Harrah's Entertainment Inc. Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entertaining guests
Supervisor (Former Employee), Council Bluffs, IADecember 3, 2014
Pros: everyday is a new experience
Cons: working every holiday
Working in a casino industry is fun rewarding and entertaining. The people you encounter, the friends you make. Just a very enjoyable atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job environment
Shift Supervisor/Bartender (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSDecember 2, 2014
I absolutely loved this job. I love the management and employees. This was one of the best job experiences I have ever had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast pace
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Lake Charles, LANovember 28, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation
Cons: benefits
This job is a fun place to work, you get to know the people you are working with very well and the company tries to always should there employee that they are appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place and good bosses
Poker Dealer (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 26, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: no healthcare, time stars, not enough money
the hardest part of my job, first of all is working late going to work at 10pm. I was use to going bed at 10. the next hardest thing is dealing with irate and drunk customers at that hour. then not making enough money .
I learned that working hard and getting along with everyone is definetly a challenge.
My coworkers are awesome , love most of them ! especially management, very fair and have my back !
I enjoy making money, thats why I'm there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, fast-paced work environment!
BLACKJACK DEALER (Former Employee), Stateline, NVNovember 25, 2014
Pros: the people, the laughter, the excitement!
Cons: unsteady income
To deal cards is such a shift from teaching, and yet there are many similarities! It is a wonderful summer job, and the atmosphere at Harrah's is exhilarating!
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the customers, especially when they are happy! I've met so many interesting people with such unique stories to tell!
The hardest part of the job is standing on my feet for long periods of time!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAGE CASHIER
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 21, 2014
 Responsible for exchanging cash for casino tokens, and vice versa
 Handled financial transactions for casino patrons with skill and integrity
 Exchanged chips for cash, cash checks, pay out credit card advances and wire transfers
 Handled paperwork
 Summarized daily transactions, balancing books and cash drawers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free soup and salad for lunch.
Security Dual-Rate Supervisor (Former Employee), Metropolis, ILNovember 19, 2014
Pros: good insurance
Cons: not being able to have quality family time.
every day is different . It is an exciting atmosphere. Co-workers are fun and help you when needed. Talking with regular patrons and getting the chance to meet new ones every night is fun. The hardest part is not having enough time to spend with family away from work and getting to be with them on some holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started out as a good company to work for changed
Steward Supervisor (Former Employee), las vegasNovember 8, 2014
Cons: executive steward didn't like the idea that he had not been the one to hire me
i was hired by the executive sous chef as a graveyard steward. after he went on to bigger and better things, the exec steward who did not hire me, started messing with me by changing my ,then changed my position to banquet steward during the day and stay at night till everything was cleaned and put away. this was not what i was hired for and caused problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Food server (Current Employee), New Orleans, LANovember 6, 2014
great co workers,worked there for over 8 years co workers became like family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and Up beat place to work
Teller (Former Employee), Maryland Heights, MoNovember 5, 2014
Pros: lunches are great, people are awesome, fast-paced, and upbeat
Cons: extremely strict, micro manages
A typical day at work is an 8-9hr shift of helping customers, cash handling, cashing in winnings for chips or cash, balancing in and out of drawer.30 min and 1hr lunches, the lunches are great and you get the chance to meet alot professional people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Server (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 2, 2014
Pros: really fast service and food comes out fast
Cons: short breaks
Co-workers are fun to work with and work well together. Hardest part of the job is sometimes you work longer hours than expected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE PLACE TO WORK
Assistant Server Person (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJOctober 30, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: job depends on costumers demand
This company is focus in costumer services i love it learnd a lot too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harrahs is a great place to work and make it your career.
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Current Employee), Laughlin, NVOctober 30, 2014
Pros: compensation, benefits and 401k
Cons: long hours
Harrahs cares about its customers and their employees.
They give their employees adequate training for the type of work that is expected.
They have great benefits packages.
Management is always available for guidance and root for your success.
Getting to know the customers by name when possible and enjoy their visits at the property,
Working with my employees, helping them to be successful and resourceful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exciting. Multi tasking kept one engaged.
CORPORATE DIRECTOR OF KITCHEN DESIGN & DEVELOPMENT (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NevadaOctober 30, 2014
Pros: surrounded by entertainment and folks enjoying themselves.
Cons: long hours and lots of travel.
Recommend it for anyone who wants to develop skills for managing a multi dimensional work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work, especially in the cage.
CAGE CASHIER (Former Employee), New OrleansOctober 30, 2014
Pros: free breaks
Cons: benefits
It was fun meeting new people, and working with coworkers.

I learned the different operations of the cage, and how to handle large amounts of money.

Management was great and always on point with everything.

My coworkers were very nice once they got to know me.

Guests that would be rude for no apparent reason, but I just greeted them with a smile a polite gesture.

Assisting all of the guests
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Showing superior guest service to all guests
Front desk clerk (Former Employee), Tunica Resorts, MSOctober 29, 2014
Pros: healthcare, helping others
Cons: rude guests, the temperature
The most enjoyable part of the job is that you get to meet a lot of people and gain great networking skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Security Officer (Former Employee), Robinsonville, MSOctober 27, 2014
While working on Graveyard Shift at Harrahs Tunica things were very simple we had busy nights and we had slow nights the work that had to be done was not hard at all and the employees there were helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the Job
Valet Parking (Former Employee), Robinsonville, MSOctober 27, 2014
GREAT PLACE TO WORK AND I ENJOYED EVERY DAY OF THE 10 YEARS I WORKED THERE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Reno NVOctober 24, 2014
Pros: free luches, and a good work environment.
Cons: not many cons, sometimes we would switch shirfs if needed.
the supervisor was a great person to work for he would lay out the jobs and then we would go out and do them. If we needed any help he was there to help and never really got angry was very pleasant all the time. The work day was organized and we knew what was expected.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place EVER to Work
Support Specialist, Shift Lead (Former Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 24, 2014
Pros: entertaining environment
Cons: headquarters relocated to vegas
This was the best job I ever had. Learned so much in a mentoring environment. The people were fun and knowledgeable.