Harris County Department of Education Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was fun working students in a after noon setting. I really enjoyed working with students and building robots.
Afterschool teacher (Former Employee) –  Houston TXOctober 2, 2015
Job was fun working students in a after noon setting. I really enjoyed working with students and building robots. I learned how to use every when held back by a time limit.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Money Not a Career
ESL and GED Math Teacher (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXJuly 12, 2015
HCDE treats their employees as temps. Not really a place where you can build a career. Would recommend this to people just need a supplementary income only.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pace for environment
ASSISTANT CENTER MANAGER (Current Employee) –  16102 RidlonJanuary 23, 2015
educate 20-25 students, prepare lesson plans, communication with parents and co-works, team building. I loved to come up with new innovative ways to prepare education for students and getting parents involved.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with families
Family Service Provider (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 11, 2015
A typical day at work consist of providing case management services working with children and families assisting the families to met needs and to become self sufficient. My co-workers and I are very supportive of each and work together to help families to develop positive goal orientated relationships that supports the children and families. The hardest part of my job is when families are not connected with the community resources to help them to become self sufficient. The most enjoyable of my job is when I help families to reach their goals or when I at least help make a difference in one family life.
Pros
work schedule and time off
Cons
no 401 plan high healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Trainer/ Lead Teacher (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2014
The staff at my location are great. Sometimes the monotonous environment can wear you down due to the student's behavior. As a teacher there are limited advancement opportunities within the district.
Pros
great staff
Cons
limited advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
ESL Teacher/Bilingual Teacher (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 4, 2014
A typical day at work would be starting my class with greeting the students as they come in to class. I would then settle them in and start with the days lesson. I would then continue following the lesson plan for the day.
I have learned to be patient with the students in the classroom. I believe a teacher does the job well if he or she loves the teaching profession.
The most enjoyable part of the job, seeing the students learn in the classroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work!
Manager/Specialist of Digital Learning (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2013
Great place to work and they provide a lot of wonderful services to the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 6, 2012
An organization committed to meeting the needs of children, families, and the community. It is a great place to work and it is flexible enough to allow for a balanced work/home lifestyle.
Pros
vacation days - we get spring break and two weeks off for the winter holiday!
Cons
the pay is not competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to Work
ACCOUNTANT (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 8, 2012
I love working for this organization. I just don't believe that there any room for growth.
Pros
extra days off for spring break and christmas
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding
C.A.S.E. (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 29, 2012
Opens up one individuals environment to helping kids of all cultures
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture