions are given overtime every week with no compensation.
i turned down the offer .
I stayed with the company for 2 years 3 months and realized that there was no chance of advancement because people above me where scared of my knowledge and ability .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Janitorial Worker (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJanuary 12, 2015
Empty and clean all waste containers
Remove waste paper and garbage from the premises to selected area; damp wipe containers
Vacuum all mats and carpeted areas in workplace, lobbies and corridors
Hand dust and clean all office furniture
Appropriately clean and polish tile floor services as required
Follow all security and workers rules and regulations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Room Service (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJanuary 2, 2015
a typical day at work for me included answer phones, enter data into the computer system, filing paperwork, transferring calls, answering any questions that the guest may have, and work together with the wait staff in order to ensure that the guest receive the best possible service.the worst part about my job was not getting enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harrahs Casino
Liquor Dispensing Attendant (Former Employee), New Orleans, LADecember 12, 2014
this is a awsome job. if your attending school they help pay a certain percentage. they help you get started on buying a house. what more could you ask for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated and reliable to my job
HOUSEKEEPING/ROOM ATTENDANT (Former Employee), Robinsonville, MSDecember 4, 2014
I just had return back to work on a Sunday a guest told me that housekeeping didn't clean their room in two days. So I responded by apologizing about them not having service. So I took care of the guest and told my supervisor what happen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entertaining guests
Supervisor (Former Employee), Council Bluffs, IADecember 3, 2014
Pros: everyday is a new experience
Cons: working every holiday
Working in a casino industry is fun rewarding and entertaining. The people you encounter, the friends you make. Just a very enjoyable atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job environment
Shift Supervisor/Bartender (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSDecember 2, 2014
I absolutely loved this job. I love the management and employees. This was one of the best job experiences I have ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast pace
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Lake Charles, LANovember 28, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation
Cons: benefits
This job is a fun place to work, you get to know the people you are working with very well and the company tries to always should there employee that they are appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place and good bosses
Poker Dealer (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 26, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no healthcare, time stars, not enough money
the hardest part of my job, first of all is working late going to work at 10pm. I was use to going bed at 10. the next hardest thing is dealing with irate and drunk customers at that hour. then not making enough money .
I learned that working hard and getting along with everyone is definetly a challenge.
My coworkers are awesome , love most of them ! especially management, very fair and have my back !
I enjoy making money, thats why I'm there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, fast-paced work environment!
BLACKJACK DEALER (Former Employee), Stateline, NVNovember 25, 2014
Pros: the people, the laughter, the excitement!
Cons: unsteady income
To deal cards is such a shift from teaching, and yet there are many similarities! It is a wonderful summer job, and the atmosphere at Harrah's is exhilarating!
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the customers, especially when they are happy! I've met so many interesting people with such unique stories to tell!
The hardest part of the job is standing on my feet for long periods of time!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAGE CASHIER
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 21, 2014
 Responsible for exchanging cash for casino tokens, and vice versa
 Handled financial transactions for casino patrons with skill and integrity
 Exchanged chips for cash, cash checks, pay out credit card advances and wire transfers
 Handled paperwork
 Summarized daily transactions, balancing books and cash drawers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free soup and salad for lunch.
Security Dual-Rate Supervisor (Former Employee), Metropolis, ILNovember 19, 2014
Pros: good insurance
Cons: not being able to have quality family time.
every day is different . It is an exciting atmosphere. Co-workers are fun and help you when needed. Talking with regular patrons and getting the chance to meet new ones every night is fun. The hardest part is not having enough time to spend with family away from work and getting to be with them on some holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started out as a good company to work for changed
Steward Supervisor (Former Employee), las vegasNovember 8, 2014
Cons: executive steward didn't like the idea that he had not been the one to hire me
i was hired by the executive sous chef as a graveyard steward. after he went on to bigger and better things, the exec steward who did not hire me, started messing with me by changing my ,then changed my position to banquet steward during the day and stay at night till everything was cleaned and put away. this was not what i was hired for and caused problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Food server (Current Employee), New Orleans, LANovember 6, 2014
great co workers,worked there for over 8 years co workers became like family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and Up beat place to work
Teller (Former Employee), Maryland Heights, MoNovember 5, 2014
Pros: lunches are great, people are awesome, fast-paced, and upbeat
Cons: extremely strict, micro manages
A typical day at work is an 8-9hr shift of helping customers, cash handling, cashing in winnings for chips or cash, balancing in and out of drawer.30 min and 1hr lunches, the lunches are great and you get the chance to meet alot professional people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Server (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 2, 2014
Pros: really fast service and food comes out fast
Cons: short breaks
Co-workers are fun to work with and work well together. Hardest part of the job is sometimes you work longer hours than expected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE PLACE TO WORK
Assistant Server Person (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJOctober 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: job depends on costumers demand
This company is focus in costumer services i love it learnd a lot too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harrahs is a great place to work and make it your career.
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Current Employee), Laughlin, NVOctober 30, 2014
Pros: compensation, benefits and 401k
Cons: long hours
Harrahs cares about its customers and their employees.
They give their employees adequate training for the type of work that is expected.
They have great benefits packages.
Management is always available for guidance and root for your success.
Getting to know the customers by name when possible and enjoy their visits at the property,
Working with my employees, helping them to be successful and resourceful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exciting. Multi tasking kept one engaged.
CORPORATE DIRECTOR OF KITCHEN DESIGN & DEVELOPMENT (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NevadaOctober 30, 2014
Pros: surrounded by entertainment and folks enjoying themselves.
Cons: long hours and lots of travel.
Recommend it for anyone who wants to develop skills for managing a multi dimensional work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work, especially in the cage.
CAGE CASHIER (Former Employee), New OrleansOctober 30, 2014
Pros: free breaks
Cons: benefits
It was fun meeting new people, and working with coworkers.

I learned the different operations of the cage, and how to handle large amounts of money.

Management was great and always on point with everything.

My coworkers were very nice once they got to know me.

Guests that would be rude for no apparent reason, but I just greeted them with a smile a polite gesture.

Assisting all of the guests

Harrah's Entertainment Inc. Salaries

Table Games Dealer
$40,000 per year
Cage Cashier
$10.00 per hour
Dealer
$38,000 per year
Cashier
$9.25 per hour
Supervisor
$44,500 per year

Harrah's Entertainment Inc. Photos

Here at Lad
During the flood