Harsco Rail Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Controls Engineer (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCJune 14, 2016
Peer support and training are excellent here. I learned many new transferable skills. This was actually a really fulfilling job and I enjoyed working on these creative machines and traveling around the country/world.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company will try and keep you a temp past 7 months
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCMarch 23, 2016
If you can stand not being a permanent employee, then it will be the perfect job for you. But as a temp coming perm. you will be the first laid off work when business slows down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Electrical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Lexington, SCOctober 14, 2015
It's a market base job do to poor market they reduce there work force but that's the way it goes. Harsco rail is a great company the people are good and I loved working there .
Pros
2weeks vac at hire, thanksgiving diner, christmas party
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Work Environment with Significant Autonomy within the Job Function
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  West Columbia, SCSeptember 1, 2015
Great people
Flexible work environment
Significant autonomy within the job function
Large amount of room to make improvements within company
No career path
Company trying to adapt to modern demand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pass and friendly work environment
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 28, 2014
My day was full of tasks and deadlines. I learned alot about cost allocation in this position and the manufacturing industry. The management group was helpful and family oriented. My teammates were passionate and hard-working. The hardest part of this position was preparing and implementing the new paperless scanning and work flow system. The most enjoyable part of my position was the multiple department cross training.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
having to leave due to lay-offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Electrician Apprentice (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCMay 27, 2013
I enjoyed working at Harsco Rail. I had been there since 2008-2013. This was my first job since high school. I was trained under a qualified journeyman Electrician .I came to at Harsco Rail through a skilled work force program through Vocational Rehab in West Columbia. I am now looking for a well paying job in which I am highly trained for.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, South CarolinaJuly 7, 2014
everyone works 8-4:30 not a minute more. shop employees are treated as a resource not a person. Overall the company has grown and attempted to improve, but the culture has to change to see real improvement. ISO 9001 certified but very little is done to follow the process
Pros
laid back atmosphere
Cons
no sense of urgency, lazy employees, no one wants to get anything done
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
International Sales Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 9, 2015
Working hours 8-5, great office environment. Have had the ability to learn from many departments with in the organization.
Pros
Holiday Schedule
Cons
Lack of data
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once great now sliding...
Drafter (Former Employee) –  ColumbiaNovember 4, 2012
Once this organisation was simply great. You did not go to work here. It was a second home with your co-workers as family members. Work was fun and long hours did not matter.
Pressures and restructuring by the holding company corporate office has caused a complete change in the environment. From an era when loyalty to the firm, a passion for the product line and technology was the culture of the work force there is now a complete disconnect with a task based culture of "get it done anyhow" approach. There is a significant amount of cronyism and manipulation and questionable ethics. The experienced workforce has largely dissappeared. Attrition in the engineering workforce is significant.
Pros
great team work, gifts at christmas, good health care benefits, possiblity of flex time.
Cons
very poor career advancements; modest salaries, very poor relocation benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employeer, Environmental procedures are not congregated according to Department of Health and Environmental Control sta
Maintenance/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCMarch 12, 2012
Excellent Company, Environmental procedures are not congregated according to Department of Health and Environmental Control standards
Pros
benefit package
Cons
shift schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Organizational Culture Resistant to Change
Manager (Current Employee) –  West Columbia, SCNovember 29, 2013
* unlimited potential
* inadequate accountability
* inadequate leadership
* nepotism tolerated
* substandard performance tolerated
* inadequate technology management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a temp
Production Planner (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCMay 8, 2013
I was only a temp at Harsco Rail, but it was a very good job. I would have loved to have gotten hired on full time!
Pros
Get a lot of hours, lot of free lunches
Cons
Some poor management in certain areas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and exciting work place
Production/Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCApril 6, 2012
In a few words its a liked business and very supportive employees.
Pros
no heavy lifting
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very old school business practices
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCJanuary 6, 2014
Overall a good company, but extremely behind times when it comes to business practices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Environment
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCMarch 24, 2014
Management is friendly and easy to work with. Cares about employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

See more Harsco Rail reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5

Harsco Rail Reviews by Location