Harris Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge technology
Senior Manager, Empowered Official (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLOctober 22, 2017
Overall Harris is a good company to work for and I met many great employees. My particular manager unfortunately let their personal life challenges seep into work. The physical work location for me was in Florida and although Harris had a diverse work force management and senior management was comprised of the "good ole boy" network.
Pros
Cutting edge technology
Cons
A discriminatory work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great first Employer out of College
Regional Sales Manager, Northeast (Former Employee) –  Vernon, NJOctober 20, 2017
If you get an offer from this organization . . . you should probably take it!
Arguably an Older company at over 100 years old (making it VERY conservative), but a GREAT place to learn a lot.
Pros
Go for it!
Cons
Not many.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Sr. Production Planner (Current Employee) –  Panama City, FLOctober 18, 2017
management is good. they provide good training to there people. your typical day at work is good some days more work than other. that is the business.
Pros
excellent coworkers
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative place to work
Conferencing and Collaboration Group Lead (Current Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLOctober 17, 2017
Engineering Information Technology
Conferencing & Video Teleconferencing Collaboration Technologies
Digital Signage; Internet Protocol television and Crestron Control Systems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Methodical Work
Field Engineer at USAF Satellite Control Facility (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAOctober 14, 2017
Rewarding Work in a well managed environment.

Typical Day: Good culture & Relaxed Environment

Leaned In depth Technologies

Hard Part: Not know if we would win Contract every four years.
Pros
Low Stress
Cons
Had to win contract every four years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harris
Technical Leader (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLOctober 9, 2017
Harris was a gret place to work. high-tech but the negative was that they rely on defence contracts which takes away job security. I worked with the FL state police and the US Marshals as customers for over a year there. It was interesting, inspiring and very pleasant. I travelled to Tallahassee, FL to meet with my customers on multiple occasions for Harris.
Pros
Every other Friday off
Cons
Contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Certified IPC Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYOctober 3, 2017
Kept me busy.
Learned how to solder.
Management was good
Workplace culture made sense.
Hardest part was the long hours of doing nothing.
Most enjoyable part was being able to listen to music while i worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible people
None (Former Employee) –  Forest, VAOctober 3, 2017
The work was OK, nothing too hard but the people are horrible. Management does nothing, and the people under them are all after each other all the time. Its like a gossip mill for people out of high school. Everyone tries to get anyone new fired if they don't fit the stereotype. Manager knows and still does nothing, just goes through employees one after another.
Pros
daylight hours
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sr. Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYSeptember 26, 2017
Great place to work. I recommend Harris. Good benefits, clean environment, good management, skilled labor force, team environment, good training and work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress - Low Moral
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Van Nuys, CASeptember 25, 2017
I have been involved in Harris Corp (once known as Exelis and ITT Gilfillan). This was once a "family" environment; we all worked hard, but also played together. Harris Corp bought us out in June 2015 and the moral and stress level has become unbearable.
Pros
Benefits are good
Cons
Stress level is high and moral is very low
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrible company
Systems Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Melborune FLSeptember 21, 2017
Poor Management. Long Hours. High Turnover. Sketchy management practices. Unprofessional staff. Most employees who join these company leave after a short stay because the salary and bonuses are awful. Benefits are not good.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work environment
Field Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKSeptember 21, 2017
Interesting work environment. The work involved producing work instructions, troubleshooting various equipment, logging in remotely to other platforms to diagnose problems and recommend solutions.
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Systems Engineer
Integration Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VASeptember 20, 2017
Attended classes for training that had nothing to do with my job. I was tested with challenging test in which I had no interest. I passed 2 of 5 tests, failed the 3rd, then was fired.
Pros
people
Cons
tests
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Declining benefits and work environment
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  VirginiaSeptember 19, 2017
As we have been rolled into Harris, Management decisions have grown worse. Their solution for poor management is more reporting and increased [poor] management.
Benefits have generally declined.
Turnover is very high, and morale very low. Over the last 5 years, my department has lost 12 PM's, and I am the only one still working here (hopefully not for long). The Finance team (~6 staff) has lost 20 employees in just over 2 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable workplace
Senior Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLSeptember 16, 2017
Overall a very good place to work. Salaries are lower than competitors, such as Northrop Grumman, but better than government jobs. Can be challenging, which helps in getting better and making things better. Harris invests in their people with training. Would definitely go back, given the opportunity.
Pros
Good work envirnoment, decent salary
Cons
Slow career growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place till it wasn't
Systems Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLSeptember 16, 2017
First job out of college, intended to stay till retirment. Many opportunities to go into different areas, learn different programs, customers, equipment. Had the opportunity to travel extensively. Got cross-ways with a manager who made sure I lost my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack for advancement and poor management
SOFTWARE ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Gates, NYSeptember 15, 2017
Discretionary PTO is a pain
Mandatory overtime even if work is completed
Lack of career advancement
Managers are also working on projects and have little time to meet with you.
Cons
Lack of advancement, All pto needs to be approved, Mandatory Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of work
System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Fort Sam Houston, TXSeptember 8, 2017
I was doing two jobs when I was there I worked long hours and I felt I did not receive fair compensation for the work load. They said it would change but it never did.
Pros
Most of the people were great to work with.
Cons
Not enough people for the amount of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Monrovia, CASeptember 8, 2017
Harris is a good place to work, the contract is a more specific determination of the local management. The DSN has been a very stable contract forthe last twenty years.
Pros
Good stable goverment contract
Cons
Goverment contracting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
SR. HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJSeptember 6, 2017
management likes leadership skills from top down. No appreciation for family. Terrible at assessing skills of workforce. Lack of focus on diversity in leadership roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harris Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 352 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2