HARRIS REBAR Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contruction
IRON WORKER (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaSeptember 2, 2016
First day doing construction i learned that it takes a team to build the structures takes a team to push threw the pains at time but overall i enjoyed working for Harris Rebar and i liked everyone there also what i think was a enjoyable day is unloading the truck. They had me commanding where each load goes i enjoyed that a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work . . good people
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverside, ALJuly 12, 2016
Project Manager . . had between 10 to 25 jobs on going at all times . . good people to work with . . everybody helped everybody else . . .worked good as a team . . no two jobs were the same.
Pros
They made it fun
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work if you're white
Detailer (Current Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJune 7, 2016
All management positions are Caucasian. If you're not Caucasian you have a ceiling on your career ladder.

Work is okay for what they pay. They expect you to give up everything for their agenda. Safety is the number one priority unless profits are effected.
Pros
None
Cons
No career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Relationships
Branch Administrator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 31, 2016
I was able to make multiple work life relationships that i will have for a life time, and learned so much more about the construction industry that will last me a lifetime.
Pros
Team
Cons
Laid Off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to earn money challenging but rewarding
Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 28, 2016
I really enjoyed the challenging aspect of this job, I was constantly learning new things on a daily basis. Although there were certain cultures aspects that could have been better it was easy to keep your mind off the things that didn't matter and get lost in your work trying to get better faster and more efficient with little mistakes.
Pros
Fair compensation
Cons
poor culture
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe
Lead man (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORApril 18, 2016
Safety orientated yet production seems to be little more important, but there is getting problems resolved with job security and tackling training issues.
Pros
started profit sharing and will provide safety training to everyone
Cons
work 6 days a week very consistantly
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fabricated work enviornment
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Flowood, MSApril 11, 2016
A typical day at Harris Rebar in my position was simple. I operated a 60 ft shear line which cut and dump different sizes of steel rebar. I learned almost every position in the shop my time there throughout the years. Co workers were down to earth young men which were all cool with me. The hardest part was dealing with different odds and in that came along with the company.
Pros
rewards were often
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Maintenance/ Crane operator/ Shear Operator (Former Employee) –  Lumberton, NCJanuary 4, 2016
The work is outdoors mostly so its hot in the summer and cold in the winter but if you like working outdoors its a great place to work. the pay could be a little better but thats like most places
Pros
great people
Cons
working outdoors
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Lumberton, NCDecember 27, 2015
it was a great place to work and consist of hard work and dedication, have to be mentally prepared but overall the management is great and couldn't ask for better
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and competetive work flow.
Detailer (Current Employee) –  Auburn, INOctober 8, 2015
Large structure rebar detailing. Conforming with any addenda or revisions to scope of work. Confident and competent managers. Detail oriented coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work if you like hard work.
SHEAR OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WASeptember 16, 2015
If you like to work long hours and work in a fast paced work place then its a good job. They beg people to work overtime. Sometimes they by us lunch. and every once in a while they give out seahawks tickets.
Pros
the overtime
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and good people
CNC MACHINE OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WASeptember 8, 2015
The job its self is nice, its not easy work but i take it day by day. the people are great to be around and keep me in high spirits. benefits are great, management is okay no real problems there.
Pros
the people
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my work and the employees I worked with.
Inside Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South Windsor, CTAugust 23, 2015
For the most part, working at Harris Rebar was enjoyable. The other employees were easy to work with. I learned a tremendous amount about the construction industry. I did not even know what a rebar was when I started. I started as a file clerk and worked my to payroll, typing up quotes to receptionist, sales clerk. Eventually I became the inside sales supervisor with 5 employees to supervise.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Red tape in getting this changed.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and and good co-workers
Installed rebar in proper positions on job (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 30, 2015
Arrived at work early .Stared work with co-workers on time carried rebar for that day work schedule.
Cut rods to required lengths using chop saw rebar cutter and acetylene torches.
Came on job site approved the work we accomplished for that day.
We all worked well together sometimes things went wrong and I felt the supervisor was not stable for his leading roll.
Carring rebar and bending over all day.
When the job was finished.
Pros
Really wasn`t any.
Cons
Company needed better supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very productive workplace
Operater (Current Employee) –  Bourbonnais, ILMay 7, 2015
I wake up 5:30 am Monday thru Friday and sometimes Saturday to get ready to start my work day. My job is a fast paced sometimes fun but other times over whelming. I do enjoy my job most of the time but in fact I'm looking for a career and not just a job.
Pros
good benefits. a lot of overtime, decent pay
Cons
long hours, no personal life in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced heavy labor
Rebar Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Burbank, WAMarch 16, 2015
provided a good paycheck
lots of work to do
very heavy labor
dont apply unless your wiling to work your butt off
its like family working with everyone, lots to learn as you go
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very different environment of employees that you have to work around every day.
WELDER HELPER (Former Employee) –  Lumberton, NCFebruary 25, 2015
Help with three male co-workers with bending rebar in the Radius Bender Machine to make anywhere from six to eight feet wide hoops. Normally two at a time are bent at once. Assist with the Fusion Welding machine with another co-worker carrying one hoop rebar to the welding machine to align the two cut ends to connect (butt ends). Securing & stabilizing in the “spider”, plasma cut the hoops of rebar that have an overlap measurement from the Radius Bender & assisted the fusion welding machine. Also knowledge and experience on the Lenton Threaded machine.
Pros
Being able to work as one of the guys.
Cons
Team leaders are not for say a "people person, " to be in charge of other employees under them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours hard work
Fabricater 1 (Former Employee) –  Burbank, WAJuly 16, 2014
Lots of overtime and I great place to work if you want to work hard and long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly skilled and qualified people to learn from.
Iron Worker (Former Employee) –  Delta, BCNovember 25, 2013
I enjoyed learning from some of the best and most skilled reinforcers in the province as well I enjoyed the emphasis on saftey and good union values.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coffee pot in the lunchroom, good benefits.
Rebar Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 21, 2013
I enjoyed my job and the hardest part of my job was work in the hot weather,
Machinery was old.
The good is that has a lunchroom.
Pros
good insurance
Cons
old equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HARRIS REBAR. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8