Harris County Employee Reviews

Showing all 103 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disrespectful
Banking Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 4, 2017
The schedule is good. Monday-Friday. You will be thrown work and more work for you to complete. There's no proper training, so you would have to learn things on your own. There's also training manuals you can rely on. Some people in Accounting Management there are very DISREPECTFUL and talk to you down. Director of Accounting threw checks at my direction and poor example of management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run the other way
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2017
The Justice of the Peace court's management is terrible. Where do I begin? I have worked at different offices and the main problem here was management. Very unprofessional and poorly trained. There is no one you can complain to about it.
Pros
Benefits, free insurance
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
limited work space
Deputy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2017
Recording documents, learned to proofread quickly with all different nationality come to have documents recorded. I enjoyed working it was very challenging.
Pros
Birthday lunch - Pot luck lunchs
Cons
Strict Rules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graeat job, enjoyed working with the public
Customer Service Facilities & Property (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 24, 2017
Worked with the public and leaned
Learn many Trades that was need to get the job done,
Good Management
Not to read to much into it.
Had chance to obtain many position within the company and enjoyed the great experience.
Pros
Great Jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting duties always something new to learn
Window Teller (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 14, 2017
very fast paced and tidious job. very detailed. a whole lot to learn with minimal assistance and very interesting on how to educate people on buying used vehicles
Pros
none
Cons
no breaks at times low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not applicable
Assessor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 27, 2017
not applicable I have nothing to report in regards to this employer. Your over worked and under paid . Things are not consistent and rewards are minimum
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Developmental, Growth, Amiability
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 26, 2017
A typical day consist of greeting and informing County residents on County and Court proceedings. Learning the new laws and legal matter that can affect our justice system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Juvenile Probation Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 21, 2017
Small department with a family type environment. Everyone knows who you are and relationships are important and necessary if you want to move up in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast pace and very time consuming.
Clerk of the court (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2017
Answer phones and direct phone calls to desired location.
Issue warrants and remove warrants.
Also accept payments from customers to help pay tickets.
Also sort and alphabetize tickets.
Help judge translate to Spanish speaking customers in the court room.
Pros
Long lunches and multiple brakes
Cons
People were very nosy and disrespectful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 17, 2017
The review is very interesting. I would like to work here full-time because I love office work. Filing papers is interesting. I have all of the requirements needed for this job.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love/Hate Harris County
Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 11, 2017
I was there for 2 years, hard to balance work and home life. Great pay, just no life outside of work because of the OT. Great place for a stepping stone then move onto something else. Great experience to say the least.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing environment
Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 10, 2017
Most days is very busy due to customer services also government request for microfilm management is very friendly to their employees Harris county is a very cultural place twirl we all learn from one another gain more knowledge from different departments the hardest part of the job is making sure everything is done is a nice timely manner the enjoyable is we all work as a team.
Pros
Free lunch and parking
Cons
employee appreciation for lunch off holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet, Calm and a simple job task
Library Assistant Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXMay 23, 2017
A typical day would be organizing the books or movies before shelving the necessary items in their place. It's a very comfortable and stable environment, the job is simple and relaxing.
Pros
Free time, kind people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, GAMay 21, 2017
Work as a life guard. Watch over the pool area and insure safety of the participants.
Have always had a safe work environment with fair compensation.
Flexible scheduling as I am a student.
Pros
Flexible Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Went in as a temp and was not hired full time.
Title Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXMay 16, 2017
Good job just need to stay focused and there is a lot to learn. Lots of attention to detail needed. Management isn't very understanding of certain situations. You need to be able to stay focused.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its challeging working withs the juveniles there. I feel that they definetly need the positive influences that i provide.
Juvenile Detention Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 1, 2017
I advise one to have patience. It's a very challenging job when it's comes to working with the kids there and you have to be mindful that you are not allowed to be aggressive ( verbally or physically ) with the kids. You have to have verbal skills and be very aware.
Pros
Its Harris County
Cons
Staff Shortage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Department
Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 22, 2017
Work environment could be pleasant, all employees from each department seemed to get along with each other. Some department management would make some employees be at odds against each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Facilities Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 10, 2017
A place to work and not a place to play politic. Productivity is of great quality. Friendship is not really agreeable. Can be snapped at the back by your own friend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of work
Juvenile Supervision Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 13, 2017
This a very good place to work. Employees get along. However, working with juveniles is extremely difficulty at times. Shifts are easy and occasionally overtime is required.
Pros
Working with juveniles and making a positive impact.
Cons
Working with juveniles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy doing the work but the environment can be toxic.
Criminal customer service clerk (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 1, 2017
It's a good job pretty easy. I like that you get to learn things about the law. I had no experience but I got the hang of it. The environment is not what I expected because it's not professional all the time. Just know that if you enter as a tempt it might take years to become permanent.
Pros
Not a lot of people
Cons
Toxic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harris County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 103 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.0
Culture
3.5