HARSCO METALS Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rail maintenance experience
Railroad Mechanic (Former Employee) –  koppel PAJanuary 30, 2017
replace and repair Rail Cars sides trucks. we i designed and built a side bender for the cars to keep side straight and beef them up so that overhead cranes wont tear them up as easily.
ive learned how to work effectively alone and with a team.
the hardest part of my job was replacing the rail ties and rail its self on a daily basis.
the most enjoyable part was welding on the railcars and being sure that it was all to spec when done.
Pros
team effort from all persons on the rail team
Cons
pay grade for the skill i performed day to day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work place. Great coworkers and good management
Lancer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, TXJanuary 17, 2017
I worked at Harsco for a little over two years. It's a good place to work and they pay well. With great benefits. The management is good. Every employee is a hard worker.
Pros
If you want it you can get lots of hours
Cons
Sometimes even if you don't want it you have to work lots of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanic
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, TXOctober 24, 2016
Great pay and benefits. High management turnover. Lots if inconsistancies in policies. Lots of preferential treatment. High turnover rate of employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job, the employees are good people, hard work is good
Equipment Operator/ Haul Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Orem, UTJuly 30, 2016
We work 10 hour days processing slag into slag products ie road base.
We also process scrap iron etc.
Great co-workers
The labor is the hardest part of this job.
Operating equipment and haul trucks is the funnest part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a pleasnt place to work
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAJuly 24, 2015
I just didn't fit in there, if you don't suck up to your boss daily you get nicely. Not every day way bad, but there were more bad than good.
Pros
the days you to get off work
Cons
the entire company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Corporation
SR Site Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 8, 2015
An excellent company to work for. Great pay, long hours, with upward mobility if your perform. You must be mature, have self-discipline and sound work ethic. A fast paced environment where team work is the key to job success!
Pros
Great pay!
Cons
Tough industry
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Specialist (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 1, 2014
I have learned first hand the things it takes to be a positive leader meeting deadlines and time frames.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but worth it
Slag pot carrier (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAApril 10, 2014
Steady work, easy to advance when you work hard. management easy to work for and with.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security
Senior Lead, Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Ghent, KYApril 7, 2014
ive learned a lot working at Harsco Metals. I have been there 14 years strong and looking to relocate
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good place to work the shop people were close
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, TXMarch 28, 2014
everyday was somewhat the same. i learned how to repair different kinds of machines. The leader would give good directions and the co-workers would fix it. Some of us already knew what to do but you still have to follow rules. The hardest part was when we didn`t have the replcement part I always got a good feeling when I put a tire on a loader and put a chain on it
Pros
overtime, insurance
Cons
dusty inviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and an alright culture, besides the management
Scale Master (Former Employee) –  Lindon, UTNovember 23, 2013
Work with most of the back crew and the customers was great! Management not so much! I felt as if they are huge micro-mangers which can be tolerated to an extend. This manager and supervisor were not involved with their staff as they should be and the main manager was never there to know what was going on if anything ever did or was.
Pros
Easy Schedule, Easy Job Duties
Cons
Micro-management, repetative work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
port talbot managers are bullys
labourer (Former Employee) –  port talbot walesJuly 4, 2013
port talbot managers are bullys dont bother with this company go to hargreaves much better company.
Pros
its a job while looking for other employment
Cons
port talbot managers are bullys and will make your life hell
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where I thought I could grow as an employee
Regional Buyer (Former Employee) –  Blytheville, ARMarch 10, 2013
If they pay would have been increased when the job duties increased maybe I could have gave it 150% instead of 85%.
Pros
learned more areas of office work
Cons
admins were treated unfairly
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a learning experience the company is driving itself into the ground
welding and mechanical maintenance (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, KYDecember 19, 2012
wouldn't recommend it to any one unless 8$ an hour for two years straight is ok with you.
Pros
small company not a lot of hassle
Cons
no pay increases or benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of safety involed with great work envoriment
Pit loader operater (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COJuly 25, 2012
A typical day at work was usally a good day. The day was always the same responcibiltys but never done the same way cause of working with molten steel you never what to expect. I liked the management cause they were always on top of safety issues.For me the hardest part of the job was dealing with the dangers of driving on 2000 to 3000 degrees in a loader.I always enjoyed the shift change at theend of a safe day going home to my family
Pros
i would have to say just about everything was great
Cons
paying union dues to a union which didnt seem to help much when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Rios's Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Warren, OHJune 25, 2012
Great place to work .Every one was great to work with & will miss working with every one .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete lack of ethics
Country Manager, Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia (Former Employee) –  Saudi ArabiaMay 4, 2012
Politically driven management that hides actual results from the shareholders. CEO just fired in March.
Pros
smart people
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good company
Shift Worker (Current Employee) –  Port Talbot SteelworksMarch 31, 2012
A typical work day can be busy , moral is quite low as the pay structure is not very good.The shift system has no beneficial pay for inconveniences , the hardest part of the day is actually getting up for work ,the best part of the day is clocking off to go home.
Pros
good workforce
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

See more HARSCO METALS reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HARSCO METALS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 71 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6