Harris County Appraisal District Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Telephone Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 29, 2016
This company made you feel like family since the first day you start.Would highly recommend this place for anyone to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked what I was doing.
Temporary Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 19, 2016
I was kept busy. It catered to my real estate side expereience. I got to meet a lot of people who owned houses around the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad culture
Purchaser (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 13, 2016
Treat employees like cattle, promise the world to get you in the door. Do not follow up on promises. I have never seen so many unhappy employees.
Pros
None
Cons
Almost Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harris County Appraisal District
Technical Writer (Current Employee) –  13013 Northwest Freeway, Houston, TXMarch 3, 2016
A good place to work with helpful and friendly people. The pay is well below market average, however. My subject matter experts were almost always available and quite helpful. Overall, I would say this is a good place to work if money is not your only criterion.
Pros
pleasant work environment, friendly people, orgnaized
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 24, 2015
This job is great to work at. I enjoy the workplace atmosphere and the diversity of cultures is great. Management is great to work for because they work with me and my personal issues that may come up.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fast pace environment to work in
Exemption Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 8, 2015
• Direct and Indirect customer relations.
• Detailed processing and data entry.
• Extensive research and quality control for account resolutions.
• Handle high volume front desk customer service.
• Manage and update accounts.
This job is not considered to be hard it is just a matter of coming in and doing what is necessary to get the work done. The management team works very hard to make sure that the work environment is friendly while being productive. The most enjoyable part about the job is when the property owners come in for help and I am able to give the best service that they have ever received.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Celebrate accomplishments for the closing year. On site training for job advancements
Operation Support Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 6, 2015
A typical work day was fast past during certain parts of the year. I learned to be patience, to inform, and to resolve customers concerns. Management was very supportive in keeping updated training per department as well as encouraging training for promotion. Co-workers were willing to assist in any overloads that another co-worker may have In order to complete the days task. The hardest part of the job was archiving thousands of files at the close of the season. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see mission accomplished with a satisfied customer.
Pros
job advancements
Cons
irate customers
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government job with ups and downs.
Commercial Appraiser (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 23, 2015
The job was a typical government environment. It had it's ups and downs. Overall a good background for becoming a property tax consultant.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured and productive work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TxJanuary 31, 2015
Harris County Appraisal District is a very structured environment. My day was not the same routine it varied. I constantly learned new things every day, which was my favorite part.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Supervising Appraiser (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 19, 2015
A very good place to work. Suprv's. and upper management provide all the training a person could need.

I would recommend them to anybody.
Pros
field work
Cons
uninformed public
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very strict work enviroment.
Telephone Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 22, 2014
Perform advanced information duties in a telephone communication center, display professionalism, courtesy and patience at all times in assisting property owners and the public. Trained telephone specialist I as well. Very busy and strict work enviorment. I've learned a lot about how the property tax system works. Worked with professiona and educatedl co-workers. The hardest part of the job was telling people no on decreasing their appaisal values. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help others even when the economy was at a low.
Pros
monthly luncheons.
Cons
no breaks if extremely busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Value residential property
Residential Appraiser III (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2014
Conduct informal and formal hearings
Add residential property to the tax rolls
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive place for opportunity
Avon Representative (Former Employee) –  houston txFebruary 6, 2014
A Good work place for beginners to work and make their way up the ladder.

My experience was only for a day. Therefore I am not able completely convey the experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Commercial Appraiser (Former Employee) –  Houston, TexasDecember 9, 2013
Great people to work with and everybody willing to help each other
Pros
co workers
Cons
management sometimes deal with employees mistakes in front of others
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good dependable job.
Computer Operator / Residential Appraiser (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 3, 2013
It is a very challenging and interesting place to work. Deadlines must be met throughout the year. Just like anywhere you work, your happiness depends on your immediate supervisor knowing his job, and how to relate to his workers. Most times, it was a very good place to work.
Pros
job security, great people to work with in the it department.
Cons
houston traffic, dealing with irate property owners, though most were understanding and kind.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Administrative Technician I (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 23, 2013
H.C.A.D was a great learning experiences. I learned so much.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with co-workers job was very interesting.
Appraisal Review Board Member (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 3, 2013
I learned about the Texas Tax Codes on properties. We were trained at Lone Star College. The hardest part of the work was appraising properties worth billions of dollars. I enjoyed my co-workers.
Pros
enjoyed talking to people from different cultures.
Cons
during off season it was very slow on appeals made the days long.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice company.
Operations Support Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 15, 2013
You have to experience it for yourself. Nice company. An eye-opening experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Employee (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2013
This is a good place to start one's career or as a short term job. The hearing season is a MAJOR negative and I think that the high rate of turnover is due primarily to the hearing season.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2013
Great Environment! Excellent pension mention. Stressful at times.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Harris County Appraisal District Reviews by Location