Harvard University Employee Reviews

Found 247 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Sr. Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 13, 2016
Excellent work/life balance.
People work in a team there.
Respect for employees and respect for each other
Company thrives on taking good care of its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Regulatory Documents Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 7, 2016
The company is very flexible with working options. This was very helpful during the time the MBTA was not operating. The staff are very supportive.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
SOPs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Harvard experience is unimaginable.
CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Allston, MADecember 30, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is communicating with the most highly intuitive people from around the world.
The faculty here is phenomenal.
Pros
Continued Education
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect
Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 24, 2015
This is an excellent place to work and dream to work.
I enjoyed working in Harvard medical school.
Well managed, perfect environment of research
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Prestigous institute
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MANovember 22, 2015
The best place to do scientific research. Can easily form collaborations with external laboratories. Colleagues are smart and dedicated as well as very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually stimulating work, independent and flexible atmosphere
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 10, 2015
The projects I work on at Harvard Business School are intellectually stimulating. I get to research issues that matter. I really like the atmosphere. My supervisors give me a great deal of independence and flexibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am skilled at working well with counseling people about financial matters
Senior Director of Gift Planning (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 30, 2015
I truly enjoyed my work at HMS, but after 18 years in the same position, I need new challenges that can draw upon my strengths and help students.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Same work over and over without much flexibility to do other jobs in the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a long held position and I will miss it
Maintenance Technician I (Former Employee) –  Southborough, MAOctober 26, 2015
A typical day at work was cleaning and maintaining
the buildings.The most enjoyable part of my jobs was interacting with the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work,friendly atmospher, co-workers worked as a team.
Gift Processor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 20, 2015
Harvard was/is a wonderful University to work for has museums, theaters, all sorts of educational programs and activities are opened to all employees.
Pros
Reduced lunches at dining halls on campus also gyms are at a reduced cost.
Cons
Like anywhere you work healthcare costs are always the main concern.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a friendly enviroment to work at.
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 17, 2015
I was an intern there. Everybody for the most part was friendly and it was a comfortable setting. For any educational professionals, I definitely recommend it. The internship I was in I definitely recommend to any STEM student.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project coordinator
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 15, 2015
Fun and exciting place to work. People there were great and the study was good to learn about. I learned a lot in the short time I was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually stimulating work environment
Clinical Events Committee (CEC) Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 14, 2015
Great place for doing cross disciplinary research, many opportunities to collaborate with experts. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside and learning from highly gifted colleagues.
Pros
Working at Harvard Clinical Research Institute has some advantages, which allow you to become better if you want to be.
Cons
Interaction between employees within department and between departments needs improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually stimulating work environment
Research Engineer (Former Employee) –  BostonOctober 10, 2015
Great place for doing cross disciplinary research, many opportunities to collaborate with experts. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside and learning from highly gifted colleagues.
Pros
Intellectual stimulation
Cons
none I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and innovative place to work
Media Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Derek Bok Center for Teaching and LearningOctober 7, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed working at Harvard University. Excellent resources and excellent staff. I believe that anyone would enjoy working with the staff that I had the pleasure of working with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company for Growth if interested in Fundraising
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 7, 2015
Good company for growth if you're on the Fundraising track. Difficult to excel if you decide frontline fundraising is not for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where opportunities abound
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 6, 2015
The high concentration of highly qualified professionals allows for the exchange and development of ingenious ideas that is only possible in very few places in the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 2, 2015
Harvard University has many opportunities for you as a postdoc to learn, network, and succeed. Everything is exciting!
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A No Nonsense Company
Editorial and Design Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 2, 2015
A straightforward, hardworking place. A little dull, but certainly a fine place to work that cares about their employees and their work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 29, 2015
Had the best time there. Working with my colleagues introduced me into the world of team work as well as getting the personal management skills required to be a solid member of the team.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting, educational, productive, friendly, and positive work environment
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 25, 2015
Best job I have ever had. Fun and educational place to work with supportive and interesting coworkers and patients. Boss is easy to get along with, productive, and does whatever he can to better everyone around him.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 254 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture