Harris Teeter Employee Reviews

Found 1,560 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Loader/Floater/Selector (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMay 28, 2017
Production work.
Can move up.
Workplace culture was the same everyday.
Management was easy to get along with.
You had a choice for Flexible Schedules.
Pros
Management for easy to get along with.
Cons
Hard to move up in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very positive work environment the customers are really nice. The benifits form working here are also outstanding.
Cashier/Retail (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 28, 2017
A typical day of work would include greeting myself to all of the amazing customers we get each day. Restocking items, and putting things back where they belong if they were misplaced. Getting and organizing carts from outside was also a part of our work experience.
Pros
Scholarships offered to students, 10% discounted items, employee of the month. Breaks are also paid for.
Cons
Very short breaks, and the staff can get very strict and unfriendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good place to work
Co Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 26, 2017
pretty good company to work for with room for growth. The associates are great and most of them want to do a good job and stay employed with harris teeter
Pros
opportunity for advancement
Cons
low pay for internals
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good
Fresh Foods Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Bethesda, MDMay 26, 2017
Working at Harris Teeter was nice. It is a great working space. You can make nice friends, Work hard and gain new experiences . Great benefits. Good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harris Teeter
Deli/Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCMay 25, 2017
I enjoyed my little bit of time working for this company. Had I not moved I am sure I would have moved up. I got along with my immediate supervisors as well as managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beneficial but very inconsiderate of personal life
cashier (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VA 22314May 25, 2017
some slow days some very busy days
I learned that the customers can ve very rude at times
the management is unprofessional
the hardest part is the long hours with only 1 break
the most enjoyable part is the pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job for teenagers
Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 25, 2017
Management is often replaced so job hour security is not guaranteed and workers the managers favor the most will receive the most hours. Although u do receive bonus checks every 6 months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was chill
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 25, 2017
paid pretty well and environment was pretty chill. I would of stayed but it interfered with school. it was probably one my most lenient best paying part time jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Bagger (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 25, 2017
I dont remember that well because it was a couple of years ago but it paid well for a weekend gig. my big complaint was that you had to clock in with your social security number and the clock in device was in the lobby.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed/underpaid
BBT Assistant Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 25, 2017
The store I was in was severely understaffed and it was stressful. Instead of training for my department I was stuck doing other things. I barely saw the manager of my department and the store manager seemed to not care for any of the employees but loved his customers.
Pros
Co workers
Cons
The company has went downhill since this merger
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Huntersville, NCMay 25, 2017
Nice place to work; however, the hours are starting to intervene with my school hours. I enjoy working with the team of cashier, The hardest part of the job is working everyday on the weekend when i have i have to be home to submit my homework.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  Darnestown, MDMay 24, 2017
Are many types of mangers and management styles. Overall a good experience with opportunities for advancement for those who wish to do so. Problem of adapting to frequently changing management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard labor
Overnight Stocker (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 24, 2017
I enjoyed getting weekly check but I dont think I was getting paid enough for all the labor that was involved
I enjoyed my stay
The overnight stocking was ok but not enough for my liking
Pros
weekly checks
Cons
overnight shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work!
Customer service, Home Shopper (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMay 24, 2017
great place to work! You have to be passionate about making your customers happy to work here. part timers can only work 28 hours and hours are not guaranteed, so if you need reliable hours apply for full time position. Great place to work for college students that need some money on the side and have to focus on skill. They will work with your schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaMay 24, 2017
Not enough hours so i quit, management was strict and will write you up for small things i don't recommend to anyone that's a teen because it's also stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and sometimes fun workplace
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCMay 24, 2017
Harris Teeter if a very good work place. I enjoyed it but some mangers I didn't enjoy. There some favoritism in the workplace. i also loved bagging the groceries for people i actually like bagging more than cashier.
Pros
Make a bond with customers
Cons
short break and No free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you have no personal life here
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  North Bethesda, MDMay 22, 2017
I personally did not enjoy working here, I was a cashier and was barely trained. their register is super outdated, and management felt oppressive.As an employee there you must provide days where you will be on call which didnt work for me
Pros
discount on groceries
Cons
on call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved it here
Cashier/Training (Former Employee) –  Waxhaw, NCMay 22, 2017
The people were great. All of the standards were clearly outlined. The company has great benefits for all employees. The employees are all awesome too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Food Clerk (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 22, 2017
As a part time worker i barely received any hours at all. I was paid pennies on the hour and would be called in sometimes one day a week for 3 hours. I saw some very unsanitary health practices happening with the food being cooked on the premises by an older gentlemen there and the management continues to ignore the many complaints by the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great
Cashier/Deli Clerk,Analysis Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Fernandina Beach, FLMay 22, 2017
No place for advancement, doesn't hire from within, unfair wage gap, management shows favoritism, rude management, management calls out all of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harris Teeter. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,564 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

79%
418 ratings
Add your rating