Harsco Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss communication
Welder (Former Employee) –  Channelview, TXAugust 19, 2017
They get you way out there to get you to be a helper. To pick up trash sweep mop and do janitor work not a welder position and the worst thing is the pay 15
Pros
The union
Cons
The pay the work condition
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsco
Regional Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  OhioMarch 15, 2017
Good at the beginning with the potential for advancement opportunities. There were a lot of good people who unfortunately lost their jobs. It was an interesting place to work and I learned a lot about the steel industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work/ No job Security
Fitter (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 20, 2017
Great place to work for the pay and benefits but there is a lot of layoffs which causes a lot of new hires. You feel like you are always training someone.
Pros
Benefits and pay
Cons
Layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job horrible management
Operator/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Blytheville, ARJanuary 8, 2017
The job itself is challenging and exciting. The management is by far the worse I have ever experienced. They work their hot end employees to their breaking points causing them to quit and find other jobs. Will not hire anyone ahead of time to fill the spots causing schedules of all the hot end employees to be screwed up. They call you every day your off to try and get you to come in and help out. They will never let you know ahead of time. Certain employees get special treatment and get to play the system with no consequences also causing all of the other employees to get screwed over. I would not recommend working for harsco of blytheville unless you feel like being screwed over time and time again and would like to work 7 days a week with phone calls of being asked to come in on your days off. Also every piece of equipment at the blytheville site is junk. Maintenance will not fix the issues just put bandaids on everything which in time is going to cause someone to get hurt.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Everything but pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place for. Great challenge
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, ILDecember 29, 2016
Fantastic people. Let me be creative. Management offered challenges which was great. Long hours. Miss my staff. Management offered plenty of flexability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going,productive
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Owasso, OKOctober 23, 2016
Awesome work place would like to go back and work there again but I got layed off.The hardest part was the walkie talkies and no one communicating.
Pros
great bosses
Cons
walkie talkies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work, a place were u can advance youself..
Helper/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Channelview, TXOctober 11, 2016
I learned how to multi task my work, my coworkers look out for each other,and working in a safe and clean environment... there is really no hardest part of the job, the most enjoyable part of the job is we will get rewarded by doing a job or task well done..
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Chief Design Engineer/Interim Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAOctober 3, 2016
Harsco represents a typical diversified manufacturers company. With its multiple manufacturing facilities, Harsco provides plenty of opportunity to grow with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the employers are great but management really horrible! To many chiefs and not enough Indians..
Assembler/Production (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 18, 2016
Company was great to work for before they change management. Management tell lies and will walk right by you and won't speak.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global company with a long successful history
Manager (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 27, 2016
Currently struggling in a difficult economy. Largest division of the company is for sale. Other two divisions are doing fairly well.
Pros
Good, hard working front line managers
Cons
Too much overhead at the corporate level. Lots of layoffs over the past year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful...
Site Administrator (Current Employee) –  Koppel, PAFebruary 24, 2016
They are an amazing company to work for. Coworkers at the site lever are wonderful, as are the site managers. Everyone at the offices are so helpful. Not your average company. Great environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Hiring only reducing
vp operations (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 18, 2016
The business is under severe economic stress due to the global steel and energy trends.
The company is contracting vs growing.
Pros
Compensation is competative
Cons
They dont live by their values
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people. Felt like rush hour all day everyday...
Welder (Former Employee) –  Owasso, OKSeptember 29, 2015
I loved it here at first, but the mandatory overtime began to wear on me. I mainly enjoyed getting my hands on so many different welding applications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay.
Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2015
Other than good pay and benefits. This was not a good company to work for. Threatened with holding back pay when you tried to leave the company. Was cussed by email and phone/text by management.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Management was horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Requires a lot of safety thinking before taking any action
Heavy equipment mechanic/ welder (Current Employee) –  Ghent, KYAugust 9, 2015
Start the day with safety meeting, work on break
learned about having the right kind of tools for this particular job
Management has a budget to run on
Hardest part of the job is the weather elements
The most enjoyable part of the job is having parts on hand and good weather
Pros
Has cook outs every now and then
Cons
work 1 day a week by myself as a mechanic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional atmosphere, limited upward mobility
SALES MANAGER, Harsco Metals (Former Employee) –  Pennsylvania & OhioMay 21, 2015
Responsible for driving sales increases within two State area.
Prospecting, cold calling professionals, municipalities and State Government. Approximately 40 percent travel.
Pros
Flexibility within responsibilities, adjust priorities as necessary. Good benefits and bonus potential.
Cons
Limited opportunity to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make money, will impulse layoff at the drop of a hat.
Mechanical Designer/Technologist (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 20, 2015
My group here was great to work with and my two immediate managers were beyond great. However, the GM makes very poor choices and knows very little about how his company is ran.
Pros
Yearly Bonus, Ot
Cons
Mandatory OT, terrible upper upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long work day with above avrage pay
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAJanuary 9, 2015
harso is a good contractor with a lot of talented people the project I was on was over a year in when I got their an spent most of my time finishing projects that were mostly completed witch made my job realy easy and upper management treated me very well all an all it was a good experence
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
working 7 days a week 12 to 14 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsco is not a company it my learning curve
Oracle Apps Technical Consultant, ADF Developer (Current Employee) –  Pitburgh, PAAugust 21, 2014
I have implemented Fusion Middleware and integrated with oracle apps.
Extensively used ADF,SOA BPEL
Oracle API's
Reports
10g Forms
OAF
Intgrations
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is ok job
Senior Lead Inspector (Current Employee) –  Channelview,TxJuly 17, 2014
There is no advancement for job placement and the managers are corrupt
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks, unfair working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harsco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 57 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4