Harvard University Employee Reviews

Found 361 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent work and straightforward
Cabot and Widener Libraries Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 15, 2017
Easy to work here with little supervision. Learned to process data and work with different departments in the library system. Good place to work as a student and people are polite and considerate.
Pros
events, discounts, free stuff
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
jobs
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 11, 2017
Job Work/Life Balance : Busy life, good research
Compensation/Benefits: average salary, good benefits
Job Security/Advancement : depends on lab, still OK.
Management: very nice
Job Culture: Mixture multiple levels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 9, 2017
Harvard was a great place to work before I had a family. It is a very competitive environment and I was on call with participants 24/7. But it is a great environment for learning if you take advantage of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work enviromet
Clinical Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 9, 2017
nice people all over the work place, few obstacles and hard to deal with people, if you are hard worker and honest person you would probably be successful overthere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Director (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 7, 2017
I enjoy working at Harvard. There is flexibility, a fairly laid back atmosphere and let's face it, it's a beautiful place to be! I would recommend you give it a chance. Just keep in mind that higher ed doesn't mean high money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Staff Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 5, 2017
This is a great university to work. I learned a lot from office work to computer work. My boss and co-workers were excellent people. Great university.
Pros
Excellent co-workers
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Lab
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 5, 2017
Unless you've stayed in academia there's little to no room for advancement at the lab I worked at. Workplace culture is mostly work. Do not remember all the specifics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sr. Software Engineer/Architect (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 4, 2017
Best place I ever worked. Great environment for professional development with lots of internal training. Without a doubt, working at one of the most distinguished institutions on the planet makes it easy to feel your helping to bring something good to the rest of the world
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMay 3, 2017
I really enjoyed the ability to take classes there. High paced environment with a lot of potential to use new technologies. Great to work in an educationally focused setting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
HELP Coach /Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 21, 2017
I enjoyed the management, work projects, staff, and students. I learned a lot of Education Administrating tools that I have definitely applied during my professional career as an educatoe
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  BostonApril 21, 2017
Really good working environment, but the salary is not much when you are just a researh associate
Pros
4 weeks vacations
Cons
No evolution
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment for learning and teaching
Geriatric Dental Fellow (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 20, 2017
During the 2 years of my fellowship, I was able to work and learn from superb dentists at HSDM. I was able to focus on providing treatment to the challenged geriatric population, as well delivering lectures and seminars to dental students/residents, and medical providers on geriatric dental considerations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education at Harvard
student (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAApril 11, 2017
Wonderful experience. Indeed has me down as working here. I did work at BWH, which is affiliated with Harvard. BWH is a wonderful hospital and I am grateful for the experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduation Server (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAApril 7, 2017
I worked as a server on the graduation and reunion events. The employees are great and managers as well, easy to get to the pay is good too. Will do it again any time.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Long sleeve uniform for hot weather outside
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job i had ever
Information Technician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 5, 2017
I loved working at the bussiness school. You never know what problems you have to fix. You get a lot of experience and no day is ever boring. Management is great and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traditional work environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 4, 2017
Very politically oriented and motivated. Slow to adapt to change. Many people coast on old accomplishments. Attitude is if you leave there are dozens more waiting to take your place.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Lack of empathetic and staff-oriented leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful organization; aspirational place to work.
Professor (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 3, 2017
It has been a great home for more than 15 years. Could not ask for a better environment - hard work but extremely fulfilling. Wonderful students and colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality lifeguarding
Aquatic Deck Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAApril 2, 2017
Harvard's aquatic department takes lifeguarding very seriously. There are monthly trainings to review skills and build team skills. That being said, the job is relatively stress free, management is supportive, and the hours are very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement très compétitive mais hyper-stimulant et communicatif
Visiting Scientist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA, USAMarch 28, 2017
Une journée de travail prend le temps qu'il faut pour avancer, qu'importe les heures de travail.
L'avenir dépend de la qualité des publications qui suivent.
Le management est très éxigent mais juste. Ces gens-là; ils ont vraiment des choses à contribuer.
Vous apprenez autant de vos collaborateurs que de la litérature. Ils sont "tops" mais très competitifs; donc; il faut être coriace!
La compétitivité.
La stimulation intellectuelle!
Pros
Les séminaires: internes et externes.
Cons
Une ambience très exigente:
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Information Technology Technician (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAMarch 27, 2017
Typical day at work working at the help-desk answering the phone. Creating tickets for every phone call and walk in. Troubleshoot the issues we receive over the phone or walk in. Provide support to staff and faculty's desk. Troubleshoot printers. Provide media support to classes, meetings, events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harvard University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 372 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1