HART & COOLEY Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team leader
Distribution Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Clayton, OHJune 13, 2016
not alot of room to grow at all. the raises are once a year and everybody gets the same amount. Not bad overtime is great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work as well as productive
Payroll / Production Clerk /Department Lead (Former Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSFebruary 23, 2016
A typical day at work was interacting with the supervisors, Human Resource Manger and the hourly employer. I learned responsibility. I enjoyed working with all my co-workers, we treated each other like family. My boss was one of the best boss to work for. After working at Hart & Cooley for nine years, there was not anything hard about this job. The overall environment was wonderful.
Pros
I was able to schedule my work hours when I worked on the weekend.
Cons
I had to work almost every weekend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJanuary 13, 2016
this company was a good place to work, you get to do a lot of different thngs . not in the same spot every day that the best thing about it .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, environmental issues
Paco Machine Operator /Material Lead (Current Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSSeptember 6, 2015
This company has great potential to be a strong draw for employment
and business. They offer good pay and incentives but lose ground in areas like work conditions and environmental issues like air quality, and heat control. With forward thinking and up to date planning they could become the leader in their industry .
Pros
incentives, bonus
Cons
Short breaks, heat, environmental issues and equipment updates
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth opportunity
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJuly 29, 2015
Make production.
Assembly parts.
Learn to be fast but with a good quality of work in what I do.
The hardest part of the job was make the number of production they asked for when a machine broke.
I enjoyed work as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Receiving Specialist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 19, 2015
I enjoyed working at Hart & Cooley and would plan to retire from this company if granted the opportunity in the future. Management worked with employees to change shifts and create a good working atmosphere.
Pros
lunch and company standing in the community
Cons
Insulation and fiber in clothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not a fun place to work
Sheet Metal Worker (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJuly 8, 2015
It is not an easy place to work. The place is a very dirty job. You leave the building smelling like grease and oil every day.
Pros
none
Cons
30min lunch and 2 10 min breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
factory enviornment
production worker (Current Employee) –  Nampa, IDJune 5, 2015
This is a factory with general labor workers. They make metal pipes, metal chimneys.The production workers are great to get along with and the management is also very good at communicating with the workers.
Pros
managment is great
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goood atmosphere easy work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  olive branch msMarch 17, 2015
Easy day at work, good environment laid back as long as production was made daily. Management was easy to get along with.
Pros
easy work
Cons
Short breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very upscale workplace where you get to meet lots of new people & learn lots of new things
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSAugust 21, 2014
i like this job but it was hard to balance with 2 toddlers & workin over 60 hours a wee with 1 off day
Pros
great pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place if you were lucky enough to experience it.
Brake Press Operator, Die setter, press operator (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIMarch 28, 2014
The work was repetitive as most production work is, but I found it satisfying. I learned so much about production here. The workers and management flowed well together and the pay was good. being around sheet metal is a dangerous place so keep those fingers gloved. The best part about it was the benefits and retirement plan that I didn't get to take advantage of when they closed the doors.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
closed the holland plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace enviroment with material every where
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSFebruary 6, 2014
A typical day was a nice sturdy work pace with a high level of production going on. I learned how to adapt to a fast pace environment with forklifts with small areas to work with operating a squeeze clamp. good co- workers management was a little difficult .hardest part of the job was to find the material needed..the most enjoyable part of the job was receiving trucks in it usually went fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Mig Welder (Former Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILJanuary 29, 2014
I learned how to read blueprints better, an got better on different welding positions. My supervisor was ok. He really didn't know to much about welding, but my co workers were nice an a joy to be around they made the workplace fun. The hardest part of my job was welding the big 6ft and 10ft covers. I was welding galvanized steel.
Pros
good benefits, good co workers
Cons
short breaks, low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Quality Technician (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIDecember 1, 2013
It was one of those places you liked getting up and going to every day.

I learned most of my quality in CMM here and how to work with different types of people. But the management took the time to know your name, and supported the needs to give the people the tools they needed to do the job
Pros
learned something new everyday
Cons
union shop
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed, terrible interdepartmental communication, bad inventory control.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILApril 30, 2013
Due to understaffing, and management of interdepartmental communication and inventory control, we could not service the customers in a timely manner.
Pros
nice people to work with at my level.
Cons
felt overworked & underappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized processes. Unfortunately, they've downsized the working force.
Assembler/Packer (Former Employee) –  Carol StreamApril 12, 2013
Well organized processes. Unfortunately, they've downsized the working force.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor corporate oversight
Inventory Control (Former Employee) –  Nampa, IDFebruary 12, 2013
The local management is EXCELLENT. However, the coroporate people are political and all about power. The micromanage too many aspect. When my position was "eliminated" the HR manager immediately applied at another company and left Hart & Cooley. I was the last straw for her as she saw others like myself who were excellent employees who were let go.

The corporate people have no trust in the people at the local level. It was one of the reasons why the former plant manager, ... ..., left the company.

My then supervisor and the current plant manager are good people.
Pros
excellent local people
Cons
corporate distrust
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work. The facility in Holland Mi. is no longer there.
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIJanuary 28, 2013
Hart & Cooley makes heating and cooling vents as well as chimeny pipe and stack covers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run very successfu company
Facilities Manager/ Engineering (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIJanuary 24, 2013
As facilities manager responsibiliy included the maintenance and tool room activity. extremely demanding position made easier because of a dedicated workforce and team concept employed.
Pros
team work atmosphere prevailed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my position did not pay enough
yard switcher (Former Employee) –  Clayton, OHJanuary 6, 2013
didn't mind the work at all, boss showed favoritism, pay was not the best.
Pros
the work wasn't too bad, good insurance
Cons
does not pay a good wage, favoritism, very small raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5