Find companies:
Harris County Appraisal District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Harris County Appraisal District Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Celebrate accomplishments for the closing year. On site training for job advancements
Operation Support Specialist II (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 6, 2015
Pros: job advancements
Cons: irate customers
A typical work day was fast past during certain parts of the year. I learned to be patience, to inform, and to resolve customers concerns. Management was very supportive in keeping updated training per department as well as encouraging training for promotion. Co-workers were willing to assist in any overloads that another co-worker may have In order to complete the days task. The hardest part of the job was archiving thousands of files at the close of the season. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see mission accomplished with a satisfied customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government job with ups and downs.
Commercial Appraiser (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 23, 2015
The job was a typical government environment. It had it's ups and downs. Overall a good background for becoming a property tax consultant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured and productive work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TxJanuary 31, 2015
Harris County Appraisal District is a very structured environment. My day was not the same routine it varied. I constantly learned new things every day, which was my favorite part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Supervising Appraiser (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: field work
Cons: uninformed public
A very good place to work. Suprv's. and upper management provide all the training a person could need.

I would recommend them to anybody.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very strict work enviroment.
Telephone Specialist II (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 22, 2014
Pros: monthly luncheons.
Cons: no breaks if extremely busy.
Perform advanced information duties in a telephone communication center, display professionalism, courtesy and patience at all times in assisting property owners and the public. Trained telephone specialist I as well. Very busy and strict work enviorment. I've learned a lot about how the property tax system works. Worked with professiona and educatedl co-workers. The hardest part of the job was telling people no on decreasing their appaisal values. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help others even when the economy was at a low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value residential property
Residential Appraiser III (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 12, 2014
Conduct informal and formal hearings
Add residential property to the tax rolls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place for opportunity
Avon Representative (Former Employee), houston txFebruary 6, 2014
A Good work place for beginners to work and make their way up the ladder.

My experience was only for a day. Therefore I am not able completely convey the experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Commercial Appraiser (Former Employee), Houston, TexasDecember 9, 2013
Pros: co workers
Cons: management sometimes deal with employees mistakes in front of others
Great people to work with and everybody willing to help each other
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good dependable job.
Computer Operator / Residential Appraiser (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 3, 2013
Pros: job security, great people to work with in the it department.
Cons: houston traffic, dealing with irate property owners, though most were understanding and kind.
It is a very challenging and interesting place to work. Deadlines must be met throughout the year. Just like anywhere you work, your happiness depends on your immediate supervisor knowing his job, and how to relate to his workers. Most times, it was a very good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Administrative Technician I (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 23, 2013
H.C.A.D was a great learning experiences. I learned so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with co-workers job was very interesting.
Appraisal Review Board Member (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 3, 2013
Pros: enjoyed talking to people from different cultures.
Cons: during off season it was very slow on appeals made the days long.
I learned about the Texas Tax Codes on properties. We were trained at Lone Star College. The hardest part of the work was appraising properties worth billions of dollars. I enjoyed my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice company.
Operations Support Specialist I (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 15, 2013
You have to experience it for yourself. Nice company. An eye-opening experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Employee (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2013
This is a good place to start one's career or as a short term job. The hearing season is a MAJOR negative and I think that the high rate of turnover is due primarily to the hearing season.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: stressful at times
Great Environment! Excellent pension mention. Stressful at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice benefits, but not a friendly working environment
Technical Assistant Specialist I (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 10, 2013
That job have you so stressed out, not a friendly enjoyable place to work. The management team is not the best and the coworkers
are not so pleasant either. The hardest part of going to that job was so stressed from the coworkers to management watching you 24/7.
Didn't enjoy anythin about that job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career.
Appraiser IV (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 18, 2012
Not much to say, was a great opportunity for me but seems like your just be a number there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career.
Appraiser IV (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 18, 2012
Not much to say, was a great opportunity for me but seems like your just be a number there.

Harris County Appraisal District Salaries

Specialist II
$34,800 per year