Find companies:
Harris Teeter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
607 reviews

Harris Teeter Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious work but easy.
Cashier (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 23, 2014
The work there depending on the department isnt hard work but it is very repetitive. They have a lot of nice people working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Place Enjoying working there
To assist customers (Former Employee), Arlington VAJuly 21, 2014
I love the the co-workers and the customer it was a good job and the days move face because of the store customers coming in consantly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun upbeat surroundings
Cashier, Closing manager (Former Employee), Indian Trail, NCJuly 20, 2014
Worked Cashier, also closing manager. Best thing was customer interaction and hardest was probably learning where every food product was located as the serial number on the product
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with great people
Bagger/Stocker (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 18, 2014
Pros: being around understanding people
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at working for Harris Teeter is being around alot of people that love there jobs. Harris Teeter is a very understanding company to work for. They will not push you to do anything you don't want to do. The hardest part of the job is trying to get everything done quickly. But that's it really for the most part a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Flowing
Check-out Clerk (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 18, 2014
Pros: good work flow
Cons: not enough hours
What was nice to meet different people from all over the world everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Harris Teeter
Cashier (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 17, 2014
Cons: breaks are only 15 minutes, you have to work 7 hours to even get a lunch break, hours are up and down and inconsistent
Harris Teeter is Great place to shop! Some things are indeed OVER PRICED, but they offer great deals and opportunities for customers that choose their stores. I will say that Harris Teeter Provides excellent customer service and really goes the extra mile for their customers. Management at my store was not the best. the hours are never the same. one – more... week you will have 30 hours and then suddenly the next week you may only 8. And believe it or not they will split those 8 hours into 2 days. The inconsistency and lack of concern for employees is harris teeters downfall. at least, this is true for store 401.
the work environment, on the other hand, is what you make it. I personally got along with everyone, and everyone including customers enjoyed me. And that is because that was my goal. The best part about Harris teeter is the people. NO DOUBT! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee), Weddington, NCJuly 17, 2014
worked at starbucks and helped front desk as needed, worked there when I was in college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional atmosphere
Overnight Stock Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 16, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: travel
Normal office setting but great people from across the U.S to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Job
Journeyman Meat Cutter (Current Employee), Cary, NCJuly 15, 2014
Pros: steady raises, room for growth
Cons: weird hours that constantly change
My typical day is usually physical labor intensive with large amounts of customer and co worker interaction. The hardest part of the job is sometimes it's not always fast paced, but when it gets busy you highly rely on others as well as yourself to get the job done. Management is all respectful as well as helpful in helping pursue your career and working – more... with you on a professional level to resolve issues or help with issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for advancement
Scan Coordinator/Vendor Receiver Backup (Former Employee), Stallings, NCJuly 15, 2014
Depending what area the store is in, it could be bustling and busy all day, or a more steady flow. While at Harris Teeter I definitely learned to work more efficiently, and had to learn even more patience with customers. Co-workers and managers are generally kind to each other, and each store has its own familial atmosphere. The hardest part are those – more... who are impolite and "entitled" customers, who due to certain policies, feel it is ok to be this way. The best part is that if you have the drive and willingness to succeed here, they will help you to advance in your career - they much prefer to hire within anyway. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great company to work for very nice work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 13, 2014
It was a great company to work for very nice work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, department set up, provide support for employees and world-class customer service.
Fresh Foods Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 11, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: working on sunday, no advancement
A typical day involved unloading and loading trucks, preparing the department for the day and helping customers. I've learned how to use time management wisely and how to become a leader/manager that leads by example. Coworkers required differentiated strategies to work well. The hardest part of the job was adjusting management strategies for the various – more... personalities. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy frozen clerk
Dairy/Frozen Clerk (Former Employee), Nags Head, NCJuly 11, 2014
working with customer to help them find things in the store. Stocking and fronting products. Work well with co-workers to get things done. Manager was helpful in training and teaching me the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Pharmacy Tech (Current Employee), Burlington, NCJuly 10, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: always being calls to help out up front
good place to meet new people. Always being up front while in a different department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 10, 2014
Long hours with mean managers and very disrespectful co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at, nice atmosphere and co-workers.
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), Leland, NCJuly 9, 2014
My job is heavily dependent on my ability to multitask. There are numerous things that have to be done on the front end, and it really wouldn't get done without my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Standards on Respect for the Individual
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Wesley Chapel, NCJuly 9, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: expensive benefits
I was co-manager over Grocery, Pharmacy, Frozen Food and Dairy.
I enjoyed my responsibilities with Harris Teeter, However hour were very late at night due to overnight stocking, Benefits were not good.
The increase I received was taken by premiums. I was taking home no more than at Food Lion, including bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy Work Environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 8, 2014
I enjoyed working here it was a cool place to form bonds and to gain so good work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and enjoyable place to work.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Cary, NCJuly 8, 2014
A typical day at work included me being responsible for all aspects of the store. I learned important skills in employee management and customer relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and busy place to work
HBC Dairy and Grocery Stock Clerk (Current Employee), Bristow, VAJuly 8, 2014
A typical day at work starts off by opening about 36 cases of mixed merchandise and sorting it by department.Once that is complete I start stocking items on the sales floor. Management is available if questions arise, coworkers are friendly and willing to help. the hardest part of the job extra large shipments. the best part of the job is customer service.

1 2 3 4 5

About Harris Teeter

Neither teetering nor tottering, Harris Teeter operates┬ámore than 200 supermarkets in North Carolina and┬áseven other southeastern – Read more

Harris Teeter Photos